Archived - Harper Government Introduces Legislation to Put More Money in the Pockets of Parents

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

March 27, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today introduced legislation in the House of Commons to implement the Harper Government’s latest tax relief and benefits for hard-working families. Together, these new measures will put money back into the pockets of every single family with children—about 4 million families in total.

Today, the overall federal tax burden is at its lowest level in more than half a century.

Quick Facts

  • Under this legislation, the Universal Child Care Benefit would increase from $100 to $160 per month for each child under age 6, and a new benefit of $60 per month would be provided for each child aged 6 through 17. These enhancements would be effective as of January 1, 2015, and would begin to be reflected in monthly payments to recipients in July 2015.
  • The legislation would also implement the new Family Tax Cut and increases to the maximum dollar limits for the Child Care Expense Deduction.
  • These measures, alongside tax relief provided by the Harper Government since 2006, will provide a typical two-earner family of four with up to $6,600 in tax relief and increased benefits in 2015. 
  • For more information about the Government’s latest tax relief, visit the new website, My Benefits, and find out how you can keep more of your hard-earned money.

Quotes

“Parents have to stretch dollars to make ends meet. So parents need a government that makes life more affordable for them. Under the leadership of Prime Minister Stephen Harper, our Government believes in investing in our kids by supporting those who care about them most: Mom and Dad. Our latest tax relief measures do exactly that. New action like an expanded and enhanced Universal Child Care Benefit and the Family Tax Cut are putting more dollars back into the pockets of parents—right where they belong.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

“We believe parents are the real experts when it comes to deciding what kind of child care is best for their children. That’s why we’re enhancing the Universal Child Care Benefit. If you have ‎kids under 18, you qualify. Period. That’s Canada’s low-tax plan for families.”

- Pierre Poilievre, Minister of Employment and Social Development

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Meagan Murdoch
Office of the Minister of Employment and Social Development
819-994-2482

Media Relations
Employment and Social Development Canada
819-994-5559

Stay Connected


4 New Measures. For details, see the PDF version that follows
PDF Version [137 KB]

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper dépose un projet de loi afin que les parents puissent disposer de plus d'argent

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 27 mars 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a déposé aujourd’hui un projet de loi à la Chambre des communes visant à mettre en œuvre les plus récents allègements et avantages fiscaux du gouvernement Harper destinés aux familles canadiennes qui travaillent fort. Ces nouvelles mesures permettront à l’ensemble des familles qui ont des enfants, c’est-à-dire environ 4 millions de familles au total, de disposer de plus d’argent.

À l’heure actuelle, le fardeau fiscal fédéral global est à son niveau le plus bas depuis plus d’un demi-siècle.

Les faits en bref

  • En vertu de ce projet de loi, la Prestation universelle pour la garde d’enfants passerait de 100 $ à 160 $ par mois pour chaque enfant âgé de moins de 6 ans, et une nouvelle prestation de 60 $ par mois serait octroyée pour chaque enfant âgé de 6 à 17 ans. Ces bonifications seraient en vigueur à compter du 1er janvier 2015 et commenceraient à être intégrées aux versements mensuels aux bénéficiaires en juillet 2015.
  • Le projet de loi instaurerait également la nouvelle baisse d’impôt pour les familles et une augmentation des plafonds de la déduction pour frais de garde d’enfants.
  • Ces mesures, conjuguées aux allègements fiscaux accordés par le gouvernement Harper depuis 2006, permettront à une famille type de quatre personnes et ayant deux revenus de tirer parti d’allègements fiscaux et de prestations accrues pouvant atteindre 6 600 $ en 2015.
  • Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet des plus récents allègements fiscaux proposés par le gouvernement, veuillez consulter le nouveau site Web Mes avantages, et découvrez comment vous pouvez conserver une plus grande part de l’argent que vous avez durement gagné.

Citations

« Les parents doivent maximiser la valeur de leur argent pour joindre les deux bouts. Les parents ont donc besoin d’un gouvernement qui vise à leur rendre le coût de la vie plus abordable. Sous la direction du premier ministre Stephen Harper, notre gouvernement est convaincu de l’importance d’investir dans nos enfants en appuyant ceux qui se soucient le plus de leur bien-être : les mères et les pères. Et c’est précisément ce qu’accomplissent nos plus récentes mesures d’allègement fiscal. De nouvelles mesures comme une Prestation universelle pour la garde d’enfants bonifiée et élargie ainsi que la baisse d’impôt pour les familles permettent aux parents de disposer de plus d’argent ‒ comme il se doit. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

« Nous sommes convaincus que les parents sont les véritables experts lorsqu’il s’agit de décider quel est le meilleur choix en ce qui concerne la garde de leurs enfants. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous bonifions la Prestation universelle pour la garde d’enfants. Si vous avez des enfants âgés de moins de 18 ans, vous êtes admissibles. Point final. Voilà le plan du Canada axé sur des impôts bas pour les familles. »

- Pierre Poilievre, ministre de l’Emploi et du Développement social

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Meagan Murdoch
Cabinet du ministre de l’Emploi et du Développement social
819-994-2482

Relations avec les médias
Emploi et Développement social Canada
819-994-5559

Restez branchés


4 nouvelles mesures proposées. Pour détails, voir la version PDF qui suit
Version PDF [138 ko]