Archived - Release of The Fiscal Monitor for March 2015

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Department of Finance reports a $3.0-billion deficit in March; the Government remains on track to balance the budget in 2015

May 29, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today released The Fiscal Monitor for March 2015.

There was a budgetary deficit of $3.0 billion in March 2015, down $3.7 billion from the budgetary deficit reported for March 2014.

Revenues increased by $4.6 billion, or 18.6 per cent, reflecting significant increases in corporate income tax revenues and other revenues. Program expenses increased by $1.3 billion, or 4.5 per cent, while public debt charges decreased by $0.4 billion.  

Quick Facts

  • For the April 2014 to March 2015 period, the Government posted a budgetary surplus of $2.9 billion, compared to a deficit of $11.4 billion reported for the same period of 2013–14.
  • Revenues were up $11.7 billion, or 4.4 per cent, reflecting increases in most revenue streams. 
  • Program expenses were down $1.2 billion, or 0.5 per cent, reflecting a decrease in direct program expenses, offset in part by increases in major transfers to persons and other levels of government. Public debt charges were down $1.5 billion, or 5.3 per cent.
  • These results do not include the fiscal impact of announced Government initiatives such as enhancements to the New Veterans Charter ($1.6 billion) and the Universal Child Care Benefit ($1.1 billion). The fiscal impact of these initiatives will be recorded once Bill C-59, the Economic Action Plan 2015 Act, No. 1, receives Royal Assent.

Related Products

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Publication de La revue financière pour le mois de mars 2015

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministère des Finances annonce un déficit budgétaire de 3,0 milliards de dollars pour le mois de mars; le gouvernement demeure sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015

Le 29 mai 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la publication de La revue financière pour le mois de mars 2015.

Le mois de mars 2015 s’est soldé par un déficit budgétaire de 3,0 milliards de dollars, en baisse de 3,7 milliards par rapport au déficit budgétaire enregistré en mars 2014.

Les revenus ont augmenté de 4,6 milliards de dollars (18,6 %), sous l’effet de la hausse importante des rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés et des autres revenus. Les charges de programmes ont augmenté de 1,3 milliard (4,5 %), alors que les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 0,4 milliard.

Les faits en bref

  • Pour la période d’avril à mars de l’exercice 2014-2015, le gouvernement a affiché un excédent budgétaire de 2,9 milliards de dollars, comparativement à un déficit de 11,4 milliards pour la même période de l’exercice 2013-2014.
  • Les revenus ont connu une hausse de 11,7 milliards de dollars (4,4 %), ce qui traduit la croissance de la plupart des sources de revenus. 
  • Les charges de programmes ont diminué de 1,2 milliard de dollars (0,5 %), en raison de la baisse des charges de programmes directes, laquelle a été partiellement compensée par la hausse des principaux transferts aux particuliers et des principaux transferts aux autres administrations. Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 1,5 milliard (5,3 %).
  • Ces résultats ne comprennent pas l’incidence budgétaire des initiatives annoncées par le gouvernement, telles que les bonifications apportées à la Nouvelle Charte des anciens combattants (1,6 milliard de dollars) et à la Prestation universelle pour la garde d’enfants (1,1 milliard). L’incidence budgétaire de ces initiatives sera comptabilisée lorsque le projet de loi C-59, intitulé Loi no 1 sur le plan d’action économique de 2015, recevra la sanction royale.

Produits connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés