Archived - Minister of Finance Tables Debt Management Report for 2013–14

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

December 9, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today tabled in Parliament the 2013–14 Debt Management Report.

Debt management over the past fiscal year has been characterized by strong demand for Government of Canada debt securities and the Government’s continued commitment, with long-term interest rates remaining near historic lows, to reallocating short-term issuance toward long-term bonds.  

The full Debt Management Report can be viewed on the Department of Finance website.

Quick Facts

  • Five credit rating agencies—Moody’s Investors Service, Fitch Ratings, Standard & Poor’s, Japan Credit Rating Agency and DBRS—have reaffirmed their top ratings for Canada, and it is expected Canada will maintain its AAA rating in the year ahead.
  • The Government issued a total of $3.5 billion in 50-year bonds this fiscal year. Canada received exceptionally strong demand from both domestic and international investors for all three issuances of the ultra-long bonds. Locking in additional low-cost funding for 50 years benefits Canadian taxpayers and reduces the Government’s refinancing risk, which is consistent with the key objectives of the medium-term debt strategy.
  • In February the Government issued a US$3 billion global bond, which was also met with very strong demand. It also successfully launched a medium-term note pilot program, which provides the Government with more flexibility to raise foreign currency.

Quote

“Maintaining a liquid, well-functioning government securities market will continue to be an important objective of the Government’s debt management strategy. As indicated in this year’s Debt Management Report, our Government will continue to prioritize prudent fiscal management while remaining on track to balance the budget in 2015.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Additional Link

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5659

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances dépose le Rapport sur la gestion de la dette de 2013-2014

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 9 décembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a déposé aujourd’hui au Parlement le Rapport sur la gestion de la dette pour l’exercice 2013-2014.

Au cours du dernier exercice, la gestion de la dette s’est caractérisée par une forte demande de titres d’emprunt du gouvernement du Canada ainsi que par le maintien de l’engagement de ce dernier à diminuer l’émission d’obligations à court terme en faveur d’obligations à long terme, compte tenu du niveau des taux d’intérêt à long terme avoisinant les planchers historiques. 

On peut consulter le rapport intégral sur la gestion de la dette sur le site Web du ministère des Finances. 

Les faits en bref

  • Cinq agences de notation – Moody’s Investors Service, Fitch Ratings, Standard and Poor’s, Japan Credit Rating Agency et Dominion Bond Rating Service – ont maintenu leurs cotes de crédit supérieures attribuées au Canada, qui devrait conserver sa cote AAA l’année prochaine.
  • Au cours de l’exercice, le gouvernement a émis pour 3,5 milliards de dollars d’obligations à 50 ans. Les trois émissions d’obligations à très long terme du Canada ont fait l’objet d’une demande exceptionnellement élevée d’investisseurs nationaux et étrangers. L’obtention d’un financement additionnel à faible coût pour une durée de 50 ans est avantageuse pour les contribuables canadiens et réduit le risque de refinancement pour le gouvernement, ce qui est conforme aux principaux objectifs de la stratégie de gestion de la dette à moyen terme.
  • En février, le gouvernement a effectué une émission d’obligations multimarchés de 3 milliards de dollars américains qui a également fait l’objet d’une très forte demande. Il a aussi lancé avec succès un projet pilote d’émission de billets à moyen terme qui lui confère une souplesse accrue dans l’obtention de devises.

Citation

« Le maintien du bon fonctionnement d’un marché liquide des titres du gouvernement demeurera un important objectif de la stratégie de gestion de la dette du gouvernement. Comme l’indique le Rapport sur la gestion de la dette de cette année, notre gouvernement continuera de mettre l’accent sur la saine gestion budgétaire tout en demeurant sur la voie pour équilibrer le budget en 2015. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5659

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés