Archived - Harper Government Supports Launch of the Canadian Centre for Aging and Brain Health Innovation

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Economic Action Plan 2015 makes $42 million investment in innovation and seniors’ health

May 22, 2015 – Toronto, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today took part in an event celebrating the launch of Baycrest Health Sciences’ new Canadian Centre for Aging and Brain Health Innovation. The Centre will be a national hub for the development, validation, commercialization, dissemination and adoption of brain health and seniors’ care products and services—a cutting-edge institution and world leader in its field.

Quick Facts

  • As Canada’s population ages, age-related cognitive impairment and chronic conditions are becoming more prevalent. The burden on families is hard, and growing. By 2031, the number of people living with dementia is expected to hit 1.4 million.
  • Research on aging and brain health issues such as dementia can lead to better diagnostic tools and more effective treatments. The result is happier and healthier lives for Canadians.
  • Economic Action Plan 2015 proposes to provide up to $42 million over five years, starting in 2015–16, to Baycrest Health Sciences, based in Toronto, to support the establishment of the Canadian Centre for Aging and Brain Health Innovation.
  • In addition to providing world-class geriatric health care, Baycrest is home to a leading academic health sciences centre, affiliated with the University of Toronto and collaborating with research institutions across North America.
  • Since 2006, our Government has invested more than $13 billion in new funding in all facets of the innovation ecosystem.

Quote

“Innovation is at the heart of the Canadian economy. It fuels jobs, growth, and long-term prosperity, while tackling the pressing medical challenges of our time. That includes age-related cognitive impairment—a growing issue across the country. That is why we are proud to invest in the creation of the Canadian Centre for Aging and Brain Health Innovation. We expect its cutting-edge research and world-leading innovation will make life better for seniors here and around the world and support a caring and prosperous society at home.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper soutient le lancement du Centre d’innovation canadien sur la santé du cerveau et le vieillissement

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique de 2015, le gouvernement investit 42 millions de dollars dans l’innovation et la santé des ainés

Le 22 mai 2015 – Toronto (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a pris part aujourd’hui à une activité soulignant le lancement du nouveau Centre d’innovation canadien sur la santé du cerveau et le vieillissement, qui fait partie du centre Baycrest Health Sciences. Le Centre d’innovation canadien ‒ qui sera une institution à la fine pointe de la technologie et un chef de file mondial dans son domaine ‒ constituera une plaque tournante nationale pour le développement, la validation, la commercialisation, la distribution et l’adoption de produits et services relatifs à la santé du cerveau et aux soins des aînés.

Les faits en bref

  • Au fur et à mesure que la population du Canada vieillit, les troubles cognitifs liés à l’âge et les affections chroniques deviennent courants. Pour les familles, cette situation crée un fardeau qui est exigeant et qui s’alourdit. On estime à 1,4 million le nombre de personnes qui seront atteintes de démence d’ici 2031.
  • La recherche sur les problèmes liés au vieillissement et à la santé du cerveau, comme la démence, peut mener à l’amélioration des outils de diagnostic et à des traitements plus efficaces. Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens peuvent ainsi vivre plus heureux et en meilleure santé.
  • Le Plan d’action économique de 2015 propose d’accorder jusqu’à 42 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, à compter de 2015-2016, au centre Baycrest Health Sciences, situé à Toronto, afin de soutenir la création du Centre d’innovation canadien sur la santé du cerveau et le vieillissement.
  • En plus d’offrir des soins gériatriques de calibre mondial, le centre Baycrest accueille un centre universitaire de sciences de la santé de premier plan, affilié à l’Université de Toronto, et collabore avec des instituts de recherche de partout en Amérique du Nord.
  • Depuis 2006, le gouvernement a investi plus de 13 milliards de dollars supplémentaires dans chacun des volets de l’écosystème de l’innovation.

Citation

« L’innovation est au cœur de l’économie canadienne. Elle alimente la création d’emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme, tout en s’attaquant aux défis médicaux préoccupants de notre époque. Parmi ceux-ci, les troubles cognitifs liés à l’âge constituent un problème croissant partout au pays. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous sommes fiers d’investir dans la création du Centre d’innovation canadien sur la santé du cerveau et le vieillissement. Nous prévoyons que la recherche d’avant-garde qui y sera effectuée et l’innovation de calibre mondial qui y sera réalisée amélioreront la vie des aînés, autant au Canada qu’à l’étranger, et favoriseront une société bienveillante et prospère au pays. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés