Archived - Governments of Canada and Quebec Invest in New Venture Capital Fund of Funds to Create Jobs and Growth

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

New fund of funds will lead to investments in innovative companies across Canada

November 10, 2014 – Montréal, Quebec – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the Government of Canada’s investment in Teralys Capital Innovation Fund, a private sector-led fund of funds and a key element of the Government of Canada’s Venture Capital Action Plan (VCAP).

Minister Oliver was joined at the event by Quebec Finance Minister Carlos Leitão, as well as lead investors in the Fund.

The Fund, the second fund of funds established under the VCAP, had its initial closing with $279 million in commitments—$186 million from institutional and corporate investors, alongside $46.5 million from each of the Governments of Canada and Quebec.

Teralys Capital Innovation Fund has an emphasis on investment opportunities in the life sciences sector, and will invest primarily in Canada-focused early-stage and mid-stage venture capital funds, and directly in companies across Canada.

Teralys Capital has been selected by lead investors to act as the general partner for the Fund, following a fair and competitive selection process led by the Venture Capital Expert Panel. Investment decisions will be made by Teralys Capital on market-based principles in order to maximize returns.

The Governments of Canada and Quebec have agreed to make a combined capital commitment of $1 for every $2 committed by private sector investors to the new Fund, up to a maximum of $62.5 million each. The Fund will seek additional investors to reach its target size and anticipates holding a second closing in 2015.

The initial partners in the Fund are:

  • BDC Capital Inc. (on behalf of the Government of Canada)
  • Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec
  • Desjardins
  • Fondaction CSN
  • Fonds de Solidarité FTQ
  • Investissement Québec (on behalf of the Government of Quebec)
  • Knight Therapeutics Inc.
  • National Bank
  • OpenText Corporation

Quick Facts

  • The Government of Canada’s investment in Teralys Capital Innovation Fund is the latest step in the VCAP, a $400-million strategy launched in January 2013 by the Prime Minister to help increase private sector investments in early-stage risk capital, and contribute to a vibrant private sector-led venture capital sector in Canada.
  • The VCAP includes a commitment to establish up to four private sector-led funds of funds with private sector investors and interested provinces.
  • The Business Development Bank of Canada is facilitating the implementation of the VCAP on behalf of the Government of Canada by providing independent expertise, undertaking due diligence, supporting negotiations with funds and other investors, and assisting in the deployment of VCAP investments.


“Canada needs a robust private sector venture capital market that provides investments in start-ups across the country. Our Government remains committed to encouraging innovation and entrepreneurship that fosters the creation of breakthrough technologies and the jobs that come with it. That is why the establishment of Teralys Capital Innovation Fund is so important.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Additional Link

Media Contacts

Nick Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Stay Connected

Archivé - Les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec investissent dans un nouveau fonds de fonds de capital de risque afin de créer des emplois et de favoriser la croissance

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le nouveau fonds de fonds donnera lieu à des investissements dans des entreprises novatrices d’un bout à l’autre du Canada

Le 10 novembre 2014 – Montréal (Québec) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui l’investissement du gouvernement du Canada dans Teralys Capital Fonds d’innovation, un fonds de fonds dirigé par le secteur privé et un élément clé du Plan d’action sur le capital de risque (PACR) du gouvernement du Canada.

Le ministre Oliver était accompagné par le ministre des Finances du Québec, Carlos Leitão, ainsi que par les principaux investisseurs du fonds.

Ce fonds de fonds, le deuxième mis sur pied dans le cadre du PACR a mobilisé, à sa première clôture des engagements de 279 millions de dollars, dont 186 millions provenant d’institutions et de sociétés privées, et 46,5 millions chacun provenant des gouvernements du Canada et du Québec.

Teralys Capital Fonds d’innovation  misera sur des occasions d’investissement incluant entre autres le secteur des sciences de la vie et investira principalement dans des fonds de capital de risque qui mettent l’accent sur des entreprises canadiennes au stade du démarrage ou à un stade intermédiaire de développement et directement dans des entreprises de l’ensemble du Canada.

La société Teralys Capital a été choisie par les principaux investisseurs pour agir à titre de commandité du fonds, à la suite d’un processus de sélection équitable et concurrentiel mené par le Groupe d’experts sur le capital de risque. Les décisions d’investissement seront prises par Teralys Capital selon les principes du marché afin de maximiser le rendement.

Les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec ont accepté de prendre un engagement combiné de 1 $ pour chaque somme de 2 $ engagée par des investisseurs du secteur privé dans le nouveau fonds, sous réserve d’un apport maximal de 62,5 millions de dollars chacun. Le fonds recherchera d’autres investisseurs afin d’atteindre sa taille cible et prévoit effectuer une seconde clôture en 2015.

Les commanditaires initiaux du fonds sont :

  • Banque Nationale
  • BDC Capital Inc. (pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada)
  • Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec
  • Desjardins
  • Fondaction CSN
  • Fonds de solidarité FTQ
  • Investissement Québec (pour le compte du gouvernement du Québec)
  • Knight Therapeutics Inc.
  • Open Text Corporation

Les faits en bref

  • L’investissement du gouvernement du Canada dans Teralys Capital Fonds d’innovation représente la plus récente étape du PACR, une stratégie dotée de 400 millions de dollars que le premier ministre a lancée en janvier 2013 pour favoriser la hausse des investissements en capital de risque du secteur privé dans des entreprises en démarrage et ainsi contribuer au dynamisme du secteur du capital de risque dirigé par le secteur privé au Canada.
  • Le PACR s’engage à établir jusqu’à quatre nouveaux fonds de fonds dirigés par le secteur privé, en partenariat avec des investisseurs du secteur privé et les provinces intéressées.
  • La Banque de développement du Canada facilite la mise en œuvre du PACR pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada en fournissant une expertise indépendante, en exerçant une diligence raisonnable, en appuyant les négociations avec les fonds et d’autres investisseurs, et en facilitant le déploiement des investissements du PACR.

Citation

« Le Canada a besoin d’un marché de capital de risque du secteur privé solide afin d’accroître les investissements dans les entreprises en démarrage d’un bout à l’autre du pays. Notre gouvernement demeure déterminé à encourager l’innovation et l’entrepreneuriat qui favorisent la création de technologies novatrices et les emplois qui les accompagnent. C’est la raison pour laquelle la mise sur pied de Teralys Capital fonds d’innovation revêt une si grande importance. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Nick Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés