Archived - Canada and Spain Sign New Tax Protocol

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Agreement to prevent double taxation and international tax evasion

November 18, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the signing of a Protocol to amend the existing income tax convention between Canada and Spain. The Protocol was signed in Madrid by Canada’s Ambassador to Spain, Jon Allen, and Spain’s Minister of Finance and Public Administration, Cristóbal Montoro.

The Protocol will help eliminate tax barriers to trade and investment, and will enhance economic links between Canada and Spain. It will also create new trade and investment opportunities. 

Quick Facts

  • The Canada-Spain Income Tax Convention was signed on November 23, 1976.
  • The opening round of negotiations for a revised tax treaty between Canada and Spain was held in April 2007 in Madrid. A second round of negotiations was held in October 2008 in Ottawa. Subsequent negotiations have resulted in the new Protocol being announced today.
  • The Protocol reduces withholding tax rates applicable on payments of dividends and interest and exempts from withholding tax certain payments of interest, and dividends paid to certain pension plans.
  • The Protocol also provides for assistance in the collection of taxes and includes provisions reflecting the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development standard for the exchange of tax information.
  • Canada and Spain will notify each other of the completion of their respective procedures, which are necessary for the entry into force of the Protocol.
  • The Protocol will enter into force after a period of three months following the date of receipt of the later of the notifications, and its provisions will have effect in accordance with Article 16 of the Protocol.
  • Canada has 92 tax treaties and 21 Tax Information Exchange Agreements in force, and has signed or is negotiating many more.

Quotes

“Bilateral tax agreements are fundamental to eliminating tax barriers to trade and investment. They provide greater certainty to taxpayers regarding their potential liability to tax in the other country; they allocate taxing rights between the two countries so that taxpayers are not subject to double taxation; they reduce the risk of burdensome taxation that may arise because of high withholding taxes; and they ensure that taxpayers will not be subject to discriminatory taxation in the foreign jurisdiction. By advancing these goals, today’s agreement will help keep Canada well positioned as a destination of choice to work, do business and invest.”

- Joe Oliver, Canada’s Minister of Finance

“The Protocol improves the provisions of the Canada-Spain Income Tax Convention and adapts them to reflect the current economic relationship between our two countries. It also updates the provisions of the Convention to reflect changes that were made to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s Model Tax Convention. Furthermore, the Protocol will promote both Canadian investment in Spain and Spanish investment in Canada. The taxation of dividend and interest payments is reduced and certain tax exemptions are provided. This will help stimulate trade and investment between our two countries and provide new business opportunities.”

- Cristóbal Montoro, Spain’s Minister of Finance and Public Administration

Related Product

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le Canada et l’Espagne signent un nouveau protocole modifiant leur convention fiscale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Accord visant à prévenir la double imposition et l’évasion fiscale internationale

Le 18 novembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la signature d’un protocole modifiant la convention en vigueur entre le Canada et l’Espagne en matière d’impôts sur le revenu. Le protocole a été signé à Madrid par l’ambassadeur du Canada en Espagne, Jon Allen, et le ministre des Finances et des Administrations publiques de l’Espagne, Cristóbal Montoro.

Le protocole aidera à éliminer les obstacles fiscaux au commerce et à l’investissement, de même qu’à resserrer les liens économiques entre le Canada et l’Espagne. Il permettra aussi de créer de nouvelles occasions d’affaires et d’investissement.   

Les faits en bref

  • La convention fiscale entre le Canada et l’Espagne en matière d’impôts sur le revenu a été signée le 23 novembre 1976.
  • La ronde de négociations initiale en vue de la révision de cette convention fiscale a débuté à Madrid en avril 2007. Une deuxième ronde de négociations a été tenue à Ottawa en octobre 2008 et les négociations suivantes ont permis d’en arriver à la conclusion du protocole annoncé aujourd’hui.
  • Le protocole a pour effet de réduire les taux de retenues d’impôt s’appliquant aux versements de dividendes et d’intérêts, ainsi que d’exonérer des retenues d’impôt certains versements d’intérêts de même que les dividendes versés à certains régimes de pension.
  • Le protocole prévoit également des mesures d’aide au recouvrement des impôts ainsi que des dispositions qui tiennent compte de la norme internationale élaborée par l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) en matière d’échange de renseignements fiscaux.
  • Chacun des deux pays informera l’autre partie de l’achèvement des procédures nationales respectives nécessaires à l’entrée en vigueur du protocole.
  • Le protocole entrera en vigueur trois mois après la date de réception de la dernière de ces notifications, et ses dispositions s’appliqueront conformément à son article 16.
  • Le Canada a conclu 92 conventions fiscales et 21 accords d’échange de renseignements fiscaux qui sont actuellement en vigueur, et plusieurs autres accords du genre ont été conclus ou sont en cours de négociation.

Citations

« Les conventions fiscales bilatérales sont essentielles à l’élimination des obstacles fiscaux au commerce et à l’investissement. Elles offrent une plus grande certitude aux contribuables quant à leurs obligations fiscales éventuelles dans l’autre pays; elles répartissent les droits d’imposition entre les deux pays de façon à ce que les contribuables ne soient pas assujettis à une double imposition; elles réduisent le risque d’être assujetti à une imposition excessive pouvant survenir en raison de retenues d’impôt élevées; et elles garantissent que les contribuables ne seront pas assujettis à des politiques fiscales discriminatoires dans le pays étranger. L’accord signé aujourd’hui permet au Canada de progresser dans l’atteinte de ces objectifs et de conserver une position de pays de choix où travailler, faire des affaires et investir. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances du Canada

« Le protocole améliore les dispositions de la Convention signée par le Canada et l’Espagne en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et les adapte en fonction de la relation économique actuelle entre nos deux pays. Le protocole actualise aussi les dispositions de la Convention de manière à tenir compte des changements apportés au modèle de convention fiscale de l’OCDE. De plus, le protocole favorisera l’investissement canadien en Espagne et l’investissement espagnol au Canada. L’imposition des versements de dividendes et d’intérêts a été réduite et certaines exemptions fiscales sont prévues. Cela aidera à stimuler les flux commerciaux et d’investissement entre nos deux pays et offrira de nouvelles occasions d’affaires. »

- Cristóbal Montoro, ministre des Finances et des Administrations publiques de l’Espagne

Produit connexe

Liens connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés