Archived - Minister Oliver Calls for Fiscal Responsibility and for All Countries to Rise to Global Challenges at First G-20 Meeting of 2015

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

February 9, 2015 – Istanbul, Turkey – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver is attending the Group of 20 (G-20) meeting in Istanbul today where, as co-chair of the Framework Working Group, he is calling on Canada’s G-20 partners to action country-specific growth strategies agreed to in Brisbane. These strategies, if implemented, aim to increase global growth through lifting the G-20’s collective gross domestic product (GDP) by 2.1% by 2018—well above current projections.

The meetings in Istanbul will focus on the extraordinary challenges facing the global economy, and are being held in the wake of the International Monetary Fund’s (IMF’s) downgrading of 2015 growth projections in key regions around the world.

As the G-20 considers its response to these challenges, Minister Oliver is encouraging his colleagues to lead through responsible fiscal management. This has been Canada’s approach, and as a result, Canada today is a post-recession economic success story.

Quick Facts

  • The Canadian economy has posted one of the strongest job creation records in the G-7 over the recovery, with more than 1.2 million jobs created since June 2009.
  • Real GDP is significantly above pre-recession levels—the best performance in the G-7.
  • Both the IMF and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development expect Canada to be among the strongest growing economies in the G-7 over the next two years.
  • Canada leapt from sixth to second place in Bloomberg’s most recent ranking of the most attractive destinations for business.
  • Four credit rating agencies—Moody’s Investors Service, Fitch Ratings, Standard & Poor’s and DBRS—have all reaffirmed their top ratings for Canada.

Quote

“Our Government’s sound economic management and unwavering commitment to balance the budget this year—while creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for Canadians—has resulted in a resilient economic performance in a challenging global economy. As Canada is doing with its Economic Action Plan, we encourage G-20 countries to follow through on their commitments to create jobs and a strong, sustainable and balanced global economy.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver appelle à la responsabilité budgétaire et demande à tous les pays de relever les défis mondiaux lors de la première réunion du G-20 en 2015

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 9 février 2015 – Istanbul, Turquie – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, participe aujourd’hui à une réunion du Groupe des Vingt (G-20) à Istanbul pendant laquelle, à titre de coprésident du groupe de travail sur le Cadre, il demande aux partenaires du Canada au sein du G-20 de donner suite aux stratégies de croissance propres à chaque pays qui ont été convenues à Brisbane. La mise en œuvre de ces stratégies aurait pour but de stimuler la croissance à hauteur de 2,1 % du produit intérieur brut (PIB) collectif du G-20 d’ici 2018, ce qui est bien au-delà des projections actuelles.

Les réunions tenues à Istanbul seront axées sur les énormes défis auxquels l’économie mondiale fait face. Elles auront lieu dans la foulée de la révision à la baisse des projections de croissance du Fonds monétaire international (FMI) pour des régions clés du monde.

Au moment où le G-20 examine sa réponse à ces défis, le ministre Oliver encourage ses collègues à prêcher par l’exemple en pratiquant une gestion budgétaire responsable. C’est l’approche qui a mené à la réussite économique du Canada après la récession.

Les faits en bref

  • Au cours de la reprise, l’économie canadienne a affiché l’un des meilleurs bilans du G-7 au chapitre de la création d’emplois, soit plus de 1,2 million d’emplois créés depuis juin 2009.
  • Le PIB réel du Canada a nettement dépassé les niveaux enregistrés avant la récession – cette performance est la meilleure parmi les pays du G-7.
  • Tant le Fonds monétaire international que l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques prévoient que le Canada fera partie des pays du G-7 dont la croissance économique sera la plus forte au cours des deux prochaines années.
  • Le Canada a bondi du sixième au deuxième rang dans le plus récent palmarès des meilleurs endroits pour faire des affaires établi par la firme Bloomberg.
  • Quatre agences de notation – Moody’s Investors Service, Fitch Ratings, Standard & Poor’s et Dominion Bond Rating Service – ont maintenu leurs cotes de crédit supérieures attribuées au Canada.

Citation

« La résilience économique du Canada en dépit d’une conjoncture mondiale difficile s’explique par la saine gestion dont fait preuve notre gouvernement et son engagement inébranlable à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire cette année, tout en créant des emplois et en favorisant la croissance et la prospérité à long terme pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens. Nous invitons les autres pays du G-20 à donner suite à leurs engagements pour créer des emplois et promouvoir une économie mondiale forte, durable et équilibrée, comme le fait le Canada dans le cadre de son Plan d’action économique. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés