Archived - Harper Government Consulting With Small and Medium-Sized Businesses in Saskatchewan to Ensure Canada’s Economy Remains Strong

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

October 17, 2014 – Prince Albert, Saskatchewan – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson and Randy Hoback, Member of Parliament (Prince Albert), met with members of the Prince Albert & District Chamber of Commerce today to discuss ways the Government and businesses can work together to build a stronger economy.

Minister Sorenson provided an update on the economy, financial literacy initiatives and the Government’s plan to return to balanced budgets. He also consulted businesses on how to further reduce red tape, enhance private sector growth, break down internal trade barriers and improve overall competitiveness.

Feedback from stakeholders and communities across the country helps the Government set policies that will continue to support families, communities and businesses so that all Canadians benefit from a strong economy as the federal budget returns to balance in 2015.

Quick Facts

  • The Canadian economy has posted one of the strongest job creation records in the Group of Seven (G-7) over the recovery, with nearly 1.2 million jobs created since July 2009.
  • Real gross domestic product is significantly above pre-recession levels—the best performance in the G-7.
  • In 2013, Canada leapt from sixth to second place in Bloomberg’s ranking of the most attractive destinations for business.
  • According to KPMG, total business tax costs in Canada are the lowest in the G-7 and 46% lower than those in the United States.
  • Employees and employers in federally regulated industries now have access to Pooled Registered Pension Plans. Millions of small business owners and their employees will have access to a private, low-cost pension plan once the framework is in place in each province.
  • Recognizing that Canadians’ financial health affects the country’s economy, the Government is working to improve Canadians’ financial literacy. In April 2014, the Government appointed Canada’s first Financial Literacy Leader and is working with her to develop a national strategy on financial literacy.
  • The first phase of this strategy focused on seniors and was released on October 16, 2014. The second phase of consultations has begun and focuses on low-income Canadians, Canadians with disabilities, newcomers to Canada and Aboriginal peoples. A third phase, focusing on children, youth and adults, will begin at a later date in 2014. The complete national strategy is expected to be released in 2015.

Quotes

“Our Government supports businesses and Canadians by keeping taxes low, cutting red tape, offering low-cost pension options to small businesses and the self-employed, and improving financial literacy. Together with our Government’s return to balanced budgets in 2015, these measures will further strengthen Canada’s business climate and economy.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

“Our Government is proud to be working with small and medium-sized businesses like those in Prince Albert to create jobs and grow the economy, which is vital to promoting long-term prosperity. I am pleased that Minister Sorenson could meet with our local business leaders to find out how our Government and the private sector can work together to create jobs and opportunities for this community and across the country.”

- Randy Hoback, Member of Parliament for Prince Albert (Saskatchewan)

Media Contacts

Mark Glendenning
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper consulte les petites et moyennes entreprises de la Saskatchewan pour s’assurer que l’économie canadienne demeure forte

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 17 octobre 2014 – Prince Albert (Saskatchewan) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, et le député fédéral de Prince Albert, Randy Hoback, ont rencontré aujourd’hui des membres de la Chambre de commerce de la région de Prince Albert pour discuter des moyens par lesquels le gouvernement et les entreprises peuvent collaborer pour renforcer l’économie.

Le ministre Sorenson a fait le point sur l’économie, les initiatives en matière de littératie financière et le plan du gouvernement pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire. Il a également consulté les entreprises sur la façon dont on peut réduire davantage les formalités administratives, augmenter la croissance du secteur privé, éliminer les obstacles au commerce intérieur et améliorer la compétitivité globale.

Les commentaires que le gouvernement recueille auprès d’intervenants et de citoyens des collectivités de l’ensemble du pays l’aident à élaborer des politiques qui continueront d’appuyer les familles, les collectivités et les entreprises afin que tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes bénéficient d’une économie vigoureuse, alors que le gouvernement s’apprête à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire fédéral en 2015.

Les faits en bref

  • L’économie canadienne a affiché l’un des meilleurs bilans au chapitre de la création d’emplois parmi les pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7) pendant la reprise : près de 1,2 million d’emplois ont été créés depuis juillet 2009.
  • Le produit intérieur brut réel du Canada a nettement dépassé les niveaux enregistrés avant la récession – il s’agit de la meilleure performance du G-7.
  • En 2013, le Canada a bondi du sixième au deuxième rang dans le palmarès des meilleurs endroits pour faire des affaires établi par la firme Bloomberg.
  • Selon la firme KPMG, les coûts fiscaux globaux des entreprises au Canada sont les plus faibles du G-7, et ils sont inférieurs de 46 % à ceux qui prévalent aux États-Unis.
  • Les employés et les employeurs des secteurs assujettis à la réglementation fédérale ont maintenant accès à un régime de pension agréé collectif. Lorsque le cadre régissant ce régime aura été instauré dans chacune des provinces, des millions de propriétaires de petites entreprises et leurs employés auront accès à un régime de retraite privé à faible coût.
  • Reconnaissant que la santé financière des Canadiens a une incidence sur l’économie du pays, le gouvernement s’emploie à améliorer la littératie financière au sein de la population. En avril 2014, il a nommé la première chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada, et il collabore avec elle à l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale en matière de littératie financière.
  • La première phase de cette stratégie, qui était axée sur les aînés, a été publiée le 16 octobre 2014. La deuxième phase de consultations a débuté et porte sur les Canadiens à faible revenu, les Canadiens handicapés, les nouveaux arrivants au pays et les Autochtones. Une troisième phase, qui mettra l’accent sur les enfants, les jeunes et les adultes, s’amorcera à une date ultérieure en 2014. La stratégie nationale complète devrait être rendue publique en 2015.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement soutient les entreprises et les Canadiens en maintenant de faibles taux d’imposition, en réduisant les formalités administratives, en offrant des mécanismes de pension à faible coût aux petites entreprises et aux travailleurs indépendants, et en améliorant la littératie financière. Ces mesures, conjuguées au rétablissement de l’équilibre budgétaire par notre gouvernement en 2015, viendront renforcer davantage le climat des affaires et l’économie du Canada. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

« Notre gouvernement est fier de collaborer avec les petites et moyennes entreprises, comme celles de Prince Albert, pour créer des emplois et contribuer à la croissance économique, car cela est essentiel et permet d’assurer la prospérité à long terme. Je suis heureux que le ministre Sorenson ait pu rencontrer nos dirigeants d’entreprises locaux en vue de déterminer les moyens par lesquels notre gouvernement et le secteur privé peuvent collaborer afin de créer des emplois et des possibilités pour les membres de cette collectivité et pour tous les Canadiens. »

- Randy Hoback, député fédéral de Prince Albert (Saskatchewan)

Contacts

Mark Glendenning
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés