Archived - PM ANNOUNCES THE NAMING OF A BUILDING IN HONOUR OF JIM FLAHERTY

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

90 ELGIN STREET TO BECOME THE JAMES MICHAEL FLAHERTY BUILDING

Ottawa, Ontario - 15 October 2014

Introduction

Prime Minister Stephen Harper today announced that the Government of Canada building located at 90 Elgin Street in Ottawa will be named the James Michael Flaherty Building in honour of the former Minister of Finance who passed away on April 10, 2014. The Prime Minister was joined by Christine Elliott and her sons John, Galen and Quinn.    

The new James Michael Flaherty Building is a modern facility that will accommodate the Department of Finance and the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. It is being named in honour of Jim Flaherty as a tribute to the eight years that he spent dedicating his life to the financial well-being of Canadians. A commemorative plaque, which will bear the name of the building, will be affixed to the wall in the lobby.

One of the longest-serving Ministers of Finance in the country’s history, Mr. Flaherty served from February 6, 2006 until his resignation on March 18, 2014. Throughout his career, he exemplified the best qualities of those who enter public life: a true commitment to service and a sincere desire to make the country a better place. This commitment to public service earned him the respect and admiration of parliamentarians of all political parties. Mr. Flaherty played an integral role in steering Canada through the highly turbulent international financial crisis which began in 2008. He was named Euromoney magazine’s Finance Minister of the Year in 2009, in recognition of Canada’s strong policy response to the global economic crisis which has contributed to our country’s heightened reputation on the global stage. Mr. Flaherty’s legacy also includes leading the return to fiscal balance, strategic investments under Canada’s Economic Action Plan and the introduction of key tax measures, such as the Tax-Free Savings Account and the Registered Disability Savings Plan.

Quick Facts

  • The new 17-storey James Michael Flaherty Building includes 60,000 m2 of office space, which will accommodate approximately 2,600 federal employees and a ground floor retail space accessible from Elgin, Albert and Slater streets. It is 3.5 times larger than the original Lorne Building, which was previously located on this site.
  • The James Michael Flaherty Building was designed and constructed to meet National Capital Commission requirements and target LEED® Gold certification, showcasing a green building on a prominent site on Confederation Boulevard. Elgin Street in Ottawa is a symbolically important part of Confederation Boulevard.
  • Construction of the building began in spring 2011 and it was ready for occupancy in July 2014.
  • Department of Finance employees have moved into the building and Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat employees will be relocated there by May 2015.

Quote

“It is a fitting tribute to Jim Flaherty’s contribution to Canada to name the new federal finance building in Ottawa in his honour. Jim will be remembered as one of the best ministers of finance in the history of Canada. He dedicated the last years of his life to one of his greatest passions: ensuring the economic well-being of Canadians. I know that the federal government employees working in the new James Michael Flaherty Building will remember with fondness and respect the remarkable human being he was and all that he accomplished for Canada.”

- Prime Minister Stephen Harper

Archivé - LE PM ANNONCE QU’UN ÉDIFICE SERA NOMMÉ EN L’HONNEUR DE JIM FLAHERTY

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

L’IMMEUBLE DU 90, RUE ELGIN DEVIENDRA L’ÉDIFICE JAMES MICHAEL FLAHERTY

Ottawa (Ontario) - 15 octobre 2014

Introduction

Le Premier ministre Stephen Harper a aujourd’hui annoncé que l’immeuble du gouvernement du Canada situé au 90, rue Elgin à Ottawa s’appellera l’édifice James Michael Flaherty en l’honneur de l’ancien ministre des Finances décédé le 10 avril 2014. Le Premier ministre était accompagné de Christine Elliott et des fils de cette dernière, John, Galen et Quinn. 

Le nouvel édifice James Michael Flaherty est une installation moderne qui accueillera le ministère des Finances et le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. L’immeuble est ainsi nommé en l’honneur de Jim Flaherty, en hommage aux huit années que ce dernier a passées à se consacrer au bien-être financier des Canadiens. Une plaque commémorative, sur laquelle sera inscrit le nom de l’édifice, sera installée sur le mur du hall d’entrée.

M. Flaherty, dont le mandat à titre de ministre des Finances a été l’un des plus longs de l’histoire du pays, a occupé ce poste du 6 février 2006 jusqu’à sa démission, le 18 mars 2014. Tout au long de sa carrière, il a incarné les plus grandes qualités de ceux qui acceptent une charge publique : un réel engagement envers le service et un désir sincère de faire de ce pays un endroit meilleur. Cet engagement à l’égard du service à la population lui a valu le respect et l’admiration des parlementaires de tous les partis politiques. M. Flaherty a joué un rôle déterminant en guidant le Canada à travers les importantes turbulences de la crise financière internationale qui a commencé en 2008. En 2009, le magazine Euromoney l’a nommé ministre des Finances de l’année, en reconnaissance des mesures stratégiques vigoureuses adoptées par le Canada face à la crise économique mondiale. Ces mesures ont contribué à rehausser la réputation du Canada sur la scène mondiale. L’héritage que nous laisse M. Flaherty comprend également la façon dont il a orchestré le retour à l’équilibre budgétaire, les investissements stratégiques qu’il a faits dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique du Canada et la mise en place d’importantes mesures fiscales, dont le compte d’épargne libre d’impôt et le régime enregistré d’épargne-invalidité.

Faits saillants

  • Le nouvel édifice James Michael Flaherty, qui compte 17 étages, comprend 60 000 m2 de locaux de bureaux pouvant accueillir environ 2 600 employés fédéraux. Il comprendra également une aire commerciale située au rez-de-chaussée qui sera accessible à partir des rues Elgin, Albert et Slater. Il est 3,5 fois plus vaste que l’édifice Lorne qui était auparavant situé à cet endroit.
  • L’édifice James Michael Flaherty a été conçu et construit de façon à respecter les exigences de la Commission de la capitale nationale et à obtenir la certification Or du LEED®. L’édifice constituera un bel exemple de bâtiment écologique, mis en évidence sur un site bien en vue du boulevard de la Confédération. La rue Elgin, à Ottawa est une partie importante, sur le plan symbolique, du boulevard de la Confédération.
  • Les travaux de construction ont commencé au printemps 2011, et l’immeuble était prêt à accueillir ses locataires en juillet 2014.
  • Les employés du ministère des Finances ont emménagé dans l’immeuble, et les employés du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor s’y installeront d’ici le mois de mai 2015.

Citation

« Le fait de nommer le nouvel immeuble fédéral du ministère des Finances à Ottawa en l’honneur de Jim Flaherty est un hommage bien mérité aux contributions que ce dernier a apportées au Canada. Nous nous souviendrons de Jim comme de l’un des meilleurs ministres des Finances de l’histoire du Canada. Il a consacré les dernières années de sa vie à l’une de ses plus grandes passions : assurer le bien-être économique des Canadiens. Je sais que les employés du gouvernement fédéral qui travailleront dans le nouvel édifice James Michael Flaherty se souviendront avec affection et respect de l’être humain remarquable qu’il était et de tout ce qu’il a accompli pour le Canada. »

- Le Premier ministre Stephen Harper