Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment to Royal Canadian Mint Board of Directors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

March 31, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointment of the Honourable Carol Skelton to the Board of Directors of the Royal Canadian Mint. Mrs. Skelton has a wealth of experience in the private sector. In addition, she has represented Saskatchewan as a federal Member of Parliament and has served in various cabinet roles, including Minister of National Revenue and Minister of Western Economic Diversification. Her appointment is for a four-year term.

Quick Facts

  • The Royal Canadian Mint is the Crown corporation responsible for the minting and distribution of Canada’s circulation coins.
  • The Mint is recognized as one of the largest and most versatile mints in the world, offering a wide range of specialized, high quality coinage products and related services on an international scale.

Quote

"Carol Skelton has a distinguished track record in the private and public sector. I am confident that she will be a valuable asset to the Mint. I congratulate her on her appointment to the Board of Directors."

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Associated Link

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected


Biographical Notes

The Honourable Carol Skelton

Carol Skelton is the former Member of Parliament for Saskatoon–Rosetown–Biggar. She was first elected in 2000, serving until 2008. While in office, she held various cabinet portfolios including Minister of National Revenue and Minister of Western Economic Diversification. 

Mrs. Skelton has also served on the Boards of Directors of a number of organizations, including Information Services Corporation, Saskatchewan Opportunities Corporation and the Security Intelligence Review Committee as board member, chair and acting chair. She has also donated her time by volunteering in the community as a board member for the Saskatchewan Red Cross Executive, the Saskatchewan Child Welfare Review Panel and the Canadian 4-H Council.

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce une nomination au conseil d'administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 31 mars 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de l’honorable Carol Skelton au conseil d’administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne. Mme Skelton a acquis une vaste expérience dans le secteur privé. Elle a également représenté la Saskatchewan en tant que députée fédérale et a occupé diverses fonctions au sein du Cabinet, notamment à titre de ministre du Revenu national et de ministre de la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien. Sa nomination est assortie d’un mandat de quatre ans.

Les faits en bref

  • La Monnaie royale canadienne est la société d’État responsable de la production et de la distribution des pièces de monnaie de circulation canadiennes.
  • La Monnaie est reconnue comme l’un des établissements de monnayage les plus importants et les plus polyvalents au monde. Elle propose toute une gamme de produits spécialisés de grande qualité et des services connexes à l’échelle internationale.

Citation

« Mme Carol Skelton s'est distinguée dans les secteurs privé et public. Je suis convaincu qu'elle apportera une précieuse contribution à la Monnaie. Je la félicite de sa nomination au conseil d'administration. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés


Notice biographique

L'honorable Carol Skelton

Mme Carol Skelton est l'ancienne députée de Saskatoon─Rosetown─Biggar. Elle a été élue pour la première fois en 2000 et est restée en poste jusqu'en 2008. Pendant son mandat, elle a occupé différentes fonctions au sein du Cabinet, notamment à titre de ministre du Revenu national et de ministre de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien.

Mme Skelton a également siégé au conseil d'administration de nombreux organismes, dont la Information Services Corporation et la Saskatchewan Opportunities Corporation, de même qu'au Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité, que ce soit en tant que simple membre, présidente ou présidente par intérim. Elle a également travaillé bénévolement auprès de la collectivité à titre de membre du comité de direction de la Croix-Rouge en Saskatchewan, du Saskatchewan Child Welfare Review Panel et du conseil d'administration du Conseil des 4 H du Canada.