Archived - Minister Oliver Announces New Bank Note to Commemorate Canada's 150th Anniversary

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

New bank note to begin circulating in 2017

December 5, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced that the Bank of Canada will issue a commemorative bank note to mark Canada’s 150th anniversary. The special bank note will begin circulating by July 1, 2017.

The Bank of Canada will be leading the design process for the commemorative note and will undertake public consultations over the coming months. Details on the denomination, the number of notes that will circulate and the means to obtain the note will be made public closer to the issue date.

This commemorative note will be one of many celebrations and commemorations that the Government is planning for the 150th anniversary of Confederation.

Quick Facts

  • The commemorative bank note will be legal tender and will be accepted as a means of payment.
  • The Bank of Canada has issued two commemorative bank notes in its history: a special $1 note to celebrate Canada’s 100th anniversary in 1967, and a commemorative $25 note in honour of the Silver Jubilee of King George V in 1935. 
  • At the end of October 2014, there were over 1.7 billion bank notes in circulation, worth about $66 billion.
  • On the road to 2017, Canada’s 150th anniversary, we will celebrate milestones that have defined our country and made us who we are today. In 2015, significant milestones include the bicentennial of the birth of Canada’s first Prime Minister, Sir John A. Macdonald, and the 50th anniversary of the National Flag of Canada.

Quotes

“I am thrilled that the Bank of Canada has begun work on a bank note to commemorate the anniversary of Confederation. Canada’s current bank notes are not only innovative and secure, but are also important cultural touchstones that reflect and celebrate the Canadian experience. I am sure this new commemorative note will capture what makes us all proud Canadians.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

“Our Government is currently developing plans for celebrations of the 150th anniversary of Confederation. This occasion will be an opportunity to strengthen the ties that unite us and to work towards our country’s future. On the road to 2017, let us continue to celebrate everything that has helped make Canada a country that is strong, proud and free.”

- Shelly Glover, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages

“We want to commemorate Canada’s 150th anniversary with a beautiful bank note that captures what our country is about. We hope that Canadians from across the country will contribute their ideas and help us make this bank note a part of our shared heritage.”

- Stephen S. Poloz, Governor, Bank of Canada

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Marisa Monnin
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages
819-997-7788

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Media Relations
Bank of Canada
613-782-8782

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver annonce la conception d’un nouveau billet de banque pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le nouveau billet de banque sera mis en circulation en 2017

Le 5 décembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui que la Banque du Canada émettra un billet de banque commémoratif pour souligner le 150e anniversaire du Canada. Ce billet de banque spécial sera mis en circulation d’ici le 1er juillet 2017.

La Banque du Canada dirigera le processus de conception du billet de banque commémoratif et mènera des consultations publiques au cours des prochains mois. Les détails concernant la valeur de la coupure choisie, le nombre de billets de banque qui seront mis en circulation et la façon dont on peut obtenir ce billet de banque seront rendus publics quelque temps avant la date d’émission.

L’émission de ce billet de banque commémoratif constituera l’une des nombreuses célébrations et commémorations que le gouvernement prévoit pour souligner le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération.

Les faits en bref

  • Le billet de banque commémoratif aura cours légal et sera accepté comme moyen de paiement.
  • La Banque du Canada a émis deux billets de banque commémoratifs dans son histoire : un billet spécial de 1 $ pour célébrer le 100e anniversaire du Canada en 1967 et un billet de banque commémoratif de 25 $ pour souligner le 25e anniversaire du couronnement du roi George V en 1935. 
  • À la fin du mois d’octobre 2014, le nombre de billets de banque en circulation s’élevait à plus de 1,7 milliard, et leur valeur totalisait environ 66 milliards de dollars.
  • À l’approche de 2017, l’année du 150e anniversaire du Canada, nous célébrerons les étapes importantes qui ont marqué l’évolution du Canada et qui ont fait de nous ce que nous sommes aujourd’hui. Des événements importants seront soulignés en 2015, notamment le bicentenaire de la naissance du premier premier ministre du Canada, Sir John A. Macdonald, et le 50e anniversaire du drapeau national du Canada.

Citations

« Je suis ravi que la Banque du Canada ait commencé à travailler sur la conception d’un billet de banque en vue de célébrer l’anniversaire de la Confédération. Non seulement les billets de banque actuels du Canada sont novateurs et sûrs, ils représentent aussi une référence culturelle importante qui met en valeur et célèbre l’expérience canadienne. Je suis convaincu que ce nouveau billet de banque commémoratif illustrera la fierté que nous ressentons tous en tant que Canadiennes et Canadiens. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

« Notre gouvernement élabore actuellement des plans en vue des célébrations du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération. Cet anniversaire constituera l’occasion de renforcer les liens qui nous unissent et de contribuer à l’avenir de notre pays. À l’approche de 2017, continuons à célébrer tout ce qui a permis de faire du Canada un pays fort, fier et libre. »

- Shelly Glover, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles

« Nous voulons souligner le 150e anniversaire du Canada avec la mise en circulation d’un billet de banque attrayant qui représentera la nature de notre pays. Nous espérons que les Canadiens de partout au pays nous feront part de leurs idées et contribueront à faire en sorte que ce billet de banque soit intégré à notre patrimoine commun. »

- Stephen S. Poloz, gouverneur de la Banque du Canada

Liens connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Marisa Monnin
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles
819-997-7788

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Relations avec les médias
Banque du Canada
613-782-8782

Restez branchés