Archived - Minister of Finance Releases Report on the Management of Canada’s Official International Reserves

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

October 6, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

The Honourable Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance, today released the Report on the Management of Canada’s Official International Reserves for April 1, 2013 to March 31, 2014.

This annual report provides details on official international reserves operations, primarily related to the Exchange Fund Account (EFA). The EFA is a portfolio of assets held under the Currency Act to provide foreign currency liquidity to the Government and to promote orderly conditions for the Canadian dollar in the foreign exchange markets, if required.

Quick Facts

  • The market value of Canada’s official international reserves increased to $76.5 billion as at March 31, 2014 from $70.2 billion as at March 31, 2013. The increase in EFA assets was consistent with the Government’s commitment to maintain holdings of liquid foreign exchange reserves at or above 3 per cent of gross domestic product.
  • The EFA continued to earn positive returns in 2013–14, recording a total net return of 71 basis points. This is equivalent to an unrealized mark-to-market gain of $406 million. This compares to a total return of 95 basis points (or a gain of $532 million) the previous year.
  • In 2013–14, the Government of Canada broadened the list of eligible investments in the EFA to include British pound sterling-denominated assets in order to increase the liquidity and diversification of the portfolio.
  • In Budget 2011, the Government announced that it would increase financial assets—cash deposits and foreign exchange reserves—in order to safeguard its ability to meet payment obligations in situations where normal access to funding markets may be disrupted or delayed. The prudential liquidity plan, announced in Budget 2011, was fully implemented on June 21, 2013, well in advance of the original target date of March 2014.

Related Products

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Nick Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances publie le Rapport sur la gestion des réserves officielles de liquidités internationales du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 6 octobre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

L’honorable Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances, a rendu public aujourd’hui le Rapport sur la gestion des réserves officielles de liquidités internationales du Canada pour l’exercice allant du 1er avril 2013 au 31 mars 2014.

Ce rapport annuel donne un compte rendu détaillé des opérations de gestion des réserves officielles de liquidités internationales. Il porte principalement sur le Compte du fonds des changes (CFC), un portefeuille d’actifs détenus en vertu de la Loi sur la monnaie pour fournir au gouvernement des liquidités en devises et, au besoin, promouvoir un comportement ordonné du dollar canadien sur le marché des changes.

Les faits en bref

  • La valeur marchande des réserves officielles de liquidités internationales du Canada s’établissait à 76,5 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2014, en hausse par rapport aux réserves de 70,2 milliards détenues au 31 mars 2013. L’augmentation des actifs du CFC est conforme à l’engagement du gouvernement de maintenir les réserves de change liquides à un niveau égal ou supérieur à 3 % du produit intérieur brut.
  • Le CFC a continué d’afficher un rendement positif en 2013-2014, soit un rendement net total de 71 points de base, ce qui équivaut à un gain non réalisé à la valeur du marché de 406 millions de dollars. Au cours de l’exercice précédent, un rendement total de 95 points de base (soit un gain de 532 millions de dollars) avait été enregistré.
  • En 2013-2014, le gouvernement du Canada a élargi la liste des investissements admissibles du CFC afin d’y inclure des actifs libellés en livres sterling, de manière à accroître la liquidité et la diversification du portefeuille.  
  • Dans le budget de 2011, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention d’accroître ses actifs financiers (dépôts en espèces et réserves de change) à un niveau lui permettant de respecter ses obligations de paiement dans l’éventualité où l’accès normal aux marchés financiers serait perturbé ou retardé. Au 21 juin 2013, le plan de liquidité prudentielle annoncé dans le budget de 2011 avait été intégralement mis en œuvre, soit bien avant l’échéance initiale prévue de mars 2014

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Nick Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés