Archived - Minister of State (Finance) Responds to the Tabling of the Spring Report of the Auditor General of Canada

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

April 28, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Following the tabling of the 2015 Spring report from the Office of the Auditor General of Canada, Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson made the following statement:

“I am pleased that the Auditor General concluded that the Government has appropriate practices to analyze proposed tax expenditures, monitor existing ones, and share information with the Canada Revenue Agency.

“The Auditor General has stated that ‘Finance Canada does a good job of analyzing new tax measures and monitoring existing ones.’ The Government monitors and evaluates tax expenditures on an ongoing basis to ensure that they meet their objectives effectively.

“The Government provides extensive information to both parliamentarians and Canadians through its annual Tax Expenditures and Evaluations report and its companion reference document, Tax Expenditures: Notes to the Estimates/Projections. These reports contribute to transparency and accountability.

“In fact, international organizations have recognized the high quality of Canada’s reporting on tax expenditures. Canada is also one of a handful of countries that publish evaluations of tax expenditures on a regular basis.

“Going forward, the Government will continue to look for ways to reduce the federal tax burden for all Canadians while publishing the Tax Expenditures and Evaluations report every year, making it available to parliamentarians and all Canadians.”

Media Contacts

Earl Maynard
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre d’État (Finances) commente le rapport printanier du vérificateur général du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 28 avril 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

À la suite du dépôt du rapport du printemps 2015 préparé par le vérificateur général du Canada, le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, a fait la déclaration suivante :

« Je suis heureux que le vérificateur général ait conclu que le gouvernement a des pratiques adéquates pour analyser les dépenses fiscales proposées, surveiller les dépenses actuelles et échanger des renseignements avec l’Agence du revenu du Canada.

« Le vérificateur général a affirmé que le ministère des Finances du Canada analyse bien les nouvelles mesures fiscales et surveille bien les mesures existantes. Le gouvernement surveille et évalue les dépenses fiscales de façon continue pour veiller à ce qu’elles atteignent les objectifs établis.

« Le gouvernement fournit aux parlementaires et aux Canadiens des renseignements détaillés sur les dépenses fiscales par l’entremise du rapport annuel Dépenses fiscales et évaluations et du document de référence qui l’accompagne, Dépenses fiscales : Notes afférentes aux estimations et projections. Ces rapports contribuent à la transparence et à la reddition de comptes.

« De fait, la grande qualité des rapports du gouvernement du Canada sur les dépenses fiscales est reconnue par des organisations internationales. Le Canada fait aussi partie de la poignée de pays qui publient régulièrement des évaluations de leurs dépenses fiscales.

« Le gouvernement continuera de chercher des moyens d’alléger le fardeau fiscal fédéral de l’ensemble des contribuables canadiens tout en publiant chaque année les Dépenses fiscales et évaluations, aux fins de consultation, par les parlementaires et tous les Canadiens. »

Contacts

Earl Maynard
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés