Archived - Minister Oliver Promotes Canada as an Example of Stability Amid Fragile Global Economy

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

September 19, 2014 – Cairns, Australia – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver will work with the Group of 20 (G-20) Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors this weekend in Cairns, Australia, to secure stronger and more sustainable global economic growth and job creation, and to encourage countries to follow Canada’s example of balanced and responsible fiscal management.

Ministers will provide updates on their respective economies and the development of G-20 growth strategies, which will form the basis of the Brisbane Action Plan at the G-20 Leaders Summit in November. Canada stands out in the G-20 as an international economic success story and an attractive partner for trade and investment.

As co-chair of the G-20 Working Group on the Framework for Strong, Sustainable and Balanced Growth, Canada continues to work with other members of the G-20 to ensure that members’ comprehensive growth strategies will support strong, sustainable and balanced global growth.

Quick Facts

  • The Canadian economy has posted one of the strongest job creation records in the G-7 over the recovery, with more than 1.1 million jobs created since July 2009.
  • Real gross domestic product is significantly above pre-recession levels—the best performance in the G-7.
  • Both the International Monetary Fund and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development expect Canada to be among the strongest growing economies in the G-7 over this year and next.
  • According to KPMG, total business tax costs in Canada are the lowest in the G-7 and 46% lower than those in the United States.
  • In 2013, Canada leapt from sixth to second place in Bloomberg’s ranking of the most attractive destinations for business.
  • For the past seven years, the World Economic Forum has rated Canada’s banking system the soundest in the world.
  • Four credit rating agencies—Moody’s Investors Service, Fitch Ratings, Standard & Poor’s and DBRS—have all reaffirmed their top ratings for Canada.

Quotes

“Canada is an example of stability amid a fragile global economy. Our sound fundamentals and prudent economic management, underpinned by our commitment to return to balanced budgets in 2015, continue to hold Canada in good stead among its international peers. That said, we are not immune to external pressures and continue to work with our G-20 partners to achieve strong, sustainable and balanced global growth.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver présente le Canada comme un modèle de stabilité dans une économie mondiale fragile

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 19 septembre 2014 – Cairns (Australie) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, collaborera ce week-end avec les autres ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales du Groupe des Vingt (G-20) à Cairns, en Australie, en vue d’assurer une croissance économique et une création d’emplois plus vigoureuses et plus durables à l’échelle mondiale et pour inciter les autres pays à suivre l’exemple du Canada en matière de gestion budgétaire équilibrée et responsable.

Les ministres feront le point sur la situation économique du pays qu’ils représentent et sur les progrès réalisés au chapitre de l’élaboration des stratégies de croissance du G-20. Ces stratégies serviront de fondement pour le Plan d’action de Brisbane qui sera présenté lors du Sommet des dirigeants du G-20, en novembre prochain. Le Canada se distingue parmi les pays du G-20 par sa réussite économique et sa qualité de partenaire intéressant pour le commerce et l’investissement.

À titre de coprésident du Groupe de travail du Cadre du G-20 pour une croissance forte, durable et équilibrée, le Canada continue à travailler de concert avec les autres membres du G-20 pour faire en sorte que les stratégies de croissance exhaustives des pays membres soutiennent une croissance mondiale forte, durable et équilibrée.

Les faits en bref

  • Depuis le début de la reprise, l’économie canadienne a affiché l’une des meilleures performances du G-7 au chapitre de la création d’emplois, soit plus de 1,1 million d’emplois créés depuis juillet 2009.
  • Le produit intérieur brut réel du Canada a nettement dépassé les niveaux enregistrés avant la récession – il s’agit de la meilleure performance du G-7.
  • Le Fonds monétaire international et l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques prévoient tous deux que le Canada fera partie des pays du G-7 dont la croissance économique sera la plus forte cette année et l’an prochain.
  • Selon la firme KPMG, les coûts fiscaux globaux des entreprises au Canada sont les plus faibles du G-7, et ils sont inférieurs de 46 % à ceux qui prévalent aux États-Unis.
  • En 2013, le Canada a bondi du sixième au deuxième rang dans le palmarès des meilleurs endroits pour faire des affaires établi par la firme Bloomberg.
  • Le Forum économique mondial a classé le système bancaire canadien au rang du plus solide au monde pour une septième année consécutive.
  • Quatre agences de notation – Moody’s Investors Service, Fitch Ratings, Standard & Poor’s et Dominion Bond Rating Service – ont maintenu leurs cotes de crédit supérieures attribuées au Canada.

Citations

« Le Canada constitue un exemple de stabilité dans une économie mondiale fragile. La solidité des facteurs économiques fondamentaux de notre pays et notre gestion prudente de l’économie, qui repose sur notre engagement de rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015, permettent au Canada de maintenir une bonne position dans ses relations avec ses pairs sur la scène internationale. Cela étant dit, notre pays n’est pas à l’abri des pressions externes, et nous continuerons de travailler avec nos partenaires du G-20 pour obtenir une croissance mondiale forte, durable et équilibrée. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés