Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointments to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister congratulates Rose Ritcey and Peter Burn on their appointments

December 15, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointments Ms. Rose Ritcey and Mr. Peter Burn as permanent members of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT).

Their appointments to the Tribunal are for five-year terms.

Ms. Ritcey was the Special Advisor to the Chairperson of the CITT.

Mr. Burn is Counsel in the Public Policy and Regulation Group for Dentons Canada LLP.

Quick Facts

  • The CITT provides Canadian and international businesses with access to fair, transparent and timely processes for the investigation of trade remedy cases and complaints concerning federal government procurement and for the adjudication of appeals on customs and excise matters. At the request of the Government, the CITT also provides advice on tariff, trade, commercial and economic matters.
  • The CITT may be composed of up to seven full-time members, including a Chairperson, who are appointed by the Governor in Council (the Cabinet).

Quote

"I am pleased to announce the appointments of Rose Ritcey and Peter Burn as permanent members of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal. Their collective experience in research, public policy and advising government on various trade issues makes them strong additions to the Tribunal."

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Associated Link

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Biographical Notes

Rose Ritcey

Ms. Rose Ritcey was the Special Advisor to the Chairperson of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT). In her role as Special Advisor, she contributed to the restructuring of the CITT and to the creation of a development program for trade remedy investigations staff.

Ms. Ritcey had an accomplished career in the public service, holding various roles within the CITT such as Director General and Research Manager, Research Branch. She has also worked at the Department of Finance in the International Trade and Finance Branch.

Ms. Ritcey holds a Bachelor of Commerce from Carleton University (1981) and a Master of Business Administration from Dalhousie University (1983).

Peter Burn

A member of the Ontario bar since 1981, Mr. Peter Burn has provided counsel on matters of international trade and investment to governments, firms, industry associations and multilateral organizations, most recently as a Counsel in the Ottawa office of Dentons Canada LLP. He also gained first-hand experience doing business in Latin American and Asian markets while serving as a senior executive with Bell Canada International.

Mr. Burn holds a B.A. from Huron University College (1974), an LL.B. from Osgoode Hall Law School of York University (1977) and an LL.M. in international business law from the University of Exeter, UK (1978).

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce des nominations au Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre félicite Rose Ritcey et Peter Burn pour leur nomination

Le 15 décembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de Mme Rose Ritcey et de M. Peter Burn à titre de membres permanents du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE).

On est nommé au Tribunal pour un mandat de cinq ans.

Mme Ritcey a été conseillère spéciale auprès du président du TCCE.

M. Burn est avocat-conseil au sein du groupe Politiques et réglementation gouvernementales au cabinet Dentons Canada S.E.N.C.R.L.

Les faits en bref

  • Le TCCE fournit aux entreprises canadiennes et internationales l’accès à des procédures d’enquête justes, transparentes et efficaces sur les causes liées aux recours commerciaux et les plaintes concernant les marchés publics fédéraux ainsi que sur les appels en matière de douanes et d’accise. À la demande du gouvernement, il fournit aussi des conseils sur des questions tarifaires, commerciales et économiques.
  • Le TCCE peut compter jusqu’à sept membres à temps plein, dont un président, qui sont nommés par le gouverneur en conseil (le Cabinet).

Citation

« J'ai le plaisir d'annoncer la nomination de Rose Ritcey et de Peter Burn à titre de membres permanents du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur. Leur expérience collective en matière de recherche, de politique publique et de prestation de conseils au gouvernement à propos d'un éventail de questions commerciales constituent un apport important pour le Tribunal. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Notices biographiques

Rose Ritcey

Mme Rose Ritcey a été conseillère spéciale auprès du président du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur. À ce titre, elle a contribué à la restructuration du Tribunal et à l’élaboration d’un programme de perfectionnement destiné au personnel chargé des enquêtes sur les recours commerciaux.

Mme Ritcey a mené une brillante carrière dans la fonction publique, assumant divers rôles au sein du Tribunal, dont ceux de directrice générale et de gestionnaire de la recherche de la Direction de la recherche. Elle a également travaillé au sein de la Direction des finances et des échanges internationaux du ministère des Finances.

Mme Ritcey est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université Carleton (1981) et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université Dalhousie (1983).

Peter Burn

Membre du Barreau de l’Ontario depuis 1981, M. Peter Burn a prodigué des conseils sur des questions liées au commerce international et à l’investissement à des gouvernements, à des entreprises, à des associations professionnelles et à des organisations multilatérales, plus récemment à titre d’avocat-conseil au bureau d’Ottawa de Dentons Canada S.E.N.C.R.L. Il a aussi acquis une expérience concrète du milieu des affaires sur les marchés de l’Amérique latine et de l’Asie alors qu’il occupait un poste de cadre supérieur à Bell Canada International.

M. Burn est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts du Collège universitaire Huron (1974), d’un baccalauréat en droit de l’Osgoode Hall Law School de l’Université York (1977) et d’une maîtrise en droit international des affaires de l’Université Exeter, au Royaume–Uni (1978).

Restez branchés