Archived - Minister of Finance Highlights Importance of Raising Financial Literacy Skills

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Financial literacy a key defence against identity theft

September 27, 2014 – Toronto, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today spoke at an educational event sponsored by the Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada (CPA Canada) as part of their Community Connect Program. The Minister highlighted the importance of both government and industry in raising financial literacy, with a focus on combatting identity theft.

Minister Oliver stressed that education is key and that all Canadians must be vigilant about safeguarding their personal and financial information. Improved financial literacy will help, and the Government has taken many steps to promote financial literacy in Canada. A National Strategy for Financial Literacy is being developed in consultation with Canadians to strengthen the financial literacy of Canadians.

Together, both industry and government can better educate Canadians on how to protect themselves and their finances.

Quick Facts

  • According to the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre’s annual statistical report for 2013, identity fraud led to over $11 million in losses in Canada that year.
  • Tips on how to protect yourself against financial fraud are available from the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.
  • Economic Action Plan 2009 established the Task Force on Financial Literacy.
  • In February 2011, the Task Force released its final report, which included 30 recommendations to help various levels of government and other stakeholders strengthen the financial literacy of Canadians.
  • In April 2014, the Government appointed Canada’s first Financial Literacy Leader, Jane Rooney, and is currently developing a National Strategy for Financial Literacy.
  • In addition to improving financial literacy across Canada, the Government has a “Consumers First” agenda. As a key part of this agenda, the Government took efforts to alleviate the costs of banking services for Canadians. In May 2014, it secured voluntary commitments from eight of the largest banks to make low-cost or no-cost accounts available to a wider range of eligible customers, including youths and students.

Quotes

"Financial literacy is a key defence against identity fraud, and is one of the reasons this Government is committed to improving the financial know-how of Canadians. I would like to thank the Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada for hosting today's education session, and am pleased to be a part of it. Together, government and industry are working to raise awareness of this important issue."

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

"Canadians cannot let their guard down when it comes to fraud prevention. We want to raise awareness of the threat posed by scammers and help encourage public dialogue about the need for continued vigilance to spot and stop fraud before it happens. Our organization applauds the Government of Canada's steadfast commitment to improving financial literacy, which will help combat identity theft."

- Cairine Wilson, Vice-president, Corporate Citizenship, Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5659

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances souligne l'importance de rehausser les compétences en littératie financière

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

La littératie financière, un mécanisme de défense clé contre le vol d’identité

Le 27 septembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a prononcé un discours aujourd’hui à l’occasion d’une activité éducative parrainée par Comptables professionnels agréés du Canada dans le cadre du programme Contact collectivité de l’organisation. Le ministre a souligné l’importance pour le gouvernement et l’industrie d’améliorer la littératie financière, en mettant l’accent sur la lutte contre le vol d’identité.

Le ministre Oliver a insisté sur le fait que l’éducation est essentielle et que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens doivent tous veiller à protéger leurs renseignements personnels et financiers. Une littératie financière accrue y contribuera, et le gouvernement a pris de nombreuses mesures pour promouvoir la littératie financière au Canada. On élabore actuellement une stratégie nationale en matière de littératie financière en consultation avec les Canadiens dans le but de renforcer la littératie financière de ces derniers.

Ensemble, l’industrie et le gouvernement peuvent mieux renseigner les Canadiens sur les moyens de se protéger et de protéger leurs finances.

Les faits en bref

  • Selon le rapport statistique annuel du Centre antifraude du Canada pour 2013, la fraude d’identité a engendré des pertes supérieures à 11 millions de dollars au Canada cette année.
  • L’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada donne des conseils quant aux moyens de se protéger contre la fraude financière.
  • Le Plan d’action économique de 2009 a annoncé la mise sur pied du Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière.
  • En février 2011, le Groupe de travail a publié son rapport final, qui compte 30 recommandations à l’intention de divers ordres de gouvernement et d’autres intervenants pour les appuyer dans leurs efforts visant à améliorer la littératie financière des Canadiens.
  • En avril 2014, le gouvernement a nommé la première chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada, Jane Rooney, et il participe actuellement à l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale en matière de littératie financière.
  • En plus d’améliorer la littératie financière dans l’ensemble du Canada, le gouvernement a élaboré le programme Les consommateurs d’abord. Donnant suite à l’une des composantes clés de ce programme, il a déployé des efforts afin d’alléger les coûts des services bancaires pour les Canadiens. En mai 2014, il a obtenu des engagements volontaires, de la part de huit des plus grandes banques du pays, d’offrir des comptes à frais modiques et des comptes sans frais à un plus grand éventail de consommateurs admissibles, dont les jeunes et les étudiants.

Citations

« La littératie financière représente un mécanisme de défense clé contre la fraude d’identité. Il s’agit aussi de l’une des raisons pour lesquelles ce gouvernement s’est engagé à améliorer le savoir–faire financier des Canadiens. J’aimerais remercier Comptables professionnels agréés du Canada d’avoir organisé la séance éducative d’aujourd’hui. Je suis heureux d’en faire partie. Ensemble, le gouvernement et l’industrie collaborent à accroître la sensibilisation à cette question importante. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

« Les Canadiens ne peuvent se permettre aucune complaisance quand il s’agit de prévenir la fraude. Nous voulons sensibiliser les gens à la menace que représentent les escrocs et favoriser une discussion sur la place publique concernant la vigilance soutenue qui est nécessaire pour détecter la fraude de manière à éviter qu’elle se produise. Notre organisation félicite le gouvernement du Canada pour son engagement résolu à améliorer la littératie financière des Canadiens, qui permettra de mieux lutter contre le vol d’identité.

- Cairine Wilson, vice-présidente, Présence sociale, Comptables professionnels agréés du Canada

Liens connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5659

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés