Archived - Government Remains Committed to Creating Jobs and Growth by Supporting Venture Capital Investment in Canada

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Harper Government invests in final fund of funds under the Venture Capital Action Plan to support Canada’s venture capital sector

April 15, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the Government of Canada’s investment in HarbourVest Canada Growth Fund, a private sector-led fund of funds under the Government of Canada’s Venture Capital Action Plan.

HarbourVest Canada Growth Fund, the last of the four private sector-led funds of funds to be established under the Venture Capital Action Plan, had its initial closing with $197.2 million in commitments—$131.5 million from institutional and corporate investors, alongside $65.7 million from the Government of Canada. The Fund will place an emphasis on investment opportunities in information and communications technologies, and will invest primarily in early-stage and mid-stage venture capital funds and directly in companies across Canada.

HarbourVest Partners has been selected by lead investors to act as the general partner for the Fund, following a fair and competitive selection process led by the private sector Venture Capital Expert Panel. HarbourVest Partners, a top-tier firm headquartered in Boston (U.S.), recently established an investment office in Toronto. Investment decisions will be made by HarbourVest Partners based on market-based principles in order to maximize returns.

The initial partners in the Fund are:

  • BDC Capital Inc. (on behalf of the Government of Canada)
  • BMO Financial Group
  • Canada Pension Plan Investment Board
  • CIBC
  • HarbourVest Global Private Equity Limited
  • Knight Therapeutics Inc.
  • Laborers’ Pension Fund of Western Canada
  • Royal Bank of Canada
  • Scotiabank
  • TD Bank Group

Quick Facts

  • The investment in HarbourVest Canada Growth Fund is part of the Government’s $400-million Venture Capital Action Plan (VCAP), launched in January 2013 by Prime Minister Stephen Harper to help increase private sector investments in early-stage risk capital, and contribute to a vibrant private sector-led venture capital sector in Canada.
  • The VCAP includes a commitment to establish up to four private sector-led funds of funds with private sector investors and interested provinces.
  • The Business Development Bank of Canada is facilitating the implementation of the VCAP on behalf of the Government of Canada by providing independent expertise, undertaking due diligence, supporting negotiations with funds and other investors, and managing the VCAP investments.

Quote

“With the establishment of HarbourVest Canada Growth Fund, our Government continues to help ensure that Canada’s venture capital sector has a bright future. By working together, we can build on previous investments to further improve access to venture capital financing, contributing to a stronger, more innovative economy.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement maintient son engagement de créer des emplois et de favoriser la croissance en appuyant l’investissement en capital de risque au Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans un dernier fonds de fonds dans le cadre du Plan d’action sur le capital de risque afin de soutenir le secteur canadien du capital de risque

Le 15 avril 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui un investissement du gouvernement du Canada dans le HarbourVest Canada Growth Fund, un fonds de fonds dirigé par le secteur privé, dans le cadre du Plan d’action sur le capital de risque (PACR) du gouvernement du Canada.

HarbourVest Canada Growth Fund, le dernier des quatre fonds de fonds dirigés par le secteur privé mis sur pied dans le cadre du PACR, a mobilisé au moment de sa première clôture des engagements de 197,2 millions de dollars, dont 131,5 millions provenaient d’institutions et de sociétés privées, et 65,7 millions provenaient du gouvernement du Canada. Le fonds misera principalement sur des occasions d’investissement dans les technologies de l’information et des communications. Il investira essentiellement dans des fonds de capital de risque qui mettent l’accent sur des entreprises au stade du démarrage ou à un stade intermédiaire de développement, et il effectuera des placements directs dans des entreprises de partout au Canada.

HarbourVest Partners a été choisi par les principaux investisseurs pour agir à titre de commandité du fonds, à la suite d’un processus de sélection équitable et concurrentiel mené par le Groupe d’experts sur le capital de risque. HarbourVest Partners, une société de premier rang dont le siège social est à Boston (États-Unis), a récemment ouvert un bureau de placement à Toronto. HarbourVest Partners prendra les décisions d’investissement conformément aux principes du marché, afin de maximiser le rendement.

Les commanditaires initiaux du fonds sont:

  • BDC Capital Inc. (pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada)
  • BMO Groupe financier
  • Banque CIBC
  • Banque Royale du Canada
  • Banque Scotia
  • Groupe de la Banque TD
  • HarbourVest Global Private Equity Limited
  • Knight Therapeutics Inc.
  • Laborers’ Pension Fund of Western Canada
  • Office d’investissement du régime de pensions du Canada

Les faits en bref

  • L’investissement dans le HarbourVest Canada Growth Fund s’inscrit dans le PACR du gouvernement, un plan d’action doté de 400 millions de dollars que le premier ministre Stephen Harper a lancé en janvier 2013 pour favoriser la hausse des investissements de capital de risque du secteur privé dans des entreprises en démarrage et ainsi contribuer au dynamisme d’un secteur du capital de risque dirigé par le secteur privé au Canada.
  • Le PACR contient l’engagement d’établir jusqu’à concurrence de quatre grands fonds de fonds dirigés par le secteur privé, en partenariat avec des investisseurs du secteur privé et les provinces intéressées.
  • La Banque de développement du Canada facilite la mise en œuvre du PACR pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada en fournissant une expertise indépendante, en exerçant une diligence raisonnable, en appuyant les négociations avec les fonds et d’autres investisseurs ainsi qu’en gérant des investissements du PACR.

Citation

« Grâce à la mise sur pied du HarbourVest Canada Growth Fund, notre gouvernement continue de veiller à ce que le secteur canadien du capital de risque soit promis à un brillant avenir. Ensemble, nous pouvons mettre à profit les investissements antérieurs pour améliorer davantage l’accès au capital de risque, et ainsi contribuer à rendre notre économie plus forte et novatrice. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés