Archived - Release of The Fiscal Monitor

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Department of Finance reports a budgetary deficit of $1.2 billion in July 2014; the Government remains on track to balance the budget in 2015

September 26, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today released The Fiscal Monitor for July 2014.

There was a budgetary deficit of $1.2 billion in July 2014, compared to a deficit of $2.0 billion in July 2013. 

Revenues increased by $1.9 billion, or 9.5 per cent, due mainly to higher personal and corporate income tax revenues. Program expenses increased by $1.1 billion, or 5.8 per cent, largely reflecting increases in major transfers to other levels of government and direct program expenses. Public debt charges increased by $14 million, or 0.6 per cent.  

Quick Facts

  • For the April to July 2014 period of the 2014–15 fiscal year, the Government posted a budgetary deficit of $0.8 billion, compared to a deficit of $4.5 billion reported in the same period of 2013–14.
  • Revenues were up $4.4 billion, or 5.2 per cent, reflecting increases in tax revenues and Employment Insurance premium revenues, which were partially offset by a decrease in other revenues. 
  • Program expenses were up $0.7 billion, or 0.9 per cent, reflecting increases in major transfers to persons and other levels of government, offset in part by a decrease in direct program expenses. 
  • Public debt charges were down $35 million, or 0.3 per cent.

Related Products

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Publication de La revue financière

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministère des Finances annonce un déficit budgétaire de 1,2 milliard de dollars pour le mois de juillet 2014. Le gouvernement demeure sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015

Le 26 septembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la publication de La revue financière pour le mois de juillet 2014.

Le mois de juillet 2014 s’est soldé par un déficit budgétaire de 1,2 milliard de dollars, comparativement à un déficit de 2,0 milliards en juillet 2013. 

Les revenus ont augmenté de 1,9 milliard (9,5 %), principalement en raison des revenus plus élevés provenant de l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers et de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés. Les charges de programmes ont augmenté de 1,1 milliard (5,8 %), surtout sous l’effet de la hausse des principaux transferts aux autres administrations et des charges de programmes directes. Les frais de la dette publique ont augmenté de 14 millions (0,6 %).

Les faits en bref

  • Pour la période d’avril à juillet 2014 de l’exercice 2014-2015, le gouvernement a affiché un déficit budgétaire de 0,8 milliard de dollars, comparativement à un déficit de 4,5 milliards pour la même période de l’exercice 2013-2014.
  • Les revenus ont connu une hausse de 4,4 milliards de dollars (5,2 %), ce qui traduit la hausse des revenus fiscaux et des cotisations d’assurance-emploi, laquelle a été partiellement compensée par la baisse des autres revenus. 
  • Les charges de programmes ont augmenté de 0,7 milliard de dollars (0,9 %), en raison de la hausse des principaux transferts aux particuliers et des principaux transferts aux autres administrations, qui a été compensée en partie par la baisse des charges de programmes directes. 
  • Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 35 millions de dollars (0,3 %).

Produits connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés