Archived - The Government of Canada Announces Qualification of Brazilian and Korean Designated Exchanges

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Addition of Brazilian and Korean exchanges provides more investment choice for Canadians

November 18, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver announced today that Brazil and Korea’s stock exchanges have qualified as designated stock exchanges in Canada.

Canadian investors are increasingly looking to foreign securities listed on foreign stock exchanges for return enhancement and portfolio diversification, as part of their savings objectives. The addition, effective October 31, 2014, of Brazil’s BM&F Bovespa Stock Exchange and Korea’s Korea Exchange (KOSPI and KOSDAQ) provides Canadians with more investment options for their Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs) and Tax-Free Savings Accounts (TFSAs).

A complete list of designated stock exchanges is available on the Department of Finance’s website.

Quick Facts

  • The current process is a three-tiered system that includes designated stock exchanges, recognized stock exchanges and stock exchanges. Designation status is particularly important for RRSP investors, as securities listed on designated exchanges are eligible to be held in RRSPs. They are also eligible investments for TFSAs and other registered plans.
  • The Minister of Finance’s role is to ensure that these eligible investments, given their preferential tax treatment, trade on well-governed, regulated and transparent markets. Designated stock exchanges must therefore be explicitly designated, by public notice, by the Minister of Finance.
  • There are currently 44 designated stock exchanges.
  • In Budget 2007, the Government committed to formalizing the process that exchanges were required to follow in applying for designation status and the principles-based criteria the Government uses in evaluating these requests.
  • The streamlined designation process was implemented in 2008. It expedited the review of applications from exchanges and provided more transparency around the factors used to evaluate such applications.

Quote

“I am pleased to announce the addition of Brazilian and Korean stock exchanges to the list of designated stock exchanges in Canada. Canadians should have access to a broad range of investment options that best suit their needs, particularly when it comes to important savings vehicles like RRSPs and TFSAs. Canadians can be confident that these securities, to which they now have access, are traded on well-governed, regulated and transparent markets.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada annonce la désignation de bourses du Brésil et de la Corée

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

La reconnaissance de bourses de valeurs du Brésil et de la Corée donne plus d’options aux investisseurs canadiens

Le 18 novembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui que les bourses du Brésil et de la Corée avaient été reconnues comme bourses de valeurs désignées au Canada.

Les investisseurs canadiens portent de plus en plus d’attention aux titres étrangers transigés à des bourses étrangères afin d’accroître le rendement de leurs investissements et de diversifier leur portefeuille en vue d’atteindre leurs objectifs d’épargne. L’ajout des bourses BM&F Bovespa du Brésil et Korea Exchange (KOSPI et KOSDAQ) de la Corée, le 31 octobre 2014, à la liste des bourses de valeurs désignées élargit l’éventail des placements admissibles que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens peuvent détenir dans un régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite (REER) ou dans un compte d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI).

La liste complète des bourses de valeurs désignées est affichée sur le site Web du ministère des Finances.

Les faits en bref

  • Le système actuel de bourses de valeurs compte trois types d’établissements, à savoir les bourses de valeurs désignées, les bourses de valeurs reconnues et les bourses de valeurs. Le statut de bourse de valeurs désignée est particulièrement important dans le cas des investissements dans des REER, où les actions inscrites à ces bourses de valeurs sont des placements admissibles. Ces actions sont aussi des placements admissibles aux CELI et à d’autres régimes enregistrés.
  • Il incombe au ministre des Finances de veiller à ce que les placements bénéficiant d’un traitement fiscal préférentiel soient négociés sur des marchés transparents, bien gouvernés et bien réglementés. Les bourses de valeurs désignées doivent donc faire l’objet d’une désignation explicite, au moyen d’un avis public donné par le ministre des Finances.
  • À l’heure actuelle, on compte 44 bourses de valeurs désignées.
  • Le budget de 2007 renfermait l’engagement d’officialiser le processus de demande de désignation que les bourses de valeurs doivent suivre ainsi que les critères fondés sur des principes que le gouvernement applique pour évaluer les demandes.
  • Le processus de désignation simplifié mis en œuvre en 2008 a accéléré l’examen des demandes soumises par les bourses de valeurs et accru la transparence concernant les critères utilisés au cours de l’évaluation de ces demandes.

Citation

« Je suis heureux d’annoncer l’ajout de bourses du Brésil et de la Corée à la liste des bourses de valeurs désignées au Canada. Les Canadiens devraient avoir accès à un vaste éventail d’options de placement qui conviennent le mieux à leurs besoins, en particulier dans le cadre d’importants mécanismes d’épargne comme les REER et les CELI. Les Canadiens auront l’assurance que les titres de ces bourses auxquelles ils auront désormais accès sont négociés sur des marchés transparents, bien gouvernés et bien réglementés. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés