Archived - Minister of Finance Joe Oliver Highlights Measures in Economic Action Plan 2015 That Support Canada's Aerospace and Manufacturing Sectors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

EAP 2015 is encouraging investment in Canada’s manufacturing sector by reducing taxes and supporting innovation

May 7, 2015 – Summerside, Prince Edward Island – Department of Finance

Speaking in Summerside, Finance Minister Joe Oliver and Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Gail Shea today highlighted measures in Economic Action Plan 2015 that will benefit Canada’s aerospace and manufacturing sectors in Prince Edward Island and across Canada.

These measures include:

  • Supporting cutting-edge research and technology development in Canada’s satellite communications sector.
  • Working with industry and provincial stakeholders on the development of a national aerospace supplier development initiative to help improve the performance and competitiveness of firms in this sector.
  • Further reducing the small business tax rate to 9 per cent by 2019.
  • Providing manufacturers with an accelerated capital cost allowance for machinery and equipment acquired after 2015 and before 2026, to boost productivity-enhancing investment.

Minister Oliver noted that actions taken by the Government since 2006, including those proposed in Economic Action Plan 2015, will reduce taxes for job-creating businesses by $14.7 billion in 2015–16.

Quick Facts

  • The manufacturing sector is a significant part of Canada’s economy, accounting for more than 10 per cent of Canada’s gross domestic product and 61 per cent of total merchandise exports, and employing 1.7 million people across the country.
  • Since 2006, the Government has invested more than $13 billion in new funding in all facets of the innovation ecosystem including advanced research, talent development, research infrastructure and business innovation.
  • Building on the Government’s plan for jobs and growth, Economic Action Plan 2015 is:
    • Supporting job-creating businesses by helping small businesses grow, fostering entrepreneurship and cutting red tape.
    • Creating the conditions for businesses to succeed by cutting taxes further, responsibly developing Canada’s natural resources, expanding markets abroad and investing in infrastructure.
    • Investing in world-class research at universities and colleges and supporting business innovation.
    • Connecting Canadians with available jobs by helping them acquire the skills that will get them new and better jobs.

Quotes

“Canada’s manufacturing and aerospace sectors are important cornerstones of the Canadian economy. That is why we continue to work towards improving Canada’s overall business productivity performance, a critical determinant of our long-term prosperity. Economic Action Plan 2015 takes additional steps to achieve these objectives by providing Canadian businesses with lower taxes, less red tape, fewer tariffs and increased access to foreign markets.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

“Economic Action Plan 2015 proposes initiatives to support our Prince Edward Island families, businesses, seniors, fishermen and communities. It also supports jobs and growth with measures that together will reduce federal taxes on Prince Edward Island by about $11 million over the next five years for our small businesses and their owners.”

- Gail Shea, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans

Related Products

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, souligne des mesures du Plan d’action économique de 2015 qui soutiennent les secteurs de l’aérospatiale et de la fabrication du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le Plan d’action de 2015 favorise l’investissement dans le secteur canadien de la fabrication en réduisant les impôts et en stimulant l’innovation

Le 7 mai 2015 – Summerside (Île-du-Prince-Édouard) – Ministère des Finances

Prenant la parole à Summerside, le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, et la ministre des Pêches et des Océans, Gail Shea, ont mis en relief aujourd’hui des mesures du Plan d’action économique de 2015 qui profiteront aux secteurs canadiens de l’aérospatiale et de la fabrication à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et dans toutes les régions du pays.

Voici certaines de ces mesures :

  • appuyer la recherche et le développement technologique de pointe dans le secteur canadien des communications par satellite;
  • collaborer avec les intervenants des provinces et de l’industrie pour mettre sur pied une initiative nationale de développement des fournisseurs de l’aérospatiale en vue d’améliorer la performance et la compétitivité des entreprises de ce secteur;
  • réduire davantage le taux d’imposition des petites entreprises, en le faisant passer à 9 % d’ici 2019;
  • accorder une déduction pour amortissement accéléré au titre des machines et du matériel acquis par les fabricants après 2015 et avant 2026, ce qui permettra de stimuler les investissements qui améliorent la productivité.

Le ministre Oliver a indiqué que les mesures prises par le gouvernement depuis 2006, y compris celles proposées dans le Plan d’action économique de 2015, réduiront les impôts de plus de 14,7 milliards de dollars en 2015-2016 pour les entreprises créatrices d’emplois.

Les faits en bref

  • Le secteur de la fabrication représente une partie importante de l’économie canadienne, comptant pour plus de 10 % du produit intérieur brut et pour 61 % des exportations totales de marchandises du Canada, et employant 1,7 million de personnes au pays.
  • Depuis 2006, le gouvernement a investi plus de 13 milliards de dollars supplémentaires dans chacun des volets de l’écosystème de l’innovation, y compris la recherche de pointe, le développement du talent, l’infrastructure de recherche et l’innovation en entreprise.
  • S’appuyant sur le plan du gouvernement pour la croissance et l’emploi, le Plan d’action économique de 2015 :
    • aide les entreprises créatrices d’emplois en soutenant la croissance des petites entreprises, en favorisant l’entrepreneuriat et en allégeant les formalités administratives;
    • crée les conditions propices à la réussite des entreprises en réduisant davantage les impôts, en assurant le développement responsable des ressources naturelles du Canada, en élargissant l’accès aux marchés étrangers et en investissant dans l’infrastructure;
    • investit dans la recherche de calibre mondial réalisée dans les universités et les collèges, et soutient l’innovation en entreprise;
    • rapproche les Canadiennes et les Canadiens des emplois disponibles en les aidant à acquérir les compétences qui leur permettront d’obtenir un nouvel emploi ou un meilleur emploi.

Citations

« Les secteurs canadiens de l’aérospatiale et de la fabrication constituent des pierres angulaires de l’économie du pays. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous poursuivons nos efforts en vue d’améliorer la performance globale du Canada sur le plan de la productivité des entreprises, un déterminant essentiel de notre prospérité à long terme. Par l’entremise du Plan d’action économique de 2015, le gouvernement prend des mesures additionnelles pour atteindre ces objectifs en réduisant les impôts, les formalités administratives et les droits de douane pour les entreprises canadiennes, tout en élargissant leur accès aux marchés étrangers. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

« Le Plan d’action économique de 2015 propose des initiatives visant à appuyer les familles, les entreprises, les aînés, les pêcheurs et les collectivités de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Il soutient également l’emploi et la croissance grâce à des mesures qui réduiront l’impôt fédéral des petites entreprises de la province et de leurs propriétaires d’environ 11 millions de dollars au cours des cinq prochaines années. »

- Gail Shea, ministre des Pêches et des Océans

Produits connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés