Archived - Backgrounder: Consultation on a Proposed Taxpayer Protection and Bank Recapitalization Regime

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Context

Canada’s financial system weathered the 2008 global financial crisis better than any other major industrialized economy. Canadian banks were able to maintain their access to debt and equity markets throughout the crisis, compared with some banks in other countries that were shut out of these markets. Not a single Canadian financial institution failed in the Great Recession of 2008-2009.

These achievements demonstrate the value of Canada’s approach to financial sector regulation and supervision. But the crisis also highlighted to all our Group of 20 (G-20) peers that some banks are “systemically important”. A bank is systemically important where its failure could have a detrimental impact on the functioning of the financial system and the economy.

Some of Canada’s trading partners lacked adequate legal authorities to deal with a failed major bank, and some of them had to resort to taxpayer bail-outs to keep these banks functioning in the interests of broader financial and economic stability.

But using taxpayer money to cover those banks’ riskier investments and their resulting losses created another risk: the impression that no risk is too high for systemically important banks because of the unacceptable costs to the economy of letting them fail, and the expectation that taxpayer dollars will always be available in an emergency.

This is called moral hazard.

Proposed Regime and Consultations

The proposed regime is intended to prevent such moral hazard by enhancing the set of tools available to handle the failure of a major Canadian bank. The regime shifts the burden of bailing out failed or failing major banks to those institutions’ shareholders and creditors, rather than putting the burden on taxpayers.

While the 2008 global financial crisis demonstrated the soundness of Canadian banks, we must continue to take all steps necessary to prepare for future threats.  That is why the Government of Canada endorsed a G-20 plan in 2011 to make sure all major industrialized countries enhance their resolution regimes to be able to handle the failure of systemically important financial institutions without relying on taxpayer funds, while preserving financial stability.

To that end, Economic Action Plan 2013 articulated a plan to establish a risk management framework for Canada’s domestic systemically important banks.

This consultation outlines the key features of a proposed Taxpayer Protection and Bank Recapitalization regime, which is intended to prevent a disorderly failure or taxpayer-funded bail-out of a major bank from happening in Canada. The regime shifts the burden of bailing out failed or failing major banks to those institutions’ creditors, rather than putting the burden on taxpayers when a crisis hits. The consultation paper sets out the terms and conditions under which certain liabilities of a failing or failed bank would be converted to create common equity to recapitalize the bank. Banks’ shareholders and creditors who are responsible for the risks taken should bear a failed bank’s losses, not Canadian taxpayers.

Deposits are excluded from the proposed regime. In addition, insured deposits will continue to be guaranteed by the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation.

The public is invited to provide feedback on the regime and the questions posed in the consultation paper.

Archivé - Document d’information : Consultation au sujet du régime proposé de protection des contribuables et de recapitalisation des banques

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Contexte

Le système financier du Canada a mieux réussi à surmonter la crise financière mondiale de 2008 que celui des autres principaux pays industrialisés. Les banques canadiennes ont été en mesure de conserver leur accès aux marchés des titres d’emprunt et des actions durant toute la crise, contrairement à certaines banques d’autres pays, qui ont été exclues de ces marchés. Aucune institution financière canadienne n’a fait faillite pendant la Grande Récession de 2008-2009.

Ces résultats démontrent la valeur de l’approche canadienne en matière de réglementation et de surveillance du secteur financier. Cependant, la crise a également démontré à tous nos pairs du Groupe des Vingt (G-20) que certaines banques avaient une « importance systémique ». On considère qu’une banque a une importance systémique si sa faillite avait pour conséquence de nuire au bon fonctionnement du système financier et de l’économie.

Durant la crise, certains partenaires commerciaux du Canada ne disposaient pas de pouvoirs juridiques suffisants pour composer avec la faillite d’une grande banque. Certains d’entre eux ont dû recourir à des mesures de renflouement financées par les contribuables pour permettre aux banques de continuer à fonctionner, dans une perspective plus vaste de stabilité financière et économique.

Toutefois, le fait de recourir à l’argent des contribuables pour couvrir les investissements plus risqués de ces banques et leurs pertes résultantes ont amené un autre risque : l’impression selon laquelle aucun risque n’était trop élevé pour les banques d'importance systémique en raison des coûts inacceptables pour l'économie de les laisser faire faillite, et l'attente que l'argent des contribuables serait toujours disponible en cas d’urgence.

On désigne cet aspect sous l’appellation « risque moral ».

Régime proposé et consultations

Le régime proposé vise à prévenir le risque moral en améliorant les outils permettant de faire face à la faillite d’une importante banque canadienne. Il prévoit le transfert du fardeau du renflouement d’une grande banque en faillite ou en difficulté des contribuables aux actionnaires et aux créanciers de la banque.

Bien que la crise financière mondiale de 2008 ait démontré la solidité des banques canadiennes, nous devons continuer de prendre les mesures nécessaires en prévision de menaces futures. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada a appuyé en 2011 un plan des pays du G-20 visant à faire en sorte que tous les principaux pays industrialisés améliorent leur régime de résolution afin d’être en mesure de faire face à la faillite d’institutions financières d’importance systémique sans recourir aux fonds publics, tout en maintenant la stabilité financière.

À cette fin, le Plan d’action économique de 2013 énonçait un plan en vue d’établir un cadre de gestion des risques relativement aux banques canadiennes d’importance systémique nationale.

Ce document de consultation décrit les principales caractéristiques d’un régime proposé de protection des contribuables et de recapitalisation des banques, lequel a pour but de prévenir une faillite désordonnée ou le renflouement d’une grande banque canadienne à l’aide de fonds publics. Il prévoit le transfert du fardeau du renflouement d’une grande banque en faillite ou en difficulté des contribuables aux actionnaires de la banque dans l’éventualité d’une crise. Le document de consultation établit les modalités en vertu desquelles certains passifs d’une banque en difficulté ou en faillite seraient convertis pour créer des actions ordinaires afin de recapitaliser la banque. Ce sont les actionnaires et les créanciers qui doivent assumer les risques encourus ainsi que les pertes d’une banque en faillite, et non les contribuables canadiens.

Les dépôts sont exclus du régime proposé. En outre, les dépôts assurés continueront d’être garantis par la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada.

Le public est invité à fournir des commentaires au sujet du régime proposé et à répondre aux questions soulevées dans le document de consultation.