Archived - Release of The Fiscal Monitor for November 2014

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Department of Finance reports a budgetary surplus of $0.6 billion in November 2014; the Government remains on track to balance the budget in 2015

January 30, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today released The Fiscal Monitor for November 2014.

There was a budgetary surplus of $0.6 billion in November 2014, compared with a deficit of $0.6 billion in November 2013. 

Revenues increased by $1.0 billion, or 4.5 per cent, as increases in personal income tax revenues and other revenues were partially offset by a decrease in corporate income tax revenues. Program expenses decreased by $0.1 billion, or 0.4 per cent, as a decrease in direct program expenses was largely offset by increases in major transfers to persons and other levels of government. Public debt charges decreased by $0.1 billion, or 5.5 per cent.  

Quick Facts

  • For the April to November 2014 period of the 2014–15 fiscal year, the Government posted a budgetary deficit of $3.3 billion, compared with a deficit of $13.4 billion reported in the same period of 2013–14.
  • During the same period, revenues were up $6.3 billion, or 3.8 per cent, reflecting increases in all revenue sources, except other revenues.  
  • Program expenses were down $3.3 billion, or 2.0 per cent, reflecting a decrease in direct program expenses, offset in part by increases in major transfers to persons and other levels of government. 
  • Public debt charges were down $0.5 billion, or 2.5 per cent, largely reflecting a lower average effective interest rate on bonds.

Related Products

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Publication de La revue financière pour le mois de novembre 2014

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministère des Finances annonce un excédent budgétaire de 0,6 milliard de dollars pour la période de novembre 2014; le gouvernement demeure sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015

Le 30 janiver 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la publication de La revue financière pour le mois de novembre 2014.

Le mois de novembre 2014 s’est soldé par un excédent budgétaire de 0,6 milliard de dollars, comparativement à un déficit de 0,6 milliard en novembre 2013.

Les revenus ont augmenté de 1,0 milliard (4,5 %), alors que la hausse des rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers et des autres revenus a été partiellement compensée par la baisse des rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés. Les charges de programmes ont diminué de 0,1 milliard (0,4 %), sous l’effet de la baisse des charges de programmes directes, compensée en grande partie par la hausse des principaux transferts aux particuliers et aux autres administrations. Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 0,1 milliard (5,5 %).

Les faits en bref

  • Pour la période d’avril à novembre 2014 de l’exercice 2014-2015, le gouvernement a affiché un déficit budgétaire de 3,3 milliards de dollars, comparativement à un déficit de 13,4 milliards pour la même période de l’exercice 2013-2014.
  • Au cours de la même période, les revenus ont connu une hausse de 6,3 milliards de dollars (3,8 %), ce qui traduit la hausse de l’ensemble des sources de revenus, à l’exception des autres revenus.
  • Les charges de programmes ont diminué de 3,3 milliards (2,0 %), en raison de la baisse des charges de programmes directes, laquelle a été partiellement compensée par la hausse des principaux transferts aux particuliers et aux autres administrations.
  • Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 0,5 milliard (2,5 %), principalement sous l’effet d’un taux d’intérêt effectif moyen moins élevé sur les obligations d’État.

Produits connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés