Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment of Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Royal Canadian Mint

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister Oliver congratulates Carman Joynt on his appointment

February 11, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointment of Carman Joynt as Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Royal Canadian Mint. Mr. Joynt has most recently served as a Director of the Royal Canadian Mint, where he was the Acting Chair of the Audit Committee. His appointment is for a five-year term.

Quick Facts

  • The Royal Canadian Mint is the Crown corporation responsible for the minting and distribution of Canada’s circulation coins.
  • The Mint is recognized as one of the largest and most versatile mints in the world, offering a wide range of specialized, high quality coinage products and related services on an international scale.

Quote

“Carman Joynt has been an asset to the Royal Canadian Mint and I congratulate him on his appointment as Chairperson of the Board of Directors. I am pleased that the Mint will continue to benefit from his leadership and expertise.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Additional Link

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected


Biographical Notes

Carman Joynt is a retired Partner of Deloitte, Chartered Accountants and Management Consultants. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Carleton University. He is also a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario and has earned a certificate from the Institute of Corporate Directors. Mr. Joynt has served the public in various volunteer roles, including past chair of the Ottawa Hospital Foundation, past director of the Home Hospital of Ottawa-Carleton and past governor of Algonquin College in Ottawa.

He is currently a member of the Audit Committee of the Canadian Egg Industry Reciprocal Alliance, Director of Canadian Stebbins Engineering and Manufacturing Co. Ltd., Director of the Management Board of Canadian Geographic magazine and a Board member at the Royal Canadian Mint.

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce la nomination du nouveau président du conseil d'administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Oliver félicite Carman Joynt pour sa nomination

Le 11 février 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de M. Carman Joynt à titre de président du conseil d’administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne. M. Joynt a jusqu’à récemment exercé les fonctions de membre du conseil d’administration de la Monnaie, dont il a été le président par intérim du Comité de vérification. Sa nomination est assortie d’un mandat de cinq ans.

Les faits en bref

  • La Monnaie royale canadienne est la société d’État responsable de la production et de la distribution des pièces de monnaie de circulation canadiennes.
  • La Monnaie est reconnue comme l’un des établissements de monnayage les plus importants et les plus polyvalents au monde. Elle propose toute une gamme de produits spécialisés de grande qualité et des services connexes à l’échelle internationale.

Citation

« M. Carman Joynt est un atout pour la Monnaie royale canadienne, et je le félicite pour sa nomination à titre de président du conseil d’administration. Je suis heureux que la Monnaie puisse continuer de tirer parti de son leadership et de son savoir-faire. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés


Notice biographique

M. Carman Joynt est un associé à la retraite de la firme Deloitte de comptables agréés et de consultants en gestion. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université Carleton, il détient aussi le titre de fellow de l’Institut des comptables agréés de l’Ontario et un certificat de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés. Il a également servi la collectivité dans divers rôles bénévoles, notamment à titre de président de la Fondation de l’hôpital d’Ottawa, d’administrateur du programme d’hospitalisation à domicile d’Ottawa-Carleton et de gouverneur du Collège Algonquin à Ottawa.

M. Joynt est actuellement membre du comité d’audit de la Canadian Egg Industry Reciprocal Alliance et siège au conseil d’administration ou au conseil de gestion de la Société d’ingénierie et de construction Stebbins du Canada Ltée, de la revue Canadian Geographic et de la Monnaie royale canadienne.