Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment to the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister congratulates Tahira Hassan on her appointment

February 11, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointment Ms. Tahira Hassan to the Board of Directors of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPPIB).

Her appointment to the Board of Directors is for a three-year term.

Ms. Hassan is currently a non-executive Director with both Brambles Limited and Recall Holdings Limited.

Quick Facts

  • The CPPIB is a professional investment management organization that invests the assets of the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) not currently needed to pay pension, disability and survivor benefits.
  • The CPP Fund ended its fiscal year on March 31, 2014, with net assets of $219.1 billion, compared with $183.3 billion at the end of the 2013 fiscal year. The portfolio delivered a gross investment return of 16.5 per cent for fiscal year 2014.
  • In the most recent triennial review released in December 2013, the Chief Actuary of Canada reaffirmed that, as of December 2012, the CPP remains sustainable at the current contribution rate of 9.9 per cent throughout the 75-year period of his report.
  • Operating at arm’s length from government, the CPPIB is responsible for prudently investing CPP investment funds in a diversified portfolio of assets to serve the best interests of CPP contributors and beneficiaries. Directors of the CPPIB are selected by the federal government, in consultation with participating provincial governments, from a list of qualified candidates submitted by a joint federal-provincial nominating committee.

Quote

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of Tahira Hassan to the CPPIB. I would like to congratulate her on this prestigious appointment. I am confident that her vast experience in management and operations and her international experience will greatly benefit the Board.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Additional Link

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected


Biographical Notes

Tahira Hassan is a non-executive Director serving on the Boards of Brambles Limited and Recall Holdings Limited.

Ms. Hassan held various executive leadership roles with Nestlé for over 26 years, including Senior Vice President & Head of Global Supply Chain, Global Business Head for Nescafé Ready to Drink and President of Ice Cream in Canada. Throughout her international career, Ms. Hassan has also held positions on several management and joint venture boards, as well as with industry associations such as the Food & Consumer Products Manufacturers of Canada and GS1. She also served on the Dean’s advisory council of the Laurier School of Business & Economics at Wilfrid Laurier University.

Ms. Hassan is a Certified Management Accountant of Canada and a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants in the United Kingdom.

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce une nomination à l'Office d'investissement du régime de pensions du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre félicite Tahira Hassan pour sa nomination

Le 11 février 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de Mme Tahira Hassan au conseil d’administration de l’Office d’investissement du régime de pensions du Canada (OIRPC).

Sa nomination au conseil est assortie d’un mandat de trois ans.

Mme Hassan est actuellement administratrice externe pour les sociétés Brambles Limited et Recall Holdings Limited.

Les faits en bref

  • L’OIRPC est un organisme de gestion de placements professionnel qui place l’actif dont le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) n’a pas besoin, à l’heure actuelle, pour verser les prestations de retraite, d’invalidité et de survivant.
  • À la fin de l’exercice clos le 31 mars 2014, le fonds du RPC affichait un actif net de 219,1 milliards de dollars, comparativement à 183,3 milliards à la fin de l’exercice 2013. Le portefeuille a enregistré un rendement brut du capital investi de 16,5 % pour l’exercice 2014.
  • Lors du plus récent examen triennal dont les résultats ont été publiés en décembre 2013, l’actuaire en chef du Canada a réaffirmé qu’en décembre 2012, le RPC demeurait viable au taux de cotisation actuel de 9,9 % dans l’ensemble de la période de 75 ans visée par son rapport.
  • L’OIRPC, un organisme indépendant des gouvernements, est chargé d’investir prudemment les fonds d’investissement du RPC dans un portefeuille diversifié d’actifs afin de servir au mieux les intérêts des cotisants et des bénéficiaires du Régime. Les administrateurs de l’OIRPC sont choisis par le gouvernement fédéral, en consultation avec les gouvernements provinciaux participants, parmi une liste de candidats qualifiés soumise par un comité de nomination mixte fédéral-provincial. 

Citation

« Je suis heureux d’annoncer la nomination de Mme Tahira Hassan à l’OIRPC, et j’aimerais la féliciter d’avoir été nommée à ce poste prestigieux. Je suis persuadé que l’Office profitera grandement de sa vaste expérience de la gestion et des opérations d’entreprise ainsi que de l’expérience qu’elle a acquise à l’échelle internationale. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés


Notice biographique

Mme Tahira Hassan est administratrice externe aux conseils d’administration de Brambles Limited et de Recall Holdings Limited.

Mme Hassan a occupé divers postes de direction chez Nestlé pendant plus de 26 ans, notamment ceux de vice-présidente principale et chef de la chaîne d’approvisionnement mondiale, de chef des opérations mondiales pour Nescafé Prêt à boire, et de présidente des produits de crème glacée au Canada. Tout au long de sa carrière internationale, Mme Hassan a aussi occupé des postes au sein de plusieurs conseils de gestion et de coentreprise, ainsi que d’associations professionnelles telles que Fabricants de produits alimentaires et de consommation du Canada et GS1. Elle a aussi siégé au conseil consultatif du doyen de la Laurier School of Business and Economics de l’Université Wilfrid-Laurier.

Mme Hassan est comptable en management accréditée au Canada et fellow du Chartered Institute of Management Accountants au Royaume-Uni.