Archived - Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System: Important Developments

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

April 16, 2015

Today the Ministers responsible for capital markets regulation in British Columbia, Ontario, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island and the Minister of Finance of Canada, together representing the Council of Ministers, announced further important steps toward the implementation of the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System.

The Council of Ministers is pleased to welcome Yukon into the Cooperative System. Yukon became the first territory to participate with its signing earlier this month of the Memorandum of Agreement Regarding the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System.

The Ministers are also pleased to announce the members of the nominating committee that will recommend candidates for the initial board of directors of the Capital Markets Regulatory Authority.

The members of the nominating committee are:

  • Neil de Gelder (British Columbia),
  • Susan Wolburgh Jenah (Ontario),
  • Grant J. Kook (Saskatchewan),
  • David G. Barry (New Brunswick) and
  • The Honourable Michael Wilson (Canada).

The Council of Ministers, co-chaired by the Honourable Michael de Jong, Minister of Finance of British Columbia, and the Honourable Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance of Canada, will appoint the initial board of directors based on the recommendations of the nominating committee. The Council will meet this summer in Vancouver to review progress on implementing the Cooperative System.

The initial board of directors will provide direction on the integration of participating securities regulators into the Authority.

The public consultation launched in September 2014 marked another important milestone in the drafting of the enabling legislation. Participating jurisdictions will release this summer updated consultation draft provincial and territorial and federal capital markets legislation, along with draft initial regulations, for public comment.

Further information on these developments is available in a backgrounder.

The Ministers are renewing their invitation to the governments of other provinces and territories to also join the Cooperative System, which will better protect investors, support and foster efficiency, and manage systemic risk in national capital markets.

Related Products

To access a Portable Document Format (PDF) file you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet.

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Stay Connected

Biographical Notes

Neil de Gelder, Q.C. (British Columbia)

Neil de Gelder is Executive Vice-President of Stern Partners Inc., a Vancouver-based private investment firm with a portfolio of over a dozen operating companies across a diverse range of industry sectors. Prior to 2005, he was a leading corporate and securities lawyer at a major Canadian law firm where his practice encompassed a full range of capital market activities. He was the Executive Director of the B.C. Securities Commission from 1987 – 1990, the Vice-Chair of Insurance Corporation of British Columbia from 2006 – 2012, and a founding director of FAIR Canada. He remains an independent director of a major Canadian mining company and Chair of a B.C.-based venture capital fund.

Susan Wolburgh Jenah, J.D., ICD.D (Ontario)

Susan Wolburgh Jenah is Senior Advisor, Aird & Berlis LLP and sits on the boards of Aequitas Neo Exchange (Chair), Laurentian Bank of Canada, the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) in the United States and is a member of the C.D. Howe Institute's National Council. In 2015, she was a McMurtry Fellow and Adjunct Professor at Osgoode Hall Law School. From 2008 to 2014, she served as President and Chief Executive Officer of the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization (IIROC), overseeing investment dealers and trading activities on Canadian debt and equity marketplaces. Before joining IIROC, she worked at the Ontario Securities Commission in progressively senior capacities, until her appointment as Vice-Chair in 2004.

Grant J. Kook, C.Dir., S.O.M. (Saskatchewan)

Mr. Grant J. Kook is founder, president and CEO of Westcap Mgt. Ltd, a Saskatchewan-based portfolio manager registered with securities regulators in Saskatchewan, British Columbia and Manitoba. As one of the largest venture and private equity Fund Managers in Saskatchewan with over half a billion in funds under management his firm has completed investments in over 130 companies in diverse sectors and stages of growth. He has been Chairman of the Board of SaskTel since 2008, serves on numerous private and public sector boards including, Vice President and Director of the Canadian Venture Capital and Private Equity Association (CVCA) for the past seven years. Mr. Kook has a Chartered Director Designation from McMaster University DeGroote School of Business and served as a Director on The Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) Saskatchewan Chapter.

David G. Barry, Q.C. (New Brunswick)

Mr. Barry was Chair and CEO of the New Brunswick Securities Commission until July 1, 2013 and remained Chair of the Financial and Consumer Services Commission until he retired in December 2013. Prior to joining the Commission, Mr. Barry was a senior partner in the law firm of Barry Spalding, practicing in the areas of corporate finance and securities, taxation and information technology. He was appointed Queens Counsel in 1991 and also holds the ICD.D certification from the Institute of Corporate Directors. Mr. Barry is currently a director of Symphony New Brunswick and has been an active leader for a number of professional and community organizations.

The Honourable Michael H. Wilson, P.C., C.C. (Canada)

Michael Wilson is the Chairman of Barclays Capital Canada Inc. where he is responsible for managing client relationships in Canada. Previously, he was Canada’s 22nd Ambassador to the United States of America from March 2006 to October 2009. Mr. Wilson has also served as Chairman of UBS Canada and Vice Chairman of RBC Dominion Securities. Mr. Wilson was elected to the House of Commons in 1979 and was appointed Minister of Finance in September 1984, a position he held until May 1991. Mr. Wilson is a Companion of the Order of Canada and has been active in a number of professional and community organizations.

Archivé - Le régime coopératif de réglementation des marchés des capitaux : développements importants

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 16 avril 2015

Les ministres responsables de la réglementation des marchés des capitaux de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Ontario, de la Saskatchewan, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et le ministre des Finances du Canada, représentant collectivement le conseil des ministres, ont annoncé aujourd’hui de nouvelles étapes importantes de la mise en place du régime coopératif en matière de réglementation des marchés des capitaux.

Le conseil des ministres est heureux d’accueillir le Yukon au sein du régime coopératif. Le Yukon est devenu, plus tôt ce mois-ci, le premier territoire participant en signant le Protocole d’accord concernant le régime coopératif en matière de réglementation des marchés des capitaux.

Les ministres sont également heureux d’annoncer le nom des membres du comité de nomination qui recommandera des candidats pour occuper les postes du  premier conseil d’administration de l’Autorité de réglementation des marchés des capitaux. 

Le comité de nomination est composé des membres suivants :

  • M. Neil de Gelder (Colombie-Britannique),
  • Mme Susan Wolburgh Jenah (Ontario),
  • M. Grant J. Kook (Saskatchewan),
  • M. David G. Barry (Nouveau-Brunswick),
  • l’honorable Michael Wilson (Canada).

Le conseil des ministres, coprésidé par l’honorable Michael de Jong, ministre des Finances de la Colombie-Britannique, et l’honorable Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances du Canada, nommera les membres du premier conseil d’administration sur la recommandation du comité de nomination. Le Conseil se réunira cet été à Vancouver pour faire le point sur la mise en œuvre du régime coopératif.

Le premier conseil d’administration orientera l’Autorité au sujet de l’intégration des organismes de réglementation des administrations participantes.

Les consultations publiques entreprises en septembre 2014 ont représenté un autre jalon important de l’élaboration de la législation habilitante. Les administrations participantes publieront cet été une version actualisée des ébauches de la législation provinciale et territoriale uniforme et de la législation fédérale sur les marchés des capitaux, ainsi que du projet de règlements initiaux connexe, dans le but d’obtenir les commentaires du public.

Des renseignements additionnels au sujet de ces éléments nouveaux figurent dans un document d’information complémentaire.

Les ministres réitèrent leur invitation aux gouvernements des autres provinces et territoires à adhérer au régime coopératif, lequel protégera mieux les investisseurs, favorisera l’efficacité des marchés et permettra de gérer le risque systémique dans les marchés des capitaux nationaux.

Produits connexes

Pour consulter un fichier PDF (format de document portable), votre ordinateur doit avoir un lecteur PDF. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet.

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés


Notices biographiques

Neil de Gelder, c.r. (Colombie-Britannique)

M. Neil de Gelder est vice-président exécutif de Stern Partners Inc., une société privée d’investissement dont le siège est à Vancouver et qui possède un portefeuille très diversifié de plus d’une douzaine de sociétés en exploitation dans plusieurs secteurs industriels. Avant 2005, il était un avocat de premier plan spécialisé dans le droit des sociétés et des valeurs mobilières dans un grand cabinet d’avocats canadien exerçant une gamme complète d’activités liées aux marchés des capitaux. M. de Gelder a été directeur de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de la Colombie-Britannique de 1987 à 1990, vice-président de l’Insurance Corporation of British Columbia de 2006 à 2012 et directeur fondateur de la Fondation canadienne pour l’avancement des droits des investisseurs (FAIR Canada). Il continue de siéger à titre d’administrateur indépendant au conseil d’une grande société minière canadienne et de président d’un fonds de capital de risque situé en Colombie-Britannique.

Susan Wolburgh Jenah, J.D., IAS.A (Ontario)

Mme Susan Wolburgh Jenah est conseillère principale à Aird & Berlis LLP et siège aux conseils d’administration d’Aequitas Neo Exchange (présidente), de la Banque Laurentienne du Canada et de la Financial Industry Regulatory Authority aux États-Unis. Elle est également membre du conseil national de l’Institut C.D. Howe. En 2015, elle a été récipiendaire de la bourse de recherche McMurtry et professeure auxiliaire à l’Osgoode Hall Law School. De 2008 à 2014, elle a agi à titre de présidente et chef de la direction de l’Organisme canadien de réglementation du commerce des valeurs mobilières (OCRCVM), où elle était responsable de la surveillance des courtiers en valeurs mobilières et des échanges sur les marchés boursiers et de la dette du Canada. Avant de se joindre à l’OCRCVM, elle a travaillé à la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario, où elle a exercé des fonctions à responsabilités croissantes jusqu’à sa nomination au poste de vice-présidente en 2004.

Grant J. Kook, directeur agréé, Ordre du mérite de la Saskatchewan

M. Grant J. Kook est fondateur, président et chef de la direction de Westcap Management Ltd, une société gestionnaire de portefeuille enregistrée auprès des organismes de réglementation des valeurs mobilières de la Saskatchewan, de la Colombie-Britannique et du Manitoba. La Westcap Management est une des plus importantes sociétés de gestion de fonds de capital de risque et de capital-investissement de la Saskatchewan. Elle gère un portefeuille de plus d’un demi-milliard de dollars et a réalisé des investissements dans plus de 130 sociétés de divers secteurs et stades de croissance. M. Kook est président du conseil d’administration de SaskTel depuis 2008 et siège à de nombreux autres conseils des secteurs privé et public, notamment à titre de vice-président et administrateur de l’Association canadienne du capital de risque et d'investissement depuis sept ans. M. Kook a obtenu le titre d’administrateur agréé de la DeGroote School of Business de l’Université McMaster et a siégé à titre d’administrateur au conseil de la section de la Saskatchewan de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés.

David G. Barry, c.r. (Nouveau-Brunswick)

M. David G. Barry a été président et chef de la direction de la Commission des valeurs mobilières du Nouveau-Brunswick jusqu’au 1er juillet 2013, et il est demeuré président de la Commission des services financiers et des services aux consommateurs jusqu’à son départ à la retraite, en décembre 2013. Avant de se joindre à la Commission, M. Barry était associé principal au cabinet d’avocats Barry Spalding, œuvrant dans les domaines du financement et des valeurs mobilières des sociétés, de la fiscalité et de la technologie de l’information. Il a été nommé conseiller de la reine en 1991 et détient le titre IAS.A de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés. M. Barry est actuellement administrateur au conseil de Symphonie Nouveau-Brunswick et a été un dirigeant actif dans de nombreux organismes professionnels et communautaires.

L’honorable Michael H. Wilson, c.p., C.C. (Canada)

L’hon. Michael Wilson est président de la Barclays Capital Canada Inc., où il est chargé de gérer les relations avec la clientèle au Canada. Auparavant, il a été le 22e ambassadeur du Canada aux États-Unis d’Amérique de mars 2006 à octobre 2009. M. Wilson a également agi à titre de président d’UBS Canada et de vice-président de RBC Dominion Valeurs mobilières Inc. Élu à la Chambre des communes en 1979, il a été ministre des Finances depuis sa nomination en septembre 1984 jusqu’en mai 1991. Compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada, M. Wilson est actif au sein de nombreux organismes professionnels et communautaires.