Archived - Government of Canada consults on the national financial literacy strategy

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Consultations will focus on other priority groups in the second phase of the Government’s work towards a national strategy that is inclusive, relevant and accessible to all Canadians.

October 17, 2014 – Saskatoon, Saskatchewan – Financial Consumer Agency of Canada

Today, Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson, Canada’s Financial Literacy Leader Jane Rooney and Member of Parliament (Saskatoon-Rosetown-Biggar) Kelly Block consulted on the development of a national strategy to strengthen the financial literacy of Canadians. Recognizing that not one size fits all, the second phase of consultations will help the Government develop an effective financial literacy strategy that meets the needs of all Canadians.

The consultation paper Toward a National Strategy for Financial Literacy, Phase 2: Priority Groups is intended to encourage discussion. It invites comments on how to bolster financial literacy for Canadians, including those with low incomes, newcomers to Canada, Aboriginal peoples and people with disabilities. Stakeholders from the public, private and non-profit sectors will take part in in-person sessions across the country. All Canadians are encouraged to submit their comments on the consultation paper by mail or email by December 10, 2014.

Quick Facts

  • In Economic Action Plan 2013, the Government committed to working with partners to develop a financial literacy strategy that specifically responds to the needs of seniors.
  • The Government fulfilled this commitment by launching the Strengthening Seniors’ Financial Literacy Strategy on October 16, 2014.
  • This seniors’ strategy will be part of the national strategy for financial literacy to be released in 2015.
  • Aboriginal peoples, newcomers to Canada and low-income Canadians were identified as priority groups because the 2009 Canadian Financial Capability Survey found that they could benefit from further strengthening in at least three of the five areas that make up the Financial Literacy index. 
  • Other research has shown that the low-income population includes disproportionate numbers of people with disabilities, women and single adults.
  • Consultations for the third phase of the national strategy for financial literacy will begin in November and will focus on the needs of children, youth and adults, generally.

Quotes

“Canadians are faced with a constantly evolving financial and economic world, with increasingly complex financial choices. Offering opportunities for all Canadians to learn and incorporate relevant financial knowledge and skills into their daily lives can have a profound impact on their financial well-being and our entire economy.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

“Financial literacy is a critical life skills for all Canadians, regardless of age or financial circumstances. As we develop a national strategy for financial literacy, we want to hear from Canadians to ensure that it is inclusive, relevant and accessible for all Canadians.”

- Jane Rooney, Financial Literacy Leader

“The Government of Canada has made financial literacy a priority. As I am focused on making Saskatchewan and Canada the best place to live, work, and start a family, an integral part of this is ensuring that my constituents and all Canadians gain the skills and have access to the tools they need to make the best financial decisions for their situation.” 

- Kelly Block, Member of Parliament (Saskatoon-Rosetown-Biggar)

Related Products

Associated Links

Contacts

Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
Mark Glendenning
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
1-613-369-5696
Mark.Glendenning@fin.gc.ca

Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
Natasha Nystrom
Media Relations Officer
1-613-941-4168
Natasha.Nystrom@fcac-acfc.gc.ca

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada mène des consultations sur la stratégie nationale pour la littératie financière

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Les consultations, qui s’inscrivent dans la deuxième phase des travaux du gouvernement pour élaborer une stratégie nationale qui est inclusive, pertinente et accessible à tous les Canadiens, seront axées sur d’autres groupes prioritaires.

Le 17 octobre 2014 – Saskatoon, Saskatchewan - Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada

Aujourd’hui, le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, la chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada, Jane Rooney, et la députée de Saskatoon-Rosetown-Biggar, Kelly Block, ont mené une consultation sur l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale visant à renforcer la littératie financière des Canadiens. Conscient qu’il n’existe pas de solution toute faite, le gouvernement lance cette seconde étape des consultations pour élaborer une stratégie de littératie financière efficace qui répond aux besoins de tous les Canadiens.

Le document de consultation, Vers une stratégie nationale pour la littératie financière, Phase 2 : Groupes prioritaires, est destiné à encourager la discussion. Il sollicite des commentaires sur la façon de renforcer la littératie financière des Canadiens, y compris les personnes à faible revenu, les nouveaux arrivants au Canada, les peuples autochtones et les personnes handicapées. Des intervenants des secteurs public, privé et à but non lucratif prendront part aux séances de consultation qui auront lieu partout au pays. Tous les Canadiens sont invités à soumettre leurs commentaires sur le document de consultation par courrier ou par courriel d’ici le 10 décembre 2014.

Les faits en bref

  • Dans le Plan d’action économique 2013, le gouvernement s’est engagé à collaborer avec ses partenaires afin d’élaborer une stratégie pour la littératie financière qui répond spécifiquement aux besoins des personnes âgées.
  • Le gouvernement a tenu cet engagement en lançant la Stratégie pour la littératie financière des aînés le 16 octobre 2014.
  • Cette stratégie à l’intention des aînés fera partie de la stratégie nationale pour la littératie financière, qui devrait être rendue publique en 2015.
  • Le gouvernement a désigné les peuples autochtones, les nouveaux arrivants au Canada et les Canadiens à faible revenu comme des groupes prioritaires, parce que l’Enquête canadienne sur les capacités financières de 2009 a révélé que les membres de ces populations pourraient profiter d’une amélioration de leur maîtrise d’au moins trois des cinq éléments clés de l’indice de la littératie financière. 
  • D’autres recherches ont montré que la population à faible revenu comprend un nombre disproportionné de personnes handicapées, de femmes et d’adultes célibataires.
  • Au mois de novembre, le gouvernement lancera des consultations pour la troisième phase de la stratégie nationale pour la littératie financière. Ces consultations se concentreront sur les besoins des enfants, des jeunes et des adultes en général.

Citations

« Les Canadiens sont confrontés à un monde financier et économique en constante évolution, et à des choix financiers de plus en plus complexes. En donnant à tous les Canadiens la possibilité d’acquérir et d’intégrer des connaissances et des compétences financières pertinentes dans leur vie quotidienne, nous pouvons améliorer sensiblement leur bien-être financier et renforcer l’ensemble de notre économie. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

« La littératie financière est une compétence essentielle de la vie pour tous les Canadiens, peu importe leur âge ou leur situation financière. Nous voulons recevoir des commentaires des Canadiens pour nous assurer d’élaborer une stratégie nationale pour la littératie financière qui est inclusive, pertinente et accessible pour tous les Canadiens. »

- Jane Rooney, chef du développement de la littératie financière

« Le gouvernement du Canada a fait de la littératie financière une priorité. Puisque je concentre mes efforts pour faire de la Saskatchewan et du Canada les meilleurs endroits où habiter, travailler et fonder une famille, une partie importante de mon travail consiste à assurer que les citoyens de mon comté, comme tous les Canadiens, acquièrent les compétences et ont accès aux outils dont ils ont besoin pour prendre les meilleures décisions financières dans leur situation. »

- Kelly Block, députée (Saskatoon-Rosetown-Biggar)

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Personnes-ressources

Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
Mark Glendenning
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
1-613-369-5696
Mark.Glendenning@fin.gc.ca

Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada
Natasha Nystrom
Agente des relations avec les médias
1-613-941-4168
Natasha.Nystrom@fcac-acfc.gc.ca

Restez branchés