Archived - Government Invests to Help Innovative Businesses Access the Capital They Need to Grow and Succeed

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

December 22, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced that Relay Ventures III has been selected as one of the high-performing venture capital funds to receive $15 million under the Government’s Venture Capital Action Plan (VCAP).

Relay Ventures III is a fund focused on investment opportunities in the information and communication technologies sector. This latest investment is part of the Government’s commitment to invest $50 million in a few high-performing venture capital funds to help innovative businesses access the capital they need to grow and succeed.

The Government is investing in Relay Ventures III on the recommendation of the Venture Capital Expert Panel, which was established to provide advice on the VCAP, including the selection of the high-performing venture capital funds to receive a direct investment from the Government. The Expert Panel conducted its evaluation through a fair and competitive selection process.

Quick Facts

  • The Government of Canada’s investment in Relay Ventures III is the latest step in the VCAP, a $400-million strategy launched in January 2013 by Prime Minister Stephen Harper to help increase private sector investments in early-stage risk capital and contribute to a vibrant private sector-led venture capital sector in Canada.
  • The Business Development Bank of Canada is facilitating the implementation of the VCAP on behalf of the Government of Canada by providing independent expertise, undertaking due diligence, supporting negotiations with funds and other investors, and assisting in the deployment of VCAP investments.

Quote

“The investment in Relay Ventures III is an important step in implementing our Government’s Venture Capital Action Plan to help create a vibrant, private sector-led venture capital system in Canada leading to jobs, innovation and economic growth. In making these investments, we are helping to foster a dynamic and competitive Canadian economy.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Additional Link

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement investit pour aider les entreprises innovatrices à obtenir les capitaux dont elles ont besoin pour prendre de l'expansion et réussir

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 22 décembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le fonds Relay Ventures III avait été choisi comme l’un des fonds de capital de risque à rendement élevé qui recevra un placement de 15 millions de dollars du gouvernement dans le cadre du Plan d’action sur le capital de risque (PACR).

Le fonds Relay Ventures III est axé sur les possibilités d’investissement dans le secteur des technologies de l’information et des communications. Ce nouvel investissement s’inscrit dans l’engagement du gouvernement à investir 50 millions de dollars dans un petit nombre de fonds de capital de risque à rendement élevé pour aider les entreprises innovatrices à avoir accès aux capitaux dont elles ont besoin pour prendre de l’expansion et réussir.

Le gouvernement investit dans le fonds Relay Ventures III sur la recommandation du Groupe d’experts sur le capital de risque mis sur pied pour le conseiller au sujet du PACR, y compris sur le choix des fonds de capital de risque à rendement élevé devant recevoir des placements directs du gouvernement. Le Groupe d’experts a mené son évaluation dans le cadre d’un processus de sélection équitable et concurrentiel.

Les faits en bref

  • Le placement du gouvernement du Canada dans le fonds Relay Ventures III représente la plus récente étape du PACR, une stratégie dotée de 400 millions de dollars que le premier ministre Stephen Harper a lancée en janvier 2013 pour favoriser la hausse des investissements en capital de risque du secteur privé dans des entreprises en démarrage et ainsi contribuer au dynamisme du secteur du capital de risque dirigé par le secteur privé au Canada.
  • La Banque de développement du Canada facilite la mise en œuvre du PACR pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada en fournissant une expertise indépendante, en exerçant une diligence raisonnable, en soutenant les négociations avec les fonds et d’autres investisseurs, et en facilitant le déploiement des investissements du PACR.

Citation

« L’investissement dans Relay Ventures III représente une importante étape dans la mise en œuvre du Plan d’action sur le capital de risque de notre gouvernement en vue de créer un système dynamique de capital de risque dirigé par le secteur privé au Canada qui stimulera l’emploi, l’innovation et la croissance économique. En effectuant ces investissements, nous contribuons à favoriser une économie canadienne dynamique et concurrentielle. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Lien connexe

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés