Archived - Government of Canada Considering Issuing More Ultra-Long Bonds

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

November 19, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

The Government of Canada is considering issuing more ultra-long bonds, subject to favourable market conditions, through a reopening of the 2.75% Government of Canada bond maturing on December 1, 2064 using a syndicated process.

As first announced in the Debt Management Strategy for 2012–13, the issuance of bonds in the ultra-long sector contributes to a reduction in refinancing risk at a low cost, in line with the key objectives of the medium-term debt strategy, which are to reduce exposure to interest rate and rollover risks. 

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada envisage d’émettre d’autres obligations à très longue échéance

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 19 novembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le gouvernement du Canada envisage d’émettre par syndication d’autres obligations à très longue échéance, si les conditions du marché sont favorables, en rouvrant une émission d’obligations du gouvernement du Canada au taux de 2,75 % venant à échéance le 1er décembre 2064.

Comme cela a été annoncé initialement dans la Stratégie de gestion de la dette 2012-2013 , l’émission d’obligations à très longue échéance contribue à réduire le risque de refinancement d’une façon peu coûteuse, ce qui est conforme aux objectifs clés de la Stratégie de gestion de la dette à moyen terme, lesquels visent les risques liés aux taux d’intérêt et au refinancement.

Restez branchés