Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment to Bank of Canada Board of Directors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister Oliver congratulates Wes Scott on his appointment

November 7, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointment of Wes Scott to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada, effective October 30, 2014. His appointment is for a term ending on February 28, 2017.

Mr. Scott has extensive experience in capital markets, investor relations, financial reporting and disclosure in executive roles spanning three decades at firms including BCE Inc., Bell Canada and Nortel Networks. He holds an MBA from Harvard Business School and has served as an executive with publicly traded companies, privately held firms or joint ventures, and over a dozen not-for-profit organizations.

Quick Facts

  • The Bank of Canada’s principal role is to promote the economic and financial welfare of Canada. The central bank works to preserve the value of money by keeping inflation low and stable.
  • The Bank of Canada’s Board of Directors provides general oversight of the management and administration of the central bank. It reviews the Bank’s general policies, on matters other than monetary policy, keeps the Bank informed about prevailing economic conditions in Directors’ respective regions, and appoints the Governor and Senior Deputy Governor.

Quote

“Wes Scott is a highly respected business executive with extensive experience in corporate finance and securities regulation. He is known for guiding organizations through strategic transformation and for his knowledge of strategy and governance. I congratulate Mr. Scott and thank Philip Deck, the outgoing Director, for his contributions to the governance of the Bank of Canada.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Additional Link

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000


Biographical Notes

Wes Scott served in various roles at BCE Inc., a Canadian residential and business communications provider ranked among the 300 largest corporations in the world by Forbes, for three decades.

Mr. Scott retired in 2001 as Chief Corporate Officer of BCE and Vice Chairman of Bell Canada. Prior to that he was Executive Vice-President (1995-1999) and Chief Financial Officer (1997-1999) at Northern Telecom, when it acquired Bay Networks in 1998 and became Nortel Networks. He was a career Bell Canada employee, starting as a summer student in Toronto in 1968, and had roles in accounting, finance, regulatory matters, marketing and operations. He has been a Director of a number of public and private companies including Bell Canada, Sears Canada, Quebecor, Teleglobe Inc. and Solectron Corp.

He is currently the Chair of the Board at Aviva Canada, a Canadian property and casualty insurance company wholly owned by UK-based Aviva plc, and served as Lead Director at the Ontario Securities Commission until retiring in September. He has served on the audit committees of Toronto’s Hospital for Sick Children and its Foundation, as well as of Sears Canada Inc., Sears Canada Bank and Solectron Corp. He has also chaired the conduct review committee of the Union Bank of Switzerland (Canada).

Mr. Scott earned an MBA from Harvard Business School and a BComm from the University of Toronto. He is married and has two children.

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce une nomination au conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Oliver félicite Wes Scott pour sa nomination

Le 7 novembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de M. Wes Scott au conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada. Cette nomination, qui prend effet le 30 octobre 2014, est assortie d’un mandat se terminant le 28 février 2017.

M. Scott possède une vaste expérience dans les domaines des marchés de capitaux, des relations avec les investisseurs et de la communication de l’information financière, expérience qu’il a acquise dans des postes de haute direction qu’il a occupés au cours d’une période s’échelonnant sur trois décennies au sein d’entreprises telles que BCE Inc., Bell Canada et Nortel Networks. M. Scott, qui est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Harvard Business School, a exercé les fonctions de cadre dans des sociétés cotées en bourse, des entreprises et des coentreprises privées et dans plus d’une douzaine d’organismes à but non lucratif.

Les faits en bref

  • Le rôle principal de la Banque du Canada consiste à favoriser la prospérité économique et financière du Canada. La banque centrale s’emploie à préserver la valeur de la monnaie en maintenant l’inflation à un niveau bas et stable.
  • Le conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada assure la surveillance de la gestion et de l’administration de cette banque centrale. Il examine les politiques générales de la Banque touchant les questions autres que la politique monétaire, renseigne la Banque sur la conjoncture économique des diverses régions que représentent les administrateurs et nomme les titulaires des postes de gouverneur et de premier sous-gouverneur.

Citation

« Wes Scott est un cadre supérieur dont l’expérience approfondie en matière de finances des sociétés et de réglementation des valeurs mobilières suscite un grand respect. Il est connu pour sa capacité d’orienter les organisations à travers les périodes de transformation stratégique, ainsi que pour ses connaissances dans les domaines de la stratégie et de la gouvernance. Je félicite M. Scott pour sa nomination, et je tiens à remercier Philip Deck, l’administrateur sortant, pour son apport à la gouvernance de la Banque du Canada. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexe

Liens connexe

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000


Notice biographique

M. Scott a occupé diverses fonctions à BCE Inc., un fournisseur canadien de solutions de communications résidentielles et d’affaires qui s’est classé pendant trois décennies parmi les 300 sociétés les plus grandes au monde selon Forbes.

M. Scott a pris sa retraite en 2001 alors qu’il était chef des services généraux de BCE et vice-président de Bell Canada. Auparavant, il a été vice-président directeur (de 1995 à 1999) et directeur financier (de 1997 à 1999) à Northern Telecom, au moment où l’entreprise a acquis Bay Networks en 1998 pour devenir Nortel Networks. M. Scott a fait carrière chez Bell Canada, où il fut embauché en tant qu’étudiant pour l’été en 1968, à Toronto, pour ensuite assumer des responsabilités dans les secteurs de la comptabilité, des finances, des questions de réglementation, du marketing et des opérations. Il a été administrateur d’un certain nombre de sociétés publiques et privées, dont Bell Canada, Sears Canada, Québecor, Téléglobe Inc. et Solectron Corp.

M. Scott est actuellement président du conseil d’administration d’Aviva Canada, une société d’assurances multirisques canadienne détenue en propriété exclusive par la société britannique Aviva plc. Il a également été premier directeur à la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario jusqu’en septembre dernier. M. Scott a siégé aux comités d’audit de l’Hôpital pour enfants de Toronto et de la fondation de celui-ci, ainsi que de Sears Canada Inc., de la Banque Sears Canada et de Solectron Corp. Il a également présidé le comité de révision de l’Union de Banques Suisses (Canada).

M. Scott a obtenu une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Harvard Business School et un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université de Toronto. Il est marié et père de deux enfants.

Restez branchés