Archived - Department of Finance Releases Annual Tax Expenditures and Evaluations Report

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

February 24, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

The Department of Finance today released the 2014 Tax Expenditures and Evaluations report.

This report provides estimates and projections of the revenue impacts of federal tax measures designed to ensure the proper functioning of the federal tax system and support the economic and social priorities of the Government of Canada.

This year’s report includes two analytical papers. One is an evaluation of the Charitable Donation Tax Credit, which, in 2012, was claimed by more than 5.7 million Canadians in respect of donations worth $8.6 billion. The other paper is a study of interprovincial tax planning by Canadian corporations.

The release of today’s report coincides with the tabling of the Main Estimates in the House of Commons by the President of the Treasury Board.

Quick Facts

  • The Government first reported on federal tax expenditures in December 1979, and has published estimates and projections of tax expenditures for personal and corporate income taxes as well as for the Goods and Services Tax since 1994.
  • The Tax Expenditures and Evaluations report is published annually by the Government and, along with its companion document Tax Expenditures: Notes to the Estimates/Projections, provides valuable information to the public on the objectives, design and cost of federal tax expenditures.
  • International organizations have recognized the quality of Canada’s reporting on tax expenditures, notably with respect to the number of tax measures and years for which cost information is presented, the detailed methodological information that is provided, and the publication of evaluations and analytical papers.

Related Products

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministère des Finances publie le rapport annuel Dépenses fiscales et évaluations

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 24 février 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministère des Finances a publié aujourd’hui le rapport intitulé Dépenses fiscales et évaluations 2014.

Ce rapport contient des estimations et des projections concernant les répercussions sur le revenu des mesures fiscales fédérales visant à assurer le bon fonctionnement du régime fiscal fédéral et à soutenir les priorités économiques et sociales du gouvernement du Canada.

Le rapport de cette année comprend deux documents d’analyse. L’un de ceux-ci propose une évaluation du crédit d’impôt pour don de bienfaisance, qui a été demandé en 2012 par plus de 5,7 millions de Canadiens à l’égard de dons totalisant 8,6 milliards de dollars. L’autre document consiste en une étude de la planification fiscale interprovinciale des sociétés canadiennes.

La publication du rapport de cette année coïncide avec le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses par le président du Conseil du Trésor à la Chambre des communes.

Les faits en bref

  • Le gouvernement a publié le premier rapport sur les dépenses fiscales fédérales en décembre 1979. Depuis 1994, il publie aussi des estimations et des projections des dépenses fiscales liées à l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, à l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés et à la taxe sur les produits et services.
  • Le gouvernement publie chaque année le rapport Dépenses fiscales et évaluations lequel, conjugué à son document d’accompagnement intitulé Dépenses fiscales : Notes afférentes aux estimations et projections, fournit au public des renseignements utiles sur les objectifs, l’élaboration et le coût des dépenses fiscales fédérales.
  • La qualité des rapports du gouvernement du Canada sur les dépenses fiscales est reconnue par des organisations internationales, en raison notamment du nombre de mesures fiscales et d’années pour lesquelles l’information relative aux coûts est présentée, des données méthodologiques détaillées qui sont fournies et de la publication d’évaluations et de documents d’analyse.

Produits connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés