Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment to PPP Canada Board of Directors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

October 15, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointment of Sheila O’Brien, CM, to the Board of Directors of PPP Canada.

Ms. O’Brien has been the President of Belvedere 1 Investments Ltd. since April 2004. She is a corporate director and business consultant with over 30 years of experience in the oil and gas, pipeline and petrochemical sectors in Canada, the United States, South America and Europe.

Quick Facts

  • The Government is committed to supporting investments in public infrastructure projects that contribute to economic growth, create jobs and support long-term prosperity.
  • Through the renewed $1.25-billion P3 Canada Fund, the Government continues to support innovative infrastructure projects delivered through a public-private partnership (P3) approach that provides better value for Canadians and develops the Canadian P3 market.
  • The P3 Canada Fund is managed by PPP Canada, a Crown corporation responsible for advancing P3s through the provision of expert advice and support to all levels of government.   
  • PPP Canada’s mandate is to improve the delivery of public infrastructure by achieving better value, timeliness and accountability to taxpayers through P3s.

Quote

“I am pleased to name such a distinguished member to the Board of Directors of PPP Canada. Our Government knows that investments in Canada’s public infrastructure create jobs and economic growth, and provide a high quality of life for families in every city and community across the country.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000


Biographical Notes

Sheila O’Brien, CM, is the President of Belvedere 1 Investments Ltd. She is a corporate director and business consultant specializing in workforce and leadership capacity, with over 30 years of executive leadership experience in the oil and gas, pipeline and petrochemical sectors in Canada, the United States, South America and Europe.

Ms. O’Brien currently serves on the Board of Directors of Gildan, a publicly traded, vertically integrated apparel manufacturer based in Montréal, and the Board of Directors of the Alberta Energy Regulator. She has previously served on the boards of Advantage Oil & Gas Ltd., a Calgary-based natural gas company; Skye Resources, a nickel mining company with mines in Guatemala; TransForce, Canada’s largest trucking company; and MaRS, a biotechnology accelerator based in Toronto. She is a past member of the Board of Governors of Alberta College of Art + Design in Calgary, and is a member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Women’s Foundation in Toronto.

Ms. O’Brien has been active in the not-for-profit sector, having served on more than 25 Boards of Directors dealing primarily with human rights, women’s rights and the need to give a voice to marginalized members of society. In 1998 she was bestowed the honour of the Order of Canada.


Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce une nomination au conseil d’administration de PPP Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 15 octobre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de Mme Sheila O’Brien, C.M., au conseil d’administration de PPP Canada.

Mme O’Brien est présidente de Belvedere 1 Investments Ltd. depuis avril 2004. Administratrice de société et consultante en affaires, elle possède plus de 30 années d’expérience dans les secteurs du pétrole et du gaz, des pipelines et de la pétrochimie au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Amérique du Sud et en Europe.

Les faits en bref

  • Le gouvernement est déterminé à appuyer les investissements dans les projets d’infrastructure publique qui contribuent à favoriser la croissance économique, à créer des emplois et à soutenir la prospérité à long terme.
  • Grâce au Fonds PPP Canada renouvelé, doté de 1,25 milliard de dollars, le gouvernement continue de soutenir des projets d’infrastructure novateurs réalisés au moyen d’une approche de partenariat public-privé, laquelle approche permet d’optimiser l’argent des contribuables et de développer le marché canadien des partenariats public-privé.
  • Le Fonds PPP Canada est géré par PPP Canada, une société d’État chargée de promouvoir les partenariats public-privé grâce aux conseils spécialisés qu’il donne et au soutien qu’il apporte à tous les ordres de gouvernement.   
  • Le mandat de PPP Canada consiste à améliorer la réalisation des projets d’infrastructure publique par l’entremise des partenariats public-privé, de façon à assurer une utilisation plus judicieuse des deniers publics, une exécution plus rapide des projets et une meilleure reddition de comptes aux contribuables.

Citation

« Je suis heureux d’annoncer la nomination d’un membre aussi éminent au conseil d’administration de PPP Canada. Notre gouvernement sait que les investissements dans l’infrastructure publique du Canada créent des emplois et favorisent la croissance économique, tout en permettant aux familles partout au pays de bénéficier d’un niveau de vie élevé. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000


Notice biographique

Mme Sheila O’Brien, C.M., est la présidente de Belvedere 1 Investments Ltd. Administratrice de société et consultante en affaires spécialisée dans le domaine du renforcement des capacités en matière de main-d’œuvre et de leadership, elle possède plus de 30 années d’expérience dans des postes de haute direction dans les secteurs du pétrole et du gaz, des pipelines et de la pétrochimie au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Amérique du Sud et en Europe.

Mme O’Brien siège actuellement au conseil d’administration de Gildan, une société cotée en bourse et verticalement intégrée qui fabrique des vêtements et dont le siège social se trouve à Montréal. Elle siège aussi au conseil d’administration de l’organisme de réglementation Alberta Energy Regulator. Elle siégeait précédemment au conseil d’administration des entreprises suivantes : Advantage Oil & Gas Ltd., société de gaz naturel située à Calgary; Skye Resources, société minière axée sur la production de nickel exploitant des mines au Guatemala; TransForce, la plus importante entreprise de camionnage au Canada; et MaRS, société de biotechnologie située à Toronto. Mme O’Brien est un ancien membre du Conseil des gouverneurs de l’Alberta College of Art + Design, à Calgary, et elle est membre du conseil d’administration de la Fondation canadienne des femmes, à Toronto.

Mme O’Brien est active au sein du secteur sans but lucratif, où elle a siégé à plus de 25 conseils d’administration, principalement dans des sphères touchant les droits de la personne, les droits des femmes et les démarches visant à donner une voix aux membres marginalisés de la société. En 1998, elle a été distinguée par l’Ordre du Canada.

Restez branchés