Archived - Minister of Finance Launches North America's First Renminbi Trading Hub

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The hub is the latest step in a Canada-China relationship now worth $78 billion in two-way trade

March 23, 2015 – Toronto, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today launched North America’s first renminbi trading hub at an event in Toronto hosted by the Industrial and Commercial Bank of China, designated as the renminbi clearing bank for Canada.

Using the renminbi will be more efficient for Canadian firms doing business in China rather than using a currency, such as the U.S. dollar, of an unrelated country. With a designated clearing bank, it will now be easier for Canadian firms to make or receive payments in renminbi, thereby lowering their costs—creating jobs, growth, and long-term prosperity for Canadians.

Quick Facts

  • The renminbi ascended into the top five world currencies used in global payments in January 2015.
  • Canadian exports to China have more than quadrupled since 2003, with two-way trade totalling $78 billion in 2014.
  • The stock of foreign direct investment between Canada and China has increased more than seven-fold between 2005 and 2013, to a total of $21.5 billion.

Quote

“Over the past two centuries, Canada and China have been deepening our bilateral cultural and commercial ties. Today, over 400 Canadian firms operate in China, and Canada is immensely enriched by a nearly 1.5-million-strong Chinese-Canadian community—one of the largest overseas Chinese communities in the world. Today’s announcement of the launching of a renminbi hub reinforces the strength of our ties. Through lower transaction costs, it is now easier for Canadian firms to trade with and do business in China. This will mean jobs, growth, and long-term prosperity for Canadians, and a brighter future for both our great countries.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected


North America's first Renminbi hub means lower transaction costs for Canadian companies doing business in China.

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances lance la toute première plateforme de transactions en renminbis en Amérique du Nord

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

La mise en œuvre de cette plateforme représente la plus récente étape des échanges commerciaux entre le Canada et la Chine, échanges qui se chiffrent aujourd’hui à 78 milliards de dollars

Le 23 mars 2015 – Toronto (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a lancé aujourd’hui la première plateforme de transactions en renminbis en Amérique du Nord lors d’une activité organisée à Toronto par la Banque industrielle et commerciale de Chine, qui a été désignée comme la banque de compensation en renminbis du Canada.

Pour les entreprises canadiennes qui font des affaires en Chine, l’utilisation du renminbi sera plus efficiente que le recours à la devise d’un pays non lié, comme le dollar américain. Grâce à la présence d’une banque de compensation désignée, il sera dorénavant plus facile pour les entreprises canadiennes d’effectuer ou de recevoir des paiements libellés en renminbis, ce qui réduira ainsi leurs coûts et favorisera la création d’emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens.

Les faits en bref

  • En janvier 2015, le renminbi s’est hissé parmi les cinq devises les plus utilisées pour les paiements à l’échelle mondiale.
  • Les exportations canadiennes vers la Chine ont plus que quadruplé depuis 2003, et les échanges commerciaux entre les deux pays ont totalisé 78 milliards de dollars en 2014.
  • La valeur de l’investissement direct étranger entre le Canada et la Chine a été multipliée par plus de 7 entre 2005 et 2013, pour atteindre 21,5 milliards de dollars.

Citation

«Au cours des deux derniers siècles, le Canada et la Chine ont resserré les liens culturels et commerciaux qui les unissent. Aujourd’hui, plus de 400 entreprises canadiennes exercent des activités commerciales en Chine, et la communauté sino-canadienne, qui compte près de 1,5 million de personnes – ce qui en fait l’une des communautés chinoises d’outre-mer les plus importantes au monde – constitue une immense richesse pour le Canada. L’annonce d’aujourd’hui concernant le lancement d’une plateforme de transactions en renminbis renforce la solidité de nos liens. Par l’entremise de coûts de transaction plus faibles, il est désormais plus facile pour les entreprises canadiennes de réaliser des échanges commerciaux avec la Chine et d’y faire des affaires, ce qui se traduira par des emplois, de la croissance et de la prospérité à long terme pour les Canadiens, et un avenir plus prometteur pour ces deux grands pays. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés


La première plateforme de transactions en renminbis en Amérique du Nord  se traduit par des coûts de transaction plus faibles pour les entreprises canadiennes qui font des affaires en Chine.