Archived - PM Announces new infrastructure investments across Canada

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

November 24, 2014 – London, Ontario

Introduction

Building on the Government's historic infrastructure investments, including under the New Building Canada Plan, Prime Minister Stephen Harper today announced new investments that will continue to build and renew infrastructure and on-reserve schools across the country. He was joined by Ed Holder, Minister of State (Science and Technology), Susan Truppe, Parliamentary Secretary for Status of Women and Member of Parliament for London North Centre, and Joe Preston, Member of Parliament for Elgin-Middlesex-London. While in London, Ontario, the Prime Minister also toured the National Research Council's Factory of the Future Initiative facility, which will receive support through today's announcement.

Today's announcement is part of the Government's unprecedented and historical investment in public infrastructure to ensure Canada's future economic growth for years to come. The ability to invest this substantial amount in targeted infrastructure is a direct result of the Government's responsible actions to return to fiscal balance.

The Government will invest in infrastructure across the country in areas such as heritage, First Nations education, defence, borders, research facilities, harbours, transportation, and search and rescue to create jobs from coast to coast to coast.

Quick Facts

  • Canada's prosperity and quality of life depend on a vast network of public infrastructure – from roads and highways, to bridges, transit systems, water and wastewater infrastructure, ports, airports and recreational and cultural facilities. Investments in Canada's public infrastructure improve productivity and quality of life, and create jobs, growth, and long-term prosperity from coast to coast to coast. 
  • Today's announcement builds on our Government's unprecedented investments in infrastructure. In 2007, we announced the Building Canada Plan to provide support in stable, flexible and predictable funding for infrastructure across the country. Economic Action Plan 2013 builds on our Government's historic infrastructure investments, with significant funding for public infrastructure over the next decade, including for the New Building Canada Plan for provincial, territorial and municipal infrastructure. The New Building Canada Plan is the largest and longest federal infrastructure investment in our nation's history. It continues to focus on supporting projects that enhance economic growth, job creation and productivity. 
  • The Government is also bringing forward major public-private partnership projects: a new Bridge for the St. Lawrence in Montreal to replace the Champlain Bridge and the Detroit River International Crossing between Windsor, Ontario and Detroit, Michigan.

Quotes

"Our Government's unprecedented investments in infrastructure, the most significant in our country's history, have already yielded significant results for hard working Canadians and their families, ensuring the resilience of our economy and creating jobs. The new infrastructure support being announced today builds on the foundation necessary to promote future growth and prosperity in our great country, generating increased job opportunities, health and environmental benefits, and reduced commuting times. The investment will also help ensure that our cultural and natural heritage are preserved, promoted and enhanced." – Prime Minister Stephen Harper

"We have the resources necessary to make this crucial investment in Canada's future economic prosperity because of the bold measures our Government has taken to return to balanced budgets." – Prime Minister Stephen Harper

Related Product

Associated Links

Archivé - Le PM annonce de nouveaux investissements dans l'infrastructure partout au Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 24 novembre 2014 - London (Ontario)

Introduction

Dans le prolongement des investissements sans précédent du gouvernement dans l'infrastructure, notamment dans le cadre du Nouveau Plan Chantiers Canada, le Premier ministre Stephen Harper a annoncé aujourd'hui de nouveaux investissements qui permettront de continuer à bâtir et à renouveler l'infrastructure et les écoles situées dans des réserves, à l'échelle du Canada. Il était accompagné d'Ed Holder, ministre d'État (Sciences et Technologie), de Susan Truppe, secrétaire parlementaire pour la Condition féminine et députée de London-Centre-Nord, et de Joe Preston, député d'Elgin-Middlesex-London. De passage à London, en Ontario, le Premier ministre a aussi visité l'Usine du futur établie par le Conseil national de recherches du Canada, qui recevra un soutien grâce à l'annonce faite aujourd'hui.

L'annonce d'aujourd'hui s'inscrit dans le cadre de l'investissement historique et sans précédent de notre gouvernement dans l'infrastructure publique afin d'assurer la croissance économique future du Canada pendant de nombreuses années. La capacité d'investir ce montant substantiel dans des infrastructures ciblées et créatrices d'emplois découle directement des gestes responsables du gouvernement pour rétablir l'équilibre budgétaire.

Le gouvernement investira dans l'infrastructure partout au Canada, dans des domaines comme le patrimoine, l'éducation des Premières Nations, la défense, les frontières, les installations de recherche, les ports, les transports et la recherche et sauvetage, pour créer des emplois aux quatre coins du Canada.

Faits saillants

  • La prospérité et la qualité de vie au Canada dépendent d'un vaste réseau d'infrastructure publique – qu'il s'agisse de routes et d'autoroutes, de ponts, de réseaux de transport en commun, de réseaux d'aqueduc ou d'égout, de ports, d'aéroports et d'installations récréatives ou culturelles. Les investissements dans l'infrastructure publique du Canada améliorent la productivité et la qualité de vie, ils créent des emplois, stimulent la croissance et assurent la prospérité à long terme, à l'échelle du pays. 
  • L'annonce d'aujourd'hui s'inscrit dans le prolongement des investissements sans précédent de notre gouvernement dans l'infrastructure. En 2007, nous avons annoncé le Plan Chantiers Canada pour offrir un soutien stable, souple et prévisible destiné à l'infrastructure partout au pays. Le Plan d'action économique 2013 prolonge les investissements historiques qu'a faits notre gouvernement dans  l'infrastructure, avec un financement important destiné à l'infrastructure publique au cours de la prochaine décennie, notamment affecté au Nouveau Plan Chantiers Canada, qui est destiné aux infrastructures provinciales, territoriales et municipales. Le Nouveau Plan Chantiers Canada est le plus vaste et le plus long investissement fédéral dans l'infrastructure de l'histoire de notre pays. Il continue à viser des projets qui rehaussent la croissance économique, la création d'emplois et la productivité. 
  • Le gouvernement met également de l'avant d'importants projets de partenariats public-privé : un nouveau pont sur le Saint-Laurent à Montréal afin de remplacer le pont Champlain et le passage international de la rivière Détroit entre les villes de Windsor, en Ontario, et de Détroit, au Michigan.

Citations

« Les investissements sans précédent de notre gouvernement dans l'infrastructure, les plus importants de l'histoire de notre pays, ont déjà donné des résultats importants pour les Canadiens qui travaillent fort et pour leurs familles, assurant ainsi la résilience de notre économie et la création d'emplois. Le nouveau soutien de l'infrastructure annoncé aujourd'hui permet de continuer à édifier les bases nécessaires pour favoriser la croissance et la prospérité futures de notre grand pays, en multipliant les possibilités d'emploi, en favorisant la santé et l'environnement et en réduisant le temps consacré aux déplacements quotidiens. Cet investissement nous permettra également d'assurer la préservation, la promotion et l'amélioration de notre patrimoine culturel et naturel. » – Le Premier ministre Stephen Harper

« Nous disposons des ressources nécessaires pour faire cet investissement crucial dans la future prospérité économique du Canada grâce aux mesures audacieuses que notre gouvernement a mises en place afin de rétablir l'équilibre budgétaire. » – Le Premier ministre Stephen Harper

Produit connexe

Liens connexes