Archived - Government of Canada Helps to Create Jobs and Growth With Investment in New Venture Capital Fund of Funds

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Government invests in third fund of funds to support a vibrant private sector-led venture capital sector in Canada

November 18, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the Government of Canada’s investment in Kensington Venture Fund, a private sector-led fund of funds, as the next step in the Government of Canada’s Venture Capital Action Plan (VCAP).

Kensington Venture Fund, the third fund of funds established under the VCAP, had its initial closing with $160 million in commitments—$107 million from institutional, corporate and individual investors, alongside $53 million from the Government of Canada.

Kensington Venture Fund will place an emphasis on investment opportunities in clean technology and energy technology as well as information and communications technologies, and will invest primarily in early-stage and mid-stage venture capital funds and directly in companies across Canada. 

Kensington Capital Partners has been selected by lead investors to act as the general partner for the Fund, following a fair and competitive selection process led by the Venture Capital Expert Panel. Investment decisions will be made by Kensington Capital Partners based on market-based principles in order to maximize returns.

The Government of Canada has agreed to make a capital commitment of $1 for every $2 committed by private sector investors to the new Fund, up to a maximum of $100 million. The Fund will seek additional investors to reach its target size and anticipates holding a second closing in 2015.

The initial partners in the Fund are:

  • BDC Capital Inc. (on behalf of the Government of Canada)
  • BMO Financial Group
  • CIBC
  • OpenText Corporation
  • Richardson GMP
  • Royal Bank of Canada
  • Scotiabank
  • TD Bank Group
  • Individual investors

Quick Facts

  • The Government of Canada’s investment in Kensington Venture Fund is the latest step in the VCAP, a $400-million strategy launched in January 2013 by Prime Minister Stephen Harper to help increase private sector investments in early-stage risk capital, and contribute to a vibrant private sector-led venture capital sector in Canada.
  • The VCAP includes a commitment to establish up to four private sector-led funds of funds with private sector investors and interested provinces.
  • The Business Development Bank of Canada is facilitating the implementation of the VCAP on behalf of the Government of Canada by providing independent expertise, undertaking due diligence, supporting negotiations with funds and other investors, and assisting in the deployment of VCAP investments.


“Canada needs a robust venture capital ecosystem that helps increase private sector investments in start-ups across Canada. We all want the next global leaders – and the jobs that will come with them – to be founded here in Canada. That is why the establishment of the Kensington Venture Fund is so important.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Additional Link

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada favorise la création d’emplois et la croissance en investissant dans un nouveau fonds de fonds de capital de risque

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le gouvernement investit dans un troisième fonds de fonds et contribue ainsi au dynamisme d’un secteur du capital de risque dirigé par le secteur privé au Canada

Le 18 novembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui un investissement du gouvernement du Canada dans le Kensington Venture Fund, un fonds de fonds dirigé par le secteur privé, qui constitue une nouvelle étape dans la réalisation du Plan d’action sur le capital de risque (PACR) du gouvernement du Canada.

Le Kensington Venture Fund, le troisième fonds de fonds mis sur pied dans le cadre du PACR, a mobilisé, à sa première clôture, des engagements de 160 millions de dollars, dont 107 millions provenaient d’institutions, de sociétés privées et d’investisseurs individuels et 53 millions du gouvernement du Canada.

Le fonds misera principalement sur des occasions d’investissement dans le secteur des technologies propres et des technologies énergétiques ainsi que dans les technologies de l’information et des communications. Il investira principalement dans des fonds de capital de risque qui mettent l’accent sur des entreprises au stade de démarrage ou à un stade intermédiaire de développement, et il effectuera des placements directs dans des entreprises de l’ensemble du Canada. 

La société Kensington Capital Partners a été choisie par les principaux investisseurs pour agir à titre de commandité du fonds, à la suite d’un processus de sélection équitable et concurrentiel mené par le Groupe d’experts sur le capital de risque. Kensington Capital Partners prendra les décisions d’investissement conformément aux principes du marché, afin de maximiser le rendement.

Le gouvernement du Canada a accepté de prendre un engagement de capital de 1 $ pour chaque somme de 2 $ engagée par des investisseurs du secteur privé dans le nouveau Fonds, sous réserve d’un apport maximal de 100 millions de dollars. Le fonds recherchera d’autres investisseurs afin d’atteindre sa taille cible et prévoit effectuer une seconde clôture en 2015.

Les commanditaires initiaux du Fonds sont :

  • BDC Capital Inc. (pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada)
  • BMO Groupe financier
  • Banque CIBC
  • Banque Royale du Canada
  • Banque Scotia
  • Groupe de la Banque TD
  • OpenText Corporation
  • Richardson GMP
  • des investisseurs individuels

Les faits en bref

  • L’investissement du gouvernement du Canada dans le Kensington Venture Fund représente la plus récente étape du PACR, une stratégie dotée de 400 millions de dollars que le premier ministre Stephen Harper a lancée en janvier 2013 pour favoriser la hausse des investissements en capital de risque du secteur privé dans des entreprises en démarrage et ainsi contribuer au dynamisme d’un secteur du capital de risque dirigé par le secteur privé au Canada.
  • Le PACR contient l’engagement d’établir jusqu’à quatre nouveaux fonds de fonds dirigés par le secteur privé, en partenariat avec des investisseurs du secteur privé et les provinces intéressées.
  • La Banque de développement du Canada facilite la mise en œuvre du PACR pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada en fournissant une expertise indépendante, en exerçant une diligence raisonnable, en appuyant les négociations avec les fonds et d’autres investisseurs et en facilitant le déploiement des investissements du PACR.

Citation

« Le Canada a besoin d’un écosystème de capital de risque solide qui favorisera des investissements accrus du secteur privé dans des entreprises au stade de démarrage partout au pays. Nous voulons tous que les entreprises qui seront les prochains chefs de file mondiaux, ainsi que les emplois qui en résulteront, prennent naissance ici même au Canada. C’est pourquoi la mise sur pied du fonds Kensington Venture Fund revêt autant d’importance. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés