Archived - Economic Action Plan 2015: Making Life Better for Canada’s Seniors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Government is helping seniors become more prosperous and secure

May 7, 2015 – Moncton, New Brunswick – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today met with seniors at the Camden Park Terrace independent retirement community in Moncton to discuss how Economic Action Plan 2015 supports Canada’s seniors.

Quick Facts

Economic Action Plan 2015 builds on the Government’s record of support for seniors with actions to:

  • Introduce a new Home Accessibility Tax Credit for seniors and persons with disabilities to help them renovate their homes to make them safer, more secure and more accessible. This 15% tax credit would apply on up to $10,000 of eligible home renovation expenditures per year, meaning up to $1,500 in cash back in their pockets.
  • Reduce the minimum withdrawal factors for Registered Retirement Income Funds to allow seniors to preserve more of their retirement savings so they can better support their retirement income needs.
  • Extend Compassionate Care Benefits from the current six weeks to six months to ensure Employment Insurance benefits are available when Canadians need them most.
  • Nearly double the Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA) annual contribution limit, giving Canadians, including seniors, more room to save money tax-free. At the end of 2013, about 46% of individuals who contributed the maximum amount to their TFSAs were seniors.
  • Provide up to $42 million over five years in Baycrest Health Sciences to support the establishment of the Canadian Centre for Aging and Brain Health Innovation.

Quote

“Over a lifetime, you have helped build a Canada that is strong, prosperous and secure. On behalf of our Government, I would like to thank you. But more than thanking you, our Government is empowering you. We want to help you become stronger, more prosperous and more secure. Seniors and pensioners are now receiving $3 billion in additional annual targeted tax relief as a result of actions taken by the Harper Government since 2006. And because of our Government, more than 400,000 seniors have been removed from the tax rolls altogether. With Economic Action Plan 2015, our Government is continuing to deliver on this commitment, and taking it to the next level.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le Plan d’action économique de 2015 : améliorer la vie des aînés du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le gouvernement contribue à accroître la prospérité et la sécurité des aînés

Le 7 mai 2015 – Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a rencontré aujourd’hui des aînés au complexe de la Terrasse du parc Camden, une collectivité de retraités autonomes située à Moncton, pour discuter de la façon dont le Plan d’action économique de 2015 vient en aide aux aînés du Canada.

Les faits en bref

Le Plan d’action économique de 2015 renforce le bilan du gouvernement en matière de soutien aux aînés grâce aux mesures suivantes visant à :

  • Instaurer un nouveau crédit d’impôt pour l’accessibilité domiciliaire à l’intention des aînés et des personnes handicapées afin de les aider à assumer le coût des rénovations qui permettront de rendre leur habitation plus sécuritaire et plus accessible. Ce crédit d’impôt de 15 % s’appliquerait chaque année aux dépenses admissibles de rénovation domiciliaire, jusqu’à concurrence de 10 000 $, ce qui se traduirait par un remboursement pouvant atteindre 1 500 $.
  • Réduire les facteurs de retrait minimal des fonds enregistrés de revenu de retraite afin de permettre aux aînés de préserver une plus grande part de leur épargne pour mieux répondre à leurs besoins financiers à la retraite.
  • Prolonger la durée des prestations de compassion, en faisant passer la période de versement actuelle de six semaines à six mois, pour faire en sorte que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens reçoivent des prestations d’assurance-emploi au moment où ils en ont le plus besoin.
  • Doubler, pour ainsi dire, la limite de cotisation annuelle à un compte d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI), de sorte que les Canadiens, y compris les aînés, puissent épargner davantage à l’abri de l’impôt. À la fin de 2013, les aînés représentaient environ 46 % des particuliers qui avaient versé le montant maximal à leur CELI.
  • Accorder jusqu’à 42 millions de dollars sur cinq ans au centre Baycrest Health Sciences afin de soutenir la création du Centre d’innovation canadien sur la santé du cerveau et le vieillissement.

Citation

« Au cours de votre vie, vous avez aidé à bâtir un Canada fort, prospère et sécuritaire. Au nom de notre gouvernement, je vous en remercie. Mais au-delà des remerciements, notre gouvernement vous donne des moyens d’action. Nous voulons vous aider à devenir plus forts, plus prospères et plus en sécurité. À la suite des mesures prises par le gouvernement Harper depuis 2006, les aînés et les pensionnés profitent maintenant chaque année d’allègements fiscaux ciblés totalisant 3 milliards de dollars supplémentaires. Et grâce à notre gouvernement, plus de 400 000 aînés n’ont plus à payer l’impôt fédéral sur le revenu. Par l’entremise du Plan d’action économique de 2015, notre gouvernement continue de remplir son engagement à l’égard des aînés, et il passe à la prochaine étape. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés