Archived - Minister Sorenson Addresses Credit Union Central of Canada

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Reiterates government is on track to balance the budget; highlights importance of financial literacy

October 20, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today spoke at the Credit Union Government Relations Forum in Ottawa, where he provided an update on the status of the economy and an overview of the economic agenda of the Harper Government.

Minister Sorenson reiterated the importance of returning to balanced budgets, increasing financial literacy and the shared priority of both the Government and credit unions to strengthen local communities. Minister Sorenson applauded credit unions for their efforts to improve financial literacy and consumer protection. He also took the opportunity to highlight that November is Financial Literacy Month.

Quick Facts

  • The Canadian economy has posted one of the strongest job creation records in the Group of Seven (G-7) over the recovery, with about 1.2 million jobs created since July 2009.
  • As a country, real gross domestic product is significantly above pre-recession levels—the best performance in the G-7.
  • As of the second quarter of 2014, the credit union system outside Quebec has over $165 billion in assets. Desjardins has over $221 billion.
  • November is Financial Literacy Month (FLM). During this time, individuals and organizations are encouraged to either host or take part in activities designed to increase their own or someone else’s financial skills.
  • The FLM calendar of events, available on the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada website, provides Canadians with a list of the financial education activities and events taking place in their city or province and across the country during November.

Quote

“As someone who uses credit unions, I know first-hand how they are part of the fabric of communities of all sizes. Credit unions have contributed greatly to improving Canadians’ financial literacy and to the development of innovative products and strong consumer protections. I would like to thank Credit Union Central of Canada for its contributions, and I look forward to continuing to work together on our shared priority of investing in stronger communities and a stronger economy.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

Related Products

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Mark Glendenning
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Sorenson prend la parole devant les membres de la Centrale des caisses de crédit du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Il réitère que le gouvernement est sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire et souligne l’importance de la littératie financière

Le 20 octobre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, a prononcé une allocution aujourd’hui au forum des caisses de crédit sur les relations gouvernementales, lequel forum se déroule à Ottawa. Au cours de son allocution, il a fait le point sur l’état de l’économie et donné un aperçu du programme économique du gouvernement Harper.

Le ministre Sorenson a réitéré l’importance de rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire et d’accroître la littératie financière, et déclaré que le renforcement des collectivités constituait une priorité commune du gouvernement et des caisses de crédit. Il a également félicité les caisses pour les efforts qu’elles déploient afin d’améliorer la littératie financière et la protection des consommateurs. De plus, il a profité de l’occasion pour souligner que le mois de novembre était le Mois de la littératie financière.

Les faits en bref

  • L’économie canadienne affiche l’un des meilleurs bilans au chapitre de la création d’emplois parmi les pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7) au cours de la reprise, soit environ 1,2 million d’emplois créés depuis juillet 2009.
  • Le produit intérieur brut réel du Canada dépasse nettement les niveaux enregistrés avant la récession – il s’agit de la meilleure performance parmi les pays du G-7.
  • Le réseau des coopératives de crédit situées à l’extérieur du Québec gérait plus de 165 milliards de dollars d’actifs au deuxième trimestre de 2014, alors que le Mouvement Desjardins compte plus de 221 milliards d’actifs.
  • Le mois de novembre a été désigné Mois de la littératie financière. Pendant cette période, les citoyens et les organisations sont invités à organiser des activités destinées à accroître leurs propres compétences financières ou celles d’autres personnes, ou à participer à ces activités.
  • Le calendrier du Mois de la littératie financière, affiché sur le site Web de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada, offre aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens une liste des activités d’éducation financière qui se déroulent dans leur ville ou province et ailleurs au pays en novembre.

Citation

« En tant qu’utilisateur des services des coopératives de crédit, je sais d’expérience à quel point elles font partie intégrante des collectivités de toutes tailles. Les coopératives de crédit ont grandement contribué à accroître la littératie financière des Canadiens et à mettre au point des produits novateurs et une protection solide des consommateurs. Je tiens à remercier la Centrale des caisses de crédit du Canada pour ses contributions, et je compte poursuivre notre collaboration pour faire avancer notre priorité commune d’investir pour rendre nos collectivités plus dynamiques et renforcer notre économie. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Mark Glendenning
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés