Archived - Minister Oliver Calls for G-7 Countries to Implement Growth Strategies to Lift Global Economy

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

May 27, 2015 – Dresden, Germany – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver will meet with his Group of Seven (G-7) colleagues this week in Dresden, Germany ahead of the G-7 Leaders Summit next month.

The meetings will focus on the challenges facing the global economy and on the efforts of the G-7 and G-20 to create stronger, more sustainable and balanced growth. The meetings will take place against the backdrop of a weak and uneven global recovery. The Minister will continue to call on his colleagues to swiftly implement the country-specific growth strategies that the G-20 committed to last year. If fully implemented, these strategies would increase the G-20’s collective gross domestic product (GDP) by 2.1 per cent by the year 2018.

Minister Oliver will encourage his G-7 colleagues to take decisive and resolute action to support global economic growth while following Canada’s example of responsible fiscal management, which has made the Canadian economy stronger and more resilient following the recession.

Quick Facts

  • The Canadian economy has posted one of the strongest job creation records in the G–7 over the recovery, with more than 1.2 million jobs created since June 2009.
  • Real GDP is significantly above pre-recession levels—the best performance in the G–7.
  • The World Economic Forum rated Canada’s banking system the soundest in the world for the seventh year in a row in its annual Global Competitiveness Report.
  • Canada leapt from sixth to second place in Bloomberg’s most recent ranking of the most attractive destinations for business.
  • According to KPMG, total business tax costs in Canada are the lowest in the G-7 and 46 per cent lower than those in the United States.
  • Canada is one of only two countries in the G-7 to receive a triple-A rating with a stable outlook from all the major credit rating agencies, including Moody’s Investors Service, Fitch Ratings, Standard & Poor’s and DBRS.

Quote

"Our Government’s sound economic management and unwavering commitment to balance the budget this year—while creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for Canadians—has resulted in a resilient economic performance in a challenging global economy. As Canada is doing with its Economic Action Plan, we encourage G-7 and G-20 countries to follow through on their commitments to create jobs and stronger, more sustainable global growth."

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver demande aux pays du G-7 de mettre en œuvre des stratégies de croissance pour stimuler l'économie mondiale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 27 mai 2015 – Dresde, Allemagne – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, rencontrera ses homologues du Groupe des Sept (G-7) cette semaine à Dresde, en Allemagne, en prévision du Sommet des dirigeants du G-7 qui se déroulera le mois prochain.

Les réunions seront axées sur les défis auxquels l’économie mondiale est confrontée et sur les efforts déployés par les pays du G-7 et du G-20 en vue de favoriser une croissance plus forte, plus durable et plus équilibrée. Ces réunions se tiendront dans le contexte d’une reprise mondiale faible et inégale. Le ministre continuera d’inciter ses collègues à mettre rapidement en œuvre les stratégies de croissance propres à chaque pays auxquelles le G-20 s’est engagé l’an dernier. La mise en œuvre intégrale de ces stratégies aurait pour effet d’accroître la croissance du produit intérieur brut (PIB) collectif du G-20 de 2,1 % d’ici 2018.

Le ministre Oliver encouragera ses collègues du G-7 à prendre des mesures énergiques et fermes pour soutenir la croissance économique mondiale tout en les appelant à suivre l’exemple du Canada en matière de gestion budgétaire responsable, laquelle gestion a permis à l’économie canadienne d’être plus vigoureuse et plus résiliente à la suite de la récession.

Les faits en bref

  • Au cours de la reprise, l’économie canadienne a affiché l’un des meilleurs bilans du G-7 au chapitre de la création d’emplois, grâce à la création de plus de 1,2 million d’emplois depuis juin 2009.
  • Le PIB réel du Canada a nettement dépassé les niveaux enregistrés avant la récession – cette performance est la meilleure parmi les pays du G-7.
  • Dans son rapport annuel sur la compétitivité mondiale, le Forum économique mondial a classé le système bancaire canadien au rang du plus solide au monde, et ce, pour une septième année de suite.
  • Le Canada a bondi du sixième au deuxième rang dans le plus récent palmarès des meilleurs endroits pour faire des affaires établi par l’agence Bloomberg.
  • Selon la firme KPMG, les coûts fiscaux globaux des entreprises au Canada sont les plus faibles du G-7, et ils sont inférieurs de 46 % à ceux que l’on observe aux États-Unis.
  • Le Canada est l’un des deux pays du G-7 à se voir attribuer une cote de crédit AAA, assortie de perspectives stables, de la part de toutes les grandes agences de notation, y compris Moody’s Investors Service, Fitch Ratings, Standard & Poor’s et DBRS.

Citation

« La résilience économique du Canada dans une conjoncture mondiale difficile s'explique par la saine gestion dont fait preuve notre gouvernement et par son engagement inébranlable à rétablir l'équilibre budgétaire cette année, tout en créant des emplois et en favorisant la croissance et la prospérité à long terme pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens. Nous invitons les autres pays du G-7 et du G-20 à donner suite à leurs engagements pour créer des emplois et promouvoir une croissance mondiale plus forte et plus durable, comme le fait le Canada dans le cadre de son Plan d'action économique. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés