Archived - Harper Government Providing Unprecedented Support to Provinces and Territories for Health Care, Education Canadians Rely On

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Total federal transfers at record high and will keep growing at a sustainable and affordable rate

December 15, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver has presented his provincial and territorial counterparts with details on 2015–16 transfer amounts. Every province and territory will benefit from higher transfers next year. Major federal transfers to provinces and territories will total $67.9 billion in 2015–16, an increase of more than $3 billion from the current year, and almost 63% since 2005–06.

Quick Facts

  • There are four main annual federal transfer programs: the Canada Health Transfer (CHT), the Canada Social Transfer (CST), Equalization and Territorial Formula Financing (TFF).
    • The CHT is the largest major annual transfer to provinces and territories. It provides long-term, predictable funding for health care.
    • The CST is an annual federal transfer to the provinces and territories in support of post-secondary education, social assistance and social services, and early childhood development, early learning and child care.
    • Equalization is the Government of Canada’s transfer program for addressing fiscal disparities among provinces. Equalization payments are provided on an unconditional basis to enable less prosperous provincial governments to provide their residents with public services that are reasonably comparable to those in other provinces, at reasonably comparable levels of taxation.
    • TFF is an annual unconditional transfer from the Government of Canada to the three territorial governments to enable them to provide their residents with a range of public services comparable to those offered by provincial governments, at comparable levels of taxation.

Quote

“Through these transfers, our federal government is empowering the provinces and territories to provide the high-quality public services Canadians rely on, including health care, education and social assistance. I know how important these services are and I am proud that our government has raised transfers to historic heights—even as we balance the budget and lower taxes for hard-working Canadian families.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected


Major transfer support to provinces and territories has increased from $25.348 billion in 1990-91 to $67.888 billion in 2015-16.

Transfer Payments to Provinces and Territories for 2015–16
($ millions)
  2014–152 2015–16
Newfoundland and Labrador 676 692
Prince Edward Island 544 554
Nova Scotia 2,806 2,928
New Brunswick 2,615 2,660
Quebec 19,614 20,363
Ontario 19,187 20,440
Manitoba 3,361 3,436
Saskatchewan 1,414 1,493
Alberta 5,176 5,477
British Columbia 5,824 6,129
Nunavut 1,456 1,503
Northwest Territories 1,264 1,290
Yukon 897 923
 
Total1 64,834 67,888
1 Totals may not add due to rounding.
2 Figures for 2014–15 include CHT protection payments to Newfoundland and Labrador and Nunavut.

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper fournit un soutien sans précédent aux provinces et aux territoires pour la prestation des soins de santé et des services d’éducation sur lesquels les Canadiens comptent

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Les transferts fédéraux totalisent un montant record et leur croissance se poursuivra à un rythme viable et abordable

Le 15 décembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a présenté à ses homologues provinciaux et territoriaux des précisions sur les montants des transferts en 2015-2016. Chaque province et territoire bénéficiera de transferts plus élevés cette année. Les principaux transferts aux provinces et aux territoires s’élèveront ainsi à 67,9 milliards de dollars en 2015-2016, en hausse de plus de 3 milliards par rapport à l’exercice en cours et de près de 63 % depuis 2005-2006.

Les faits en bref

  • Il existe quatre principaux programmes de transferts annuels : le Transfert canadien en matière de santé (TCS), le Transfert canadien en matière de programmes sociaux (TCPS), la péréquation et la formule de financement des territoires (FFT).
    • Le TCS est le plus élevé des principaux transferts annuels aux provinces et aux territoires. Il fournit un financement prévisible à long terme pour les soins de santé.
    • Le TCPS est un transfert fédéral annuel aux provinces et aux territoires à l’appui de l’enseignement postsecondaire, de l’aide sociale et des services sociaux, ainsi que du développement de la petite enfance et des services d’apprentissage et de garde des jeunes enfants.
    • Le Programme de péréquation est un programme de transfert du gouvernement du Canada qui vise à contrer les disparités financières entre les provinces. Les paiements de péréquation, qui ne sont assujettis à aucune condition, permettent aux gouvernements des provinces moins nanties d’offrir à leurs résidents des services publics raisonnablement comparables à ceux des autres provinces, moyennant un niveau d’imposition raisonnablement comparable.
    • La FFT est un transfert annuel inconditionnel du gouvernement du Canada qui permet aux administrations des trois territoires d’offrir à leurs résidents des services publics comparables à ceux offerts par les provinces, moyennant des niveaux d’imposition comparables.

Citation

« Grâce à ces transferts, le gouvernement fédéral donne aux provinces et aux territoires la capacité de fournir des services publics de grande qualité sur lesquels les Canadiennes et les Canadiens comptent, y compris les soins de santé, l’éducation et l’aide sociale. Je suis conscient de l’importance de ces services et je suis fier que le gouvernement ait haussé les transferts à des niveaux sans précédent, et cela, même si nous équilibrons le budget et abaissons les impôts pour les familles canadiennes qui travaillent fort. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés


Les principaux transferts aux provinces et aux territoires sont passés de 25,348 milliards à 67,888 milliards de dollars entre 1990-91 et 2015-16.

Transfert aux provinces et aux territoires pour 2015-2016
(M$)
  2014-20152 2015-2016
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 676 692
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 544 554
Nouvelle-Écosse 2 806 2 928
Nouveau-Brunswick 2 615 2 660
Québec 19 614 20 363
Ontario 19 187 20 440
Manitoba 3 361 3 436
Saskatchewan 1 414 1 493
Alberta 5 176 5 477
Colombie-Britannique 5 824 6 129
Nunavut 1 456 1 503
Territoires du Nord-Ouest 1 264 1 290
Yukon 897 923
 
Total1 64 834 67 888
1 Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre au total indiqué.
2 Les montants indiqués pour 2014-2015 incluent des paiements de protection au titre du TCS pour Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et le Nunavut.