Archived - Release of The Fiscal Monitor

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Department of Finance reports a budgetary surplus of $0.4 billion in September 2014; the Government remains on track to balance the budget in 2015

November 28, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today released The Fiscal Monitor for September 2014.

There was a budgetary surplus of $0.4 billion in September 2014, compared with a deficit of $3.8 billion in September 2013. 

Revenues increased by $1.1 billion, or 5.4 per cent, primarily reflecting increased personal and corporate income tax revenues. Program expenses decreased by $2.9 billion, or 12.8 per cent, due largely to a decrease in direct program expenses, reflecting the recording in September 2013 of a liability for disaster assistance related to the 2013 flood in Alberta. Public debt charges decreased by $0.1 billion, or 5.4 per cent.  

Quick Facts

  • For the April to September 2014 period of the 2014–15 fiscal year, the Government posted a budgetary deficit of $0.7 billion, compared with a deficit of $10.3 billion reported in the same period of 2013–14.
  • These results are in line with this month’s Update of Economic and Fiscal Projections, and show that the Government’s low-tax plan to support jobs and growth and its track record of sound fiscal management put it on track to return to balanced budgets in 2015.
  • Revenues were up $5.5 billion, or 4.4 per cent, reflecting increased personal and corporate income tax revenues.   
  • Program expenses were down $3.8 billion, or 3.2 per cent, reflecting a decrease in direct program expenses, offset in part by increases in major transfers to persons and other levels of government. 
  • Public debt charges were down $0.3 billion, or 1.8 per cent.

Related Products

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Publication de La revue financière

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministère des Finances annonce un excédent budgétaire de 0,4 milliard de dollars pour le mois de septembre 2014. Le gouvernement demeure sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015.

Le 28 novembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la publication de La revue financière pour le mois de septembre 2014.

Le mois de septembre 2014 s’est soldé par un excédent budgétaire de 0,4 milliard de dollars, comparativement à un déficit de 3,8 milliards en septembre 2013.

Les revenus ont augmenté de 1,1 milliard de dollars (5,4 %), sous l’effet principalement de la hausse des rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers et des rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés. Les charges de programmes ont diminué de 2,9 milliards (12,8 %), en raison surtout de la baisse des charges de programmes directes, sous l’effet de la comptabilisation en septembre 2013 d’un passif relatif à l’aide aux sinistrés par suite des inondations survenues en 2013 en Alberta. Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 0,1 milliard (5,4 %).  

Les faits en bref

  • Pour la période d’avril à septembre 2014 de l’exercice 2014-2015, le gouvernement a affiché un déficit budgétaire de 0,7 milliard de dollars, comparativement à un déficit de 10,3 milliards pour la même période de l’exercice 2013-2014.
  • Ces résultats sont conformes dans l’ensemble aux projections figurant dans la Mise à jour des projections économiques et budgétaires publiée plus tôt en novembre, et ils montrent que grâce à son plan axé sur des impôts bas pour stimuler l’emploi et la croissance et à son bilan de saine gestion des finances publiques, le gouvernement est sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015.
  • Les revenus ont connu une hausse de 5,5 milliards de dollars (4,4 %), sous l’effet de la hausse des rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers et des rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés.  
  • Les charges de programmes ont diminué de 3,8 milliards de dollars (3,2 %), en raison de la baisse des charges de programmes directes, laquelle a été partiellement compensée par la hausse des principaux transferts aux particuliers et aux autres administrations. 
  • Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 0,3 milliard de dollars (1,8 %).

Produits connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés