Archived - Harper Government Highlights Increase in Lifetime Capital Gains Exemption for Owners of Farm and Fishing Businesses

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister of State Kevin Sorenson outlines important measure that allows farm and fishing business owners to hold on to more of their capital for retirement

April 24, 2015 - Regina, Saskatchewan - Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson and Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Gerry Ritz today highlighted the increase in the Lifetime Capital Gains Exemption (LCGE) for owners of farm and fishing businesses announced in Economic Action Plan 2015.

To allow farm and fishing business owners to maintain more of their capital for retirement, Economic Action Plan 2015 proposes to increase the LCGE applicable to capital gains realized on the disposition of qualified farm or fishing property to $1 million. The measure will apply to dispositions occurring on or after April 21, 2015.

In addition to this measure, Minister of State Sorenson highlighted Government support that will help the agriculture sector continue to expand and diversify into new markets. This includes capitalizing on opportunities created by new trade agreements to further enhance marketing capacity at home and abroad and to enhance Canada's international presence in priority markets.

Quick Facts

  • The proposed increase in the LCGE will reduce capital gains taxes on owners of farm and fishing businesses by about $50 million over the 2015–16 to 2019–20 period.
  • Budget 2007 increased the LCGE for qualified farm or fishing property to $750,000 from $500,000, the first increase in the exemption since 1988.
  • Economic Action Plan 2013 further increased the LCGE for qualified farm or fishing property to $800,000 for 2014 and indexed the new limit to inflation, bringing it to $813,600 for 2015.
  • The LCGE is estimated to be delivering over $1 billion of federal tax relief annually to small business owners and owners of farm and fishing businesses.

Quotes

"I am pleased to announce the increase of the Lifetime Capital Gains Exemption applicable to capital gains resulting from the sale or transfer of qualified farm or fishing property to $1 million. The increase will reduce the burden of capital gains taxes, meaning that farmers will be able to keep more money for a well-deserved retirement. This is just one of the many ways this Government is helping Canadian farmers."

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

"The Government continues to put farmers first by making significant investments in our agriculture industry. The increase in the Lifetime Capital Gains Exemption provides further support for hard-working farmers and their families, while additional measures in Economic Action Plan 2015 will expand our trade opportunities, boosting our producers' bottom lines."

- Gerry Ritz, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

Associated Link

Contacts

Earl Maynard
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper met en relief l'augmentation de l'exonération cumulative des gains en capital pour les propriétaires d'exploitations agricoles et d'entreprises de pêche

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre d'État, Kevin Sorenson, souligne une mesure importante qui permet aux propriétaires d'exploitations agricoles et d'entreprises de pêche de conserver une plus grande part de leur capital en prévision de leur retraite

Le 24 avril 2015 - Regina (Saskatchewan) - Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d'État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, et le ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire, Gerry Ritz, ont mis en relief aujourd'hui l'augmentation de l'exonération cumulative des gains en capital à laquelle ont droit les propriétaires d'exploitations agricoles et d'entreprises de pêche. Cette augmentation a été annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique de 2015.

Afin de permettre aux propriétaires d'exploitations agricoles et d'entreprises de pêche de conserver une plus grande part de leur capital en prévision de leur retraite, le Plan d'action de 2015 propose d'augmenter à 1 million de dollars l'exonération applicable aux gains en capital réalisés lors de la disposition de biens agricoles ou de pêche admissibles. Cette mesure s'applique aux dispositions conclues le 21 avril 2015 ou après cette date.

De plus, le ministre Sorenson a souligné le soutien accordé par le gouvernement afin d'aider le secteur de l'agriculture à continuer de prendre de l'expansion et à diversifier ses ventes dans de nouveaux marchés. Le secteur pourra notamment tirer parti des occasions découlant de nouveaux accords commerciaux afin de renforcer les capacités de commercialisation à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de nos frontières et afin d'accroître la présence internationale du Canada sur les marchés prioritaires.

Faits saillants

  • L'augmentation proposée de l'exonération cumulative des gains en capital réduira l'impôt sur les gains en capital des propriétaires d'exploitations agricoles et d'entreprises de pêche d'environ 50 millions de dollars au cours de la période de 2015–2016 à 2019–2020.
  • Le budget de 2007 a fait passer de 500 000 $ à 750 000 $ l'exonération pour les biens agricoles ou de pêche admissibles. Il s'agissait de la première hausse de l'exonération depuis 1988.
  • Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 a augmenté davantage l'exonération pour les biens agricoles ou de pêche admissibles, la faisant passer à 800 000 $ pour 2014, et il a indexé le nouveau plafond à l'inflation, ce qui l'a porté à 813 600 $ pour 2015.
  • Selon les estimations, l'exonération cumulative des gains en capital donne lieu à un allègement d'impôt fédéral de plus de 1 milliard de dollars par année pour les propriétaires de petites entreprises, d'exploitations agricoles et d'entreprises de pêche.

Citations

« Je suis heureux d'annoncer l'augmentation à 1 million de dollars de l'exonération cumulative des gains en capital applicable aux gains réalisés lors de la vente ou du transfert de biens agricoles ou de pêche admissibles. Cette augmentation allégera le fardeau de l'impôt sur les gains en capital, c'est-à-dire que les agriculteurs pourront conserver une plus grande part de leur argent en prévision d'une retraite bien méritée. Il s'agit de l'une des nombreuses mesures mises en place par ce gouvernement pour aider les agriculteurs canadiens. »

— Kevin Sorenson, ministre d'État (Finances)

« Le gouvernement continue d'accorder une grande importance aux agriculteurs en effectuant des investissements notables dans ce secteur. La hausse de l'exonération cumulative des gains en capital vient appuyer encore davantage les agriculteurs travaillants et les membres de leur famille. Le Plan d'action économique de 2015 comporte aussi d'autres mesures qui favoriseront l'expansion des possibilités commerciales de nos producteurs, ce qui améliorera leur rentabilité. »

— Gerry Ritz, ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire

Lien connexe

Contacts

Earl Maynard
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du ministre d'État (Finances)
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés