Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment to Bank of Canada Board of Directors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister Oliver congratulates Martin Sullivan on his appointment

December 19, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointment of Martin Sullivan to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada. His appointment is for a term ending on February 28, 2017.

Mr. Sullivan is the co-founder, President and CEO of Ocean Choice International, based in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador. He has been actively involved in promoting the sustainable management and development of the fisheries sector.

Quick Facts

  • The Bank of Canada’s principal role is to promote the economic and financial welfare of Canada. The central bank works to preserve the value of money by keeping inflation low and stable.
  • The Bank is responsible for Canada’s monetary policy and bank notes, and also has responsibilities relating to the financial system and funds management.
  • The Bank of Canada’s Board of Directors provides general oversight of the management and administration of the central bank. It reviews the Bank’s general policies, on matters other than monetary policy, keeps the Bank informed about prevailing economic conditions in Directors’ respective regions, and appoints the Governor and Senior Deputy Governor.


“I am pleased to announce the appointment of Martin Sullivan to the Bank of Canada’s Board of Directors. Mr. Sullivan is a highly respected business executive in the fisheries industry. With his extensive expertise in business and financial management, he will bring varied and valuable experience to this important institution.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Additional Link

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Biographical Notes

Martin Sullivan

Mr. Sullivan is the co-founder, President and CEO of Ocean Choice International, which has become one of the largest and most diversified seafood companies in Atlantic Canada, employing more than 1,600 people. It has received various prestigious awards and certifications, including the Newfoundland Export Award for International Marketing, the Canada Export Award, and the Newfoundland and Labrador Export & Innovation Award.

Mr. Sullivan has participated in numerous organizations and associations, including as Chair of the Fisheries Council of Canada (2011–2012) and as Advisor to the Government of Canada’s Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization. He was also Founding Director of the NL Association of Seafood Producers.

Mr. Sullivan has also participated as a speaker and presenter at a variety of industry events including the Chief Negotiator for the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement and the Bank of Canada’s Board of Directors.

Mr. Sullivan is from Calvert, Newfoundland and Labrador. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) degree and a Master of Business Administration degree from Memorial University of Newfoundland.

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce une nomination au conseil d'administration de la Banque du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Oliver félicite Martin Sullivan pour sa nomination

Le 19 décembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de M. Martin Sullivan au conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada. Cette nomination est assortie d’un mandat se terminant le 28 février 2017.

M. Sullivan est cofondateur, président et chef de la direction de la société Ocean Choice International, établie à St. John’s, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Il joue un rôle actif dans la promotion de la gestion et du développement durables du secteur des pêches.

Les faits en bref

  • Le rôle principal de la Banque du Canada consiste à favoriser la prospérité économique et financière du Canada. La banque centrale s’emploie à préserver la valeur de la monnaie en maintenant l’inflation à un niveau bas et stable.
  • La Banque est responsable de la politique monétaire et des billets de banque du Canada et s’acquitte également de responsabilités liées au système financier et à la gestion financière du pays.
  • Le conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada assure la surveillance de la gestion et de l’administration de cette banque centrale. Il examine les politiques générales de la Banque touchant les questions autres que la politique monétaire, renseigne la Banque sur la conjoncture économique des diverses régions que représentent les administrateurs et nomme les titulaires des postes de gouverneur et de premier sous-gouverneur.

Citation

« Je suis heureux d’annoncer la nomination de M. Martin Sullivan au conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada. M. Sullivan est un dirigeant d’entreprise que l’industrie des pêches respecte. Grâce à son vaste savoir-faire de la gestion commerciale et financière, il pourra faire profiter cette importante institution de son expérience riche et diversifiée. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000


Notice biographique

Martin Sullivan

M. Sullivan est cofondateur, président et chef de la direction d’Ocean Choice International, qui est devenue l’une des sociétés de fruits de mer les plus importantes et les plus diversifiées du Canada atlantique, où travaillent plus de 1 600 personnes. La société est récipiendaire de divers prix et attestations prestigieux, dont le prix d’exportation de Terre-Neuve pour le marketing international, le Prix d’excellence à l’exportation canadienne et le prix d’exportation et d’innovation de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

M. Sullivan a siégé à de nombreux organismes et associations, entre autres comme président du Conseil canadien des pêches (2011-2012) et comme conseiller auprès de l’Organisation des pêches de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest du gouvernement du Canada. Il a également été directeur fondateur de l’Association of Seafood Producers de Terre-Neuve.

M. Sullivan a participé à titre de conférencier et présentateur à divers événements de l’industrie, et a notamment effectué des présentations devant le négociateur en chef de l’Accord économique et commercial global Canada-Union européenne et le conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada.

M. Sullivan est originaire de Calvert, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat spécialisé en commerce ainsi que d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve.

Restez branchés