Archived - Minister Oliver Meets With Private Sector Economists to Discuss Canada's Economy

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Meeting comes ahead of Economic Action Plan 2015

April 9, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today met with Canada’s leading private sector economists to gather their views on the Canadian and world economies. This meeting comes ahead of the release of Economic Action Plan 2015 on April 21st.

The economists noted that the sharp decline in global crude oil prices and weak global economy were affecting Canada’s economy. However, they also noted that Canada’s underlying economic fundamentals remain strong, and that they expect real gross domestic product (GDP) growth to average about 2 per cent for 2015 as a whole.

The consensus at today’s meeting was that despite the elevated level of uncertainty surrounding the economic outlook, the average forecast in the March survey of private sector economists is a reasonable basis for fiscal planning.  

The average of private sector economic forecasts forms the basis for the Department of Finance’s economic and fiscal planning assumptions. This ensures objectivity in the fiscal forecast—a practice supported by the International Monetary Fund—ahead of Economic Action Plan 2015 on April 21st.

Quick Facts

  • The Government has reiterated that it will balance the budget in Economic Action Plan 2015.
  • Canada has the lowest net debt-to-GDP ratio in the Group of Seven (G-7), with AAA credit ratings and a stable outlook from all the major credit rating agencies.
  • Canada has created more than 1.2 million net new jobs since the depths of the recession—one of the strongest job creation records in the G-7.
  • According to KPMG, total business tax costs in Canada are the lowest in the G-7 and 46% lower than those in the United States.

Quote

"Our Government's low-tax plan for jobs, growth and fiscal stability is keeping us on track to balance the budget this year, while putting money back in the pockets of hard-working Canadian families. But we have more work to do—we face a struggling world economy and low oil prices. Reflecting that challenge, the budget I table on April 21st will include new action to create jobs, enhance growth and ensure long term prosperity."

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver rencontre des économistes du secteur privé pour discuter de l'économie canadienne

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

La réunion précède la publication du Plan d’action économique de 2015

Le 9 avril 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a rencontré aujourd’hui d’éminents économistes du secteur privé au Canada pour connaître leurs points de vue sur l’économie du pays et l’économie mondiale. Cette réunion précède la parution du Plan d’action économique de 2015, qui aura lieu le 21 avril.

Les économistes ont indiqué que la chute des prix mondiaux du pétrole brut et la faiblesse de l’économie mondiale avaient une incidence sur l’économie du Canada. Ils ont toutefois également mentionné que les facteurs fondamentaux sous-jacents de l’économie canadienne demeuraient solides et qu’ils s’attendaient à ce que la croissance du produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel du pays se situe en moyenne à environ 2 % en 2015.

Les participants à la rencontre d’aujourd’hui se sont entendus pour dire que, malgré la grande incertitude entourant les perspectives économiques, la moyenne des prévisions de l’enquête de mars auprès des économistes du secteur privé constituait un point de départ raisonnable aux fins de la planification budgétaire.

Le ministère des Finances fonde ses hypothèses économiques et ses hypothèses de planification budgétaire sur la moyenne des prévisions économiques du secteur privé. Cette approche, qui est appuyée par le Fonds monétaire international, assure l’objectivité des prévisions budgétaires avant la publication, le 21 avril, du Plan d’action économique de 2015.

Les faits en bref

  • Le gouvernement a répété qu’il rétablira l’équilibre budgétaire dans le Plan d’action économique de 2015.
  • Le Canada affiche le plus faible ratio de la dette nette au PIB parmi les pays du Groupe des Sept (G–7), et il bénéficie d’une cote de crédit AAA, assortie de perspectives stables, de la part de toutes les grandes agences de notation.
  • Depuis le creux de la récession, plus de 1,2 million d’emplois nets ont été créés au Canada, ce qui représente l’un des meilleurs bilans à cet égard parmi les pays du G–7.
  • Selon la firme KPMG, les coûts fiscaux globaux des entreprises au Canada sont les plus faibles du G–7, et ils sont inférieurs de 46 % à ceux qui prévalent aux États-Unis.

Citation

« Grâce au plan de notre gouvernement axé sur des impôts bas pour favoriser l'emploi, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme, nous demeurons sur la bonne voie pour rétablir cette année l'équilibre budgétaire tout en remettant une plus grande quantité d'argent aux familles canadiennes qui travaillent fort. Il nous reste toutefois du travail à faire, car nous sommes aux prises avec une économie mondiale en difficulté et la faiblesse des prix du pétrole. En réponse à ces circonstances, le budget que je déposerai le 21 avril comprendra de nouvelles mesures visant à créer des emplois, à favoriser la croissance et à assurer la prospérité à long terme. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés