Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment to the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Board of Directors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

February 27, 2015 - Ottawa - Department of Finance

The Honourable Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance, today announced the appointment of Susan Hicks to the Board of Directors of Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC). Ms. Hicks is the President and CEO of Technology Venture Corporation. She is a corporate director with over 30 years of experience in accounting and corporate finance in Atlantic Canada.

Her appointment is for a term of three years.

Quick Facts

  • CDIC is a federal Crown corporation created by Parliament.
  • It collaborates with other federal agencies to help ensure that Canada’s financial system stays healthy.
  • CDIC insures Canadians’ savings against the failure of a bank or other CDIC member institution.

Quote

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of Susan Hicks to CDIC. Her extensive experience in corporate finance, with a focus on business evaluation, financial and tax reporting, and regulatory policies and practices, makes her a valuable addition to this important organization.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Associated Link

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Biographical Notes

Susan Hicks

Susan Hicks is the President and CEO of Technology Venture Corporation (TVC), a private venture capital and investment holding company. The venture capital fund was started in 2005 and is primarily focused on technology companies. Technology Venture is an investor in the Build Ventures fund with the governments of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador, along with other entities.

Prior to joining TVC, Ms. Hicks was the Chief Financial Officer and Chief Regulatory Officer for Spielo Gaming International. Ms. Hicks is a member of the Economic Leadership Council and serves as a board member and advisor for various private corporations in Atlantic Canada.

Ms. Hicks graduated from the University of New Brunswick with a Bachelor of Business Administration and holds a Bachelor of Science from Acadia University.

Stay connected:

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce une nomination au conseil d’administration de la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 27 février 2015 - Ottawa - Ministère des Finances

L’honorable Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de Mme Susan Hicks au conseil d’administration de la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada (SADC). Mme Hicks est présidente et chef de la direction de Technology Venture Corporation. Administratrice de société, elle possède plus de 30 années d’expérience dans les domaines de la comptabilité et de la finance d’entreprise dans la région du Canada atlantique.

Sa nomination est assortie d’un mandat de trois ans.

Les faits en bref

  • La SADC est une société d’État fédérale qui a été créée par le Parlement.
  • Elle collabore avec d’autres organismes fédéraux pour aider à faire en sorte que le système financier du Canada demeure dynamique.
  • La SADC assure les épargnes des Canadiennes et des Canadiens contre la faillite d’une banque ou d’une autre institution membre de la SADC.

Citation

« Je suis heureux d’annoncer la nomination de Mme Hicks à la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada. Sa vaste expérience de la finance d’entreprise, portant plus particulièrement sur l’évaluation opérationnelle, la communication de l’information financière et fiscale, ainsi que les politiques et les pratiques réglementaires, fait d’elle un ajout précieux pour cette importante organisation. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Notice biographique

Susan Hicks

Mme Susan Hicks est présidente et chef de la direction de Technology Venture Corporation, une société privée d’investissement et de capital de risque. Lancé en 2005, le fonds de capital de risque est principalement axé sur les entreprises spécialisées dans le domaine de la technologie. Technology Venture investit dans le fonds Build Ventures avec, notamment, les gouvernements de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Avant de se joindre à Technology Venture Corporation, Mme Hicks était directrice financière et chef de la réglementation pour Spielo Gaming International. Elle est membre du Conseil de leadership économique et agit à titre de membre du conseil d’administration et de conseillère au sein de diverses sociétés privées dans la région du Canada atlantique.

Mme Hicks est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en administration des affaires de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick ainsi que d’un baccalauréat ès sciences de l’Université Acadia.

Restez branchés :