Archived - Release of The Fiscal Monitor for January 2015

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Department of Finance reports a budgetary surplus of $2.2 billion in January 2015; the Government remains on track to balance the budget in 2015

March 27, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today released The Fiscal Monitor for January 2015.

There was a budgetary surplus of $2.2 billion in January 2015, virtually unchanged from the budgetary balance reported for January 2014.

Revenues increased by $0.4 billion, or 1.5 per cent, largely reflecting an increase in personal income tax revenues, offset in part by a decrease in non-resident income tax revenues. Program expenses increased by $0.7 billion, or 3.4 per cent, reflecting increases in major transfers to persons and direct program expenses. Public debt charges decreased by $0.3 billion, or 13.9 per cent, largely reflecting a lower average effective interest rate on bonds.

Quick Facts

  • For the April 2014 to January 2015 period of the 2014–15 fiscal year, the Government posted a budgetary surplus of $1.3 billion, compared with a deficit of $10.0 billion reported in the same period of 2013–14.
  • During the same period, revenues were up $7.7 billion, or 3.6 per cent, reflecting increases in most revenue streams.  
  • Program expenses were down $2.8 billion, or 1.4 per cent, reflecting a decrease in direct program expenses, offset in part by increases in major transfers to persons and other levels of government. 
  • Public debt charges were down $0.8 billion, or 3.2 per cent, largely reflecting a lower average effective interest rate on bonds.

Related Products

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Publication de La revue financière pour le mois de janvier 2015

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministère des Finances annonce un excédent budgétaire de 2,2 milliards de dollars pour le mois de janvier 2015; le gouvernement demeure sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015

Le 27 mars 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la publication de La revue financière pour le mois de janvier 2015.

Le mois de janvier 2015 s’est soldé par un excédent budgétaire de 2,2 milliards de dollars, ce qui est presque inchangé par rapport à l’excédent enregistré en janvier 2014.

Les revenus ont augmenté de 0,4 milliard de dollars (1,5 %), principalement sous l’effet de la hausse des rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, laquelle a été compensée en partie par la baisse des rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des non-résidents. Les charges de programmes ont augmenté de 0,7 milliard (3,4 %), en raison de la hausse des principaux transferts aux particuliers et des charges de programmes directes. Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 0,3 milliard (13,9 %), principalement sous l’effet d’un taux d’intérêt effectif moyen moins élevé sur les obligations d’État.

Les faits en bref

  • Pour la période d’avril 2014 à janvier 2015 de l’exercice 2014-2015, le gouvernement a affiché un excédent budgétaire de 1,3 milliard de dollars, comparativement à un déficit de 10,0 milliards pour la même période de l’exercice 2013-2014.
  • Au cours de la même période, les revenus ont connu une hausse de 7,7 milliards de dollars (3,6 %), ce qui traduit la croissance de la plupart des sources de revenus.
  • Les charges de programmes ont diminué de 2,8 milliards de dollars (1,4 %), en raison de la baisse des charges de programmes directes, laquelle a été partiellement compensée par la hausse des principaux transferts aux particuliers et aux autres administrations. 
  • Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 0,8 milliard de dollars (3,2 %), principalement sous l’effet d’un taux d’intérêt effectif moyen moins élevé sur les obligations d’État.

Produits connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés