Archived - Minister Oliver Promotes Jobs and Growth at G-20, IMF and World Bank Group Meetings

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

October 9, 2014 – Washington, D.C. – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver will attend the Annual Meetings of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank Group this week in Washington D.C., where he will also meet with his Group of 20 (G-20) Minister of Finance colleagues.

The meetings will focus on the state of the global economy as well as strategic priorities for the IMF and World Bank Group. G-20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors will discuss deliverables ahead of the G-20 Leaders Summit in Brisbane next month, including measures to support greater investment in infrastructure, particularly by the private sector.

Minister Oliver will encourage countries to follow Canada’s example of responsible fiscal management, which will result in a return to balanced budgets in 2015, and to implement structural measures that strengthen the economy and create jobs, as outlined in the G-20 growth strategies. Canada has weathered the global economic crisis better than most countries and stands out among the G-20 as an international economic success story and an attractive partner for trade and investment.

Quick Facts

Canada’s Economic Performance

  • The Canadian economy has posted one of the strongest job creation records in the G-7 over the recovery, with more than 1.1 million jobs created since July 2009.
  • Real gross domestic product (GDP) is significantly above pre-recession levels—the best performance in the G-7.
  • Both the IMF and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development expect Canada to be among the strongest growing economies in the G-7 over this year and next.
  • In 2013, Canada leapt from sixth to second place in Bloomberg’s ranking of the most attractive destinations for business.
  • Four credit rating agencies—Moody’s Investors Service, Fitch Ratings, Standard & Poor’s and DBRS—have all reaffirmed their top ratings for Canada.

International Organizations

  • The G-20 is the premier forum for international economic cooperation, with members accounting for 85% of global output and two-thirds of the world’s population.
  • Earlier this year, G-20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors committed to develop ambitious, but realistic, policies aimed at lifting the level of G-20 collective GDP over five years by at least 2% above the level implied by existing policies.
  • As a significant shareholder, Canada has an important governance role at both the IMF and the World Bank Group. The Minister of Finance represents Canada, most Commonwealth Caribbean countries and Ireland on the Board of Governors at both institutions.

Quotes

"Our Government's sound economic management and unrelenting focus on jobs, growth and long-term prosperity have made Canada an international economic success story. As Canada is doing with its Economic Action Plan, we encourage G-20 countries to deliver on their comprehensive strategies to create jobs and a strong, global economy."

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver met l'accent sur l'emploi et la croissance lors des réunions du G-20, du FMI et du Groupe de la Banque mondiale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 9 octobre 2014 – Washington (États-Unis) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, participera aux assemblées annuelles du Fonds monétaire international (FMI) et du Groupe de la Banque mondiale cette semaine à Washington, où il rencontrera également ses homologues des pays membres du Groupe des Vingt (G-20).

Les réunions seront axées sur l’état de l’économie mondiale ainsi que sur les priorités stratégiques du FMI et du Groupe de la Banque mondiale. Les ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales du G-20 s’entretiendront au sujet des résultats attendus en prévision du Sommet des dirigeants du G-20 qui aura lieu à Brisbane le mois prochain, dont les mesures destinées à appuyer une hausse des investissements dans l’infrastructure, en particulier ceux du secteur privé.

Le ministre Oliver incitera les autres pays à suivre l’exemple du Canada en matière de gestion budgétaire responsable, laquelle conduira au rétablissement de l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015. Le ministre les incitera aussi à mettre en œuvre des mesures structurelles pour renforcer l’économie et créer des emplois, comme cela a été énoncé dans les stratégies de croissance du G–20. Le Canada a mieux résisté à la crise économique mondiale que la plupart des autres pays, et il se distingue parmi les pays du G-20 par sa réussite économique et sa qualité de partenaire intéressant pour le commerce et l’investissement.

Les faits en bref

Performance économique du Canada

  • Au cours de la reprise, l’économie canadienne a affiché l’un des meilleurs bilans du G-7 au chapitre de la création d’emplois, soit plus de 1,1 million d’emplois créés depuis juillet 2009.
  • Le produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel a nettement dépassé les niveaux enregistrés avant la récession – cette performance est la meilleure parmi les pays du G-7.
  • Tant le FMI que l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques prévoient que le Canada fera partie des pays du G-7 dont la croissance économique sera la plus forte cette année et l’an prochain.
  • En 2013, le Canada a bondi du sixième au deuxième rang dans le palmarès des meilleurs endroits pour faire des affaires, lequel palmarès a été établi par la firme Bloomberg.
  • Quatre agences de notation – Moody’s Investors Service, Fitch Ratings, Standard & Poor’s et Dominion Bond Rating Service – ont maintenu leurs cotes de crédit supérieures attribuées au Canada.

Organismes internationaux

  • Le G-20 est la principale tribune de coopération économique internationale; ses pays membres génèrent 85 % de la production mondiale et regroupent les deux tiers de la population de la planète.
  • Plus tôt cette année, les ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales du G-20 se sont engagés à élaborer des politiques ambitieuses, mais réalistes, qui visent à relever, dans un horizon de cinq ans, le PIB collectif du G-20 d’au moins 2 % au-dessus du niveau associé aux politiques actuelles.
  • Important actionnaire tant au FMI qu’au Groupe de la Banque mondiale, le Canada joue un rôle de premier plan au chapitre de la gouvernance de ces deux institutions. Le ministre des Finances représente le Canada, la plupart des pays des Caraïbes qui sont membres du Commonwealth de même que l’Irlande aux conseils des gouverneurs des deux organismes.

Citations

« La saine gestion économique dont fait preuve notre gouvernement et l'importance constante qu'il accorde à l'emploi, à la croissance et à la prospérité à long terme font de notre pays un exemple de réussite économique sur le plan international. Nous invitons les pays du G-20 à s'inspirer de la réussite que le Canada a connue grâce à son Plan d'action économique et à concrétiser leurs stratégies exhaustives afin de créer des emplois et de favoriser une économie mondiale forte. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés