Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment to the Bank of Canada Board of Directors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister Oliver Congratulates Jean Simon on his appointment

June 3, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointment of Jean Simon to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada for a term ending on February 28, 2017.

Mr. Simon is the retired President of Rio Tinto Alcan, Primary Metal.

Quick Facts

  • The Bank of Canada’s principal role is to promote the economic and financial welfare of Canada. The central bank works to preserve the value of money by keeping inflation low and stable.
  • The Bank is responsible for Canada’s monetary policy and bank notes, and also has responsibilities relating to the financial system and funds management.
  • The Bank of Canada’s Board of Directors provides general oversight of the management and administration of the central bank. It reviews the Bank’s general policies, on matters other than monetary policy, keeps the Bank informed about prevailing economic conditions in Directors’ respective regions, and appoints the Governor and Senior Deputy Governor.

Quote

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of Jean Simon to the Bank of Canada’s Board of Directors. His extensive background in business management and strategy, both in Canada and globally, will bring valuable experience to this important institution. I congratulate Mr. Simon on his new appointment.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Additional Link

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected


Biographical Notes

Jean Simon

Jean Simon retired in 2013 after having worked at Alcan for 34 years, most recently as President of Rio Tinto Alcan, Primary Metal. He is the current Chairman of the Board of AluQuébec, Québec Aluminum Industrial Cluster; he is a board member of Votorantim Metais, a Brasilian company; and he serves on the board of the Fondation de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi.

Mr. Simon has served on several boards of directors, including for the Fondation de ma vie of the Centre de santé et de services sociaux de Chicoutimi, the Conseil du patronat du Québec, the ABI Owners’ Committee, and the Conseil des manufacturiers du Québec.

He is the past President of the board of directors for the Aluminum Association of Canada and past President of the executive committee of the Aluminum Association of the United States. Mr. Simon was also a member of the Canadian American Business Council, and is a former member of the QG100 business association, former board member of the Canadian Club of Montreal, and former President of the board of the Centre patronal de santé et sécurité du travail du Québec.

Mr. Simon holds a bachelor’s degree in physics engineering from Université Laval (1978).

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce une nomination au conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada 

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Oliver félicite Jean Simon pour sa nomination

Le 3 juin 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de M. Jean Simon au conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada. Cette nomination est assortie d’un mandat se terminant le 28 février 2017.

M. Simon est l’ancien président à la retraite de Rio Tinto Alcan, Métal primaire.

Les faits en bref

  • Le rôle principal de la Banque du Canada consiste à favoriser la prospérité économique et financière du Canada. La banque centrale s’emploie à préserver la valeur de la monnaie en maintenant l’inflation à un niveau bas et stable.
  • La Banque est responsable de la politique monétaire et des billets de banque du Canada et s’acquitte également de responsabilités liées au système financier et à la gestion financière du pays.
  • Le conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada assure la surveillance de la gestion et de l’administration de cette banque centrale. Il examine les politiques générales de la Banque touchant les questions autres que la politique monétaire, renseigne la Banque sur la conjoncture économique des diverses régions que représentent les administrateurs et nomme les titulaires des postes de gouverneur et de premier sous-gouverneur.

Citation

« Je suis heureux d’annoncer la nomination de M. Jean Simon au conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada. Sa vaste expérience en matière de gestion et de stratégie d’entreprise, qu’il a acquise autant au Canada que sur la scène internationale, contribuera de façon indéniable au succès de cette importante institution. Je félicite M. Simon pour sa nouvelle nomination. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés


Notice biographique

M. Jean Simon

M. Jean Simon a pris sa retraite en 2013 après avoir travaillé chez Alcan pendant 34 ans, plus récemment à titre de président de Rio Tinto Alcan, Métal primaire. Il est l’actuel président du conseil d’administration d’AluQuébec, soit la Grappe industrielle de l’aluminium du Québec, et il est également membre du conseil d’administration de Votorantim Metais, une société brésilienne. En outre, M. Simon siège au conseil d’administration de la Fondation de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi.

M. Simon a déjà siégé à plusieurs conseils d’administration, dont ceux de la Fondation de ma vie du Centre de santé et de services sociaux de Chicoutimi, du Conseil du patronat du Québec, du Comité des propriétaires ABI et du Conseil des manufacturiers du Québec.

M. Simon a été président du conseil d’administration de l’Association de l’aluminium du Canada ainsi que président du comité de direction de l’Aluminum Association of the United States. Il a aussi été membre du Conseil des affaires canado-américaines. De même, il a déjà été membre de l’association commerciale QG100, membre du conseil d’administration du Cercle canadien de Montréal, et président du conseil d’administration du Centre patronal de santé et sécurité du travail du Québec.

M. Simon détient un baccalauréat en génie physique de l’Université Laval (1978).