Archived - Minister Oliver Applauds Canada's Efforts to Isolate Russia at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Tables Annual Report on Canada’s Activities at the EBRD

March 30, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today tabled a report on Canada’s activities at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) in 2014. Minister Oliver applauded the EBRD’s enhanced support in 2014 for Ukraine, a country that has been illegally victimized at the hands of its neighbour. He also noted Canada’s leadership in using the EBRD as one means of diplomatically and economically isolating Russia in the wake of its illegal occupation of Ukraine.

Quick Facts

  • The EBRD fosters transition to market economies and promotes private and entrepreneurial initiatives in countries from Central and Eastern Europe to Central Asia and the Southern and Eastern Mediterranean.
  • Canada is a founding member and the eighth largest shareholder of the EBRD.
  • Canada was the first shareholder on the EBRD Board of Directors to oppose all new projects benefiting Russia, and joined its Group of Seven (G-7) partners in taking this principled stand.
  • Lending commitments to Russia at the EBRD decreased by over 66% in 2014—down to 7% of total EBRD investment in 2014, from 21% of total investment in 2013.
  • In 2014, EBRD assistance to Ukraine totalled more than 1.2 billion euros—up from 798 million euros in 2013.

Quote

“I am pleased to present Parliament and Canadians with this annual report on Canada’s work with the EBRD. Through the EBRD, Canada promotes sound governance and economic growth in key regions of Europe. We are also proud to have played a role in ensuring that Russia does not benefit from the EBRD’s good work by opposing new Russian projects through the EBRD. Despite widespread condemnation, Russia refuses to end its illegal occupation of Ukraine. Canada unequivocally condemns Russia’s blatant violations of Ukrainian sovereignty.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver salue les efforts du Canada visant à isoler la Russie à la Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Dépôt du rapport sur les activités du Canada à la BERD

Le 30 mars 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a déposé aujourd’hui un rapport sur les activités du Canada à la Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement (BERD) en 2014. Le ministre Oliver s’est réjoui du soutien accru que la BERD a accordé en 2014 à l’Ukraine, un pays victime des actions illégales de son voisin. Il a également souligné le leadership dont le Canada a fait preuve en se servant de la BERD comme moyen diplomatique et économique pour isoler la Russie dans la foulée de son occupation illégale de l’Ukraine.

Les faits en bref

  • La BERD favorise la transition à des économies de marché et encourage l’initiative privée et l’esprit d’entreprise dans des pays de la région qui s’étend de l’Europe centrale et orientale jusqu’à l’Asie centrale, en passant par le Sud et l’Est du bassin méditerranéen.
  • Le Canada est l’un des membres fondateurs et le huitième actionnaire en importance de la BERD.
  • Le Canada a été le premier actionnaire siégeant au Conseil d’administration de la BERD à s’opposer à tous les nouveaux projets présentant un avantage pour la Russie. Il a adopté à cet égard la même position fondée sur des principes que ses partenaires du Groupe des Sept (G-7).
  • Les engagements de prêt consentis par la BERD à la Russie ont diminué de plus de 66 % en 2014, passant de 21 % du total des investissements de la BERD en 2013 à 7 % en 2014.
  • En 2014, l’aide que la BERD a versée à l’Ukraine a atteint plus de 1,2 milliard d’euros, par rapport à 798 millions d’euros en 2013.

Citation

« Je suis heureux de présenter aux parlementaires ainsi qu’aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens ce rapport annuel sur le travail du Canada au sein de la BERD. Par l’entremise de la BERD, le Canada favorise la saine gouvernance et la croissance économique dans des régions clés de l’Europe. Nous sommes également fiers d’avoir contribué à faire en sorte que la Russie ne profite pas du bon travail de la BERD en nous opposant aux nouveaux projets dans ce pays par l’entremise de la BERD. Même si elle a été condamnée par la communauté internationale, la Russie refuse de mettre fin à son occupation illégale de l’Ukraine. Le Canada condamne sans équivoque la violation flagrante par la Russie de la souveraineté de l’Ukraine. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés