Archived - Minister Oliver Tables Annual Report on Canada’s Activities at the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank Group

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

September 30, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today tabled the Government’s annual report describing Canada’s activities at the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank Group in the past year. Minister Oliver is Canada’s Governor at both institutions.

The report shows that the IMF continued to help member countries overcome the challenges posed by the fragile global economy, through high quality analysis, advice and technical assistance, as well as direct financing. Canada will continue to pursue its objective of ensuring the IMF has the appropriate tools and governance structure to promote global economic and financial stability.

The report also highlights the new strategy for the World Bank Group, which aims to eradicate extreme poverty within a generation, and promote shared prosperity by ensuring that economic growth and job creation is experienced by those in the bottom 40 per cent of the population in every country. In December 2013, the International Development Association—the World Bank Group’s fund for the poorest countries—received a record high replenishment, with Canada providing US$1.4 billion over three years.

Quick Facts

  • The IMF and World Bank Group are key international financial institutions that promote global economic and financial stability and growth, and help to fight poverty.
  • Canada is a major shareholder at both institutions, has seats on the Board of Governors and the Board of Executive Directors, and contributes to policies and financial oversight in collaboration with its fellow constituency members—Ireland and most Commonwealth Caribbean countries.
  • Canada is also involved in several committees and engages with shareholders at the institutions’ Spring and Annual Meetings.
  • The annual report, Canada at the IMF and World Bank Group, summarizes Canada’s contributions and priorities at these institutions.

Quotes

“I am pleased to present Parliament and Canadians with this annual report detailing Canada’s activities at the IMF and World Bank Group, which play critical roles in the global economy. As a significant shareholder at both institutions, Canada helps provide the leadership necessary to ensure that both organizations function in an effective, transparent and accountable manner, and achieve real results that strengthen the global economy, reduce poverty and promote prosperity around the world. Canada’s views and objectives are set out for each institution in this report, and will guide our interactions for the coming year.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Products

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver dépose le rapport annuel sur les activités du Canada au Fonds monétaire international et au Groupe de la Banque mondiale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 30 septembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a déposé aujourd’hui le rapport annuel du gouvernement sur les activités du Canada au sein du Fonds monétaire international (FMI) et du Groupe de la Banque mondiale au cours du dernier exercice. Le ministre Oliver représente le Canada au conseil des gouverneurs de chacune de ces institutions.

Ce rapport indique que le FMI a continué d’aider les pays membres à surmonter les difficultés découlant de la fragilité de l’économie mondiale, grâce à des analyses, des conseils et une aide technique de grande qualité, de même que par un financement direct. Le Canada poursuivra son objectif de veiller à ce que le Fonds dispose de mécanismes et d’une structure de gouvernance qui conviennent afin de promouvoir la stabilité économique et financière à l’échelle mondiale.

Le rapport met en relief la nouvelle stratégie adoptée par le Groupe de la Banque mondiale, laquelle vise à éliminer l’extrême pauvreté d’ici une génération ainsi qu’à promouvoir une prospérité partagée en faisant en sorte que, dans tous les pays, les 40 % des habitants les plus pauvres profitent de la croissance économique et de la création d’emplois. En décembre 2013, l’Association internationale de développement, le volet du Groupe de la Banque mondiale qui offre du financement aux pays les plus pauvres, a fait l’objet d’une reconstitution record de ses ressources, dans le cadre de laquelle le Canada verse 1,4 milliard de dollars américains sur trois ans.

Les faits en bref

  • Le FMI et le Groupe de la Banque mondiale sont des institutions financières internationales clés qui visent à promouvoir la stabilité économique et financière et la croissance à l’échelle mondiale et qui contribuent à la lutte contre la pauvreté.
  • Le Canada est l’un des principaux actionnaires des deux institutions, et ses représentants siègent au conseil des gouverneurs et au conseil d’administration de chacune des deux institutions. Le Canada contribue à l’élaboration des politiques et à la supervision financière, en collaboration avec les membres du groupe de pays qu’il représente, soit l’Irlande et la plupart des pays des Caraïbes qui sont membres du Commonwealth.
  • Le Canada participe aussi aux travaux de plusieurs comités, et il entretient un dialogue avec les autres actionnaires de ces deux institutions aux assemblées qui ont lieu au printemps et à l’automne.
  • Le rapport annuel déposé, intitulé Le Canada au FMI et au Groupe de la Banque mondiale, résume la contribution et les priorités du Canada à l’égard des activités de ces deux institutions.

Citations

« Je suis heureux de présenter aux parlementaires ainsi qu’aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens ce rapport annuel faisant état des activités du Canada au sein du FMI et du Groupe de la Banque mondiale, deux institutions qui jouent un rôle déterminant dans l’économie mondiale. Le Canada est un important actionnaire de ces deux institutions et il fait preuve du leadership nécessaire pour que celles-ci fonctionnent de manière efficace, transparente et responsable, et pour qu’elles obtiennent des résultats concrets qui renforcent l’économie mondiale, réduisent la pauvreté et favorisent la prospérité partout dans le monde. Les points de vue et les objectifs du Canada à l’égard de chacune de ces institutions, qui sont énoncés dans le présent rapport, orienteront nos interactions au cours de la prochaine année. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produits connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés