Archived - Release of The Fiscal Monitor

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Department of Finance reports a budgetary deficit of $3.2 billion in October 2014; the Government remains on track to balance the budget in 2015

December 22, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today released The Fiscal Monitor for October 2014.

There was a budgetary deficit of $3.2 billion in October 2014, compared with a deficit of $2.5 billion in October 2013.

The October 2014 results include a $1.6 billion adjustment to revenues to include the year-to-date costs of personal income tax measures announced in October 2014 and effective for the 2014 taxation year. These measures consist of the introduction of the Family Tax Cut and the doubling of the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit. Absent this adjustment, there would have been a deficit of $1.6 billion in October 2014.

Revenues decreased by $0.2 billion, or 0.9 per cent, as the impact of the year-to-date costs of the Family Tax Cut and the doubling of the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit was partially offset by gains in corporate income tax revenues. Program expenses increased by $0.6 billion, or 3.1 per cent, reflecting increases in transfers to persons and other levels of government and direct program expenses. Public debt charges decreased by $0.1 billion, or 3.4 per cent.

Quick Facts

  • For the April to October 2014 period of the 2014–15 fiscal year, the Government posted a budgetary deficit of $4.0 billion, compared with a deficit of $12.8 billion reported in the same period of 2013–14.
  • During the same period, revenues were up $5.3 billion, or 3.7 per cent, reflecting increases in all revenue sources with the exception of “other revenues”.   
  • Program expenses were down $3.2 billion, or 2.3 per cent, reflecting a decrease in direct program expenses, offset in part by increases in major transfers to persons and other levels of government. 
  • Public debt charges were down $0.3 billion, or 2.0 per cent.

Related Products

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Publication de La revue financière

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministère des Finances annonce un déficit budgétaire de 3,2 milliards de dollars pour le mois d’octobre 2014; le gouvernement demeure sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015

Le 22 décembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la publication de La revue financière pour le mois d’octobre 2014.

Le mois d’octobre 2014 s’est soldé par un déficit budgétaire de 3,2 milliards de dollars, comparativement à un déficit de 2,5 milliards en octobre 2013.

Les résultats pour le mois d’octobre 2014 tiennent compte d’un rajustement des revenus de 1,6 milliard de dollars afin d’inclure les coûts cumulatifs pour l’exercice en cours des mesures visant l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers annoncées en octobre 2014 et entrant en vigueur pour l’année d’imposition 2014. Ces mesures comprennent l’instauration de la baisse d’impôt pour les familles et le doublement du crédit d’impôt pour la condition physique des enfants. En l’absence de ce rajustement, le déficit se serait établi à 1,6 milliard en octobre 2014.

Les revenus ont diminué de 0,2 milliard de dollars (0,9 %), alors que l’incidence des coûts cumulatifs pour l’exercice en cours de la baisse d’impôt pour les familles et du doublement du crédit d’impôt pour la condition physique des enfants a été partiellement compensée par la progression des rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés. Les charges de programmes ont augmenté de 0,6 milliard (3,1 %), en raison de la hausse des transferts aux particuliers et aux autres administrations, ainsi que de l’augmentation des charges de programmes directes. Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 0,1 milliard (3,4 %).

Les faits en bref

  • Pour la période d’avril à octobre 2014 de l’exercice 2014-2015, le gouvernement a affiché un déficit budgétaire de 4,0 milliards de dollars, comparativement à un déficit de 12,8 milliards pour la même période de l’exercice 2013-2014.
  • Au cours de la même période, les revenus ont connu une hausse de 5,3 milliards de dollars (3,7 %), ce qui traduit la hausse de l’ensemble des sources de revenus, à l’exception des autres revenus.
  • Les charges de programmes ont diminué de 3,2 milliards de dollars (2,3 %), en raison de la baisse des charges de programmes directes, laquelle a été partiellement compensée par la hausse des principaux transferts aux particuliers et aux autres administrations. 
  • Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 0,3 milliard de dollars (2,0 %).

Produits connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés