Archived - Harper Government Supports Small Businesses in Canada

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Government measures provide tax relief, lower EI premiums and reduced regulatory burden for small businesses

September 17, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Speaking to the Canadian Convenience Stores Association, Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today underscored the Harper Government’s commitment to small businesses, which are vital to the long-term prosperity of Canada. He highlighted a number of key initiatives in Economic Action Plan 2014, and subsequent measures, that better support the needs of small businesses, while achieving the Harper Government’s plan to help businesses create jobs and economic growth while keeping taxes low and remaining on track to balance the budget in 2015.

Quick Facts

  • The new Small Business Job Credit is expected to save small businesses more than $550 million over the next two years.
  • The Small Business Job Credit will effectively lower small businesses’ Employment Insurance (EI) premiums from the current legislated rate of $1.88 to $1.60 per $100 of insurable earnings in 2015 and 2016.
  • Almost 90% of all EI premium-paying businesses in Canada will receive the credit, reducing their EI payroll taxes by nearly 15%.
  • Reductions in the small business tax rate and increases in the small business income limit are providing an estimated $2.2 billion in tax relief in 2014.
  • The amount of tax paid by a small business with $500,000 of taxable income has declined by 34.2% as a result of actions taken by the Harper Government, a tax savings of $28,600.
  • A 2014 study by PricewaterhouseCoopers analyzing the ease of paying taxes in 189 countries found that preparing, filing and paying taxes each year takes a business in Canada 25% less time than a business in the United States.

Quotes

"Small businesses are crucial to Canada’s long-term prosperity. Canadian families depend on the jobs they create and the services they provide. That is why the Harper Government will continue to foster an environment for small businesses to grow and prosper."

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper soutient les petites entreprises du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Les mesures prises par le gouvernement se traduisent par des allègements fiscaux, une baisse des cotisations d’assurance-emploi et une réduction du fardeau de la réglementation pour les petites entreprises

Le 17 septembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Dans une allocution prononcée devant les membres de l’Association canadienne des dépanneurs en alimentation, le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, a souligné aujourd’hui l’engagement du gouvernement Harper envers les petites entreprises, qui jouent un rôle essentiel pour assurer la prospérité à long terme du Canada. Le ministre Sorenson a mis en relief certaines grandes initiatives contenues dans le Plan d’action économique de 2014, ainsi que d’autres mesures prises par la suite pour mieux répondre aux besoins des petites entreprises, tout en réalisant le plan du gouvernement Harper visant à aider les entreprises à créer des emplois et à stimuler la croissance économique en maintenant des impôts peu élevés et en demeurant sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015.

Les faits en bref

  • Le nouveau crédit pour l’emploi visant les petites entreprises devrait permettre à celles-ci d’économiser plus de 550 millions de dollars au cours des deux prochaines années.
  • Le crédit pour l’emploi visant les petites entreprises réduira effectivement les cotisations d’assurance-emploi des petites entreprises; ces cotisations passeront du taux actuellement prévu par la loi, qui est de 1,88 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable, à 1,60 $ en 2015 et en 2016.
  • Presque 90 % de tous les employeurs du Canada qui versent des cotisations d’assurance-emploi recevront ce crédit, ce qui réduira de près de 15 % leurs cotisations d’assurance-emploi au titre d’impôt sur la masse salariale.
  • On estime que les réductions du taux d’imposition des petites entreprises et les hausses du revenu assujetti à ce taux plus bas se traduiront par un allègement fiscal de 2,2 milliards de dollars en 2014.
  • L’impôt payable par une petite entreprise ayant un revenu imposable de 500 000 $ a diminué de 34,2 % à la suite des mesures prises par le gouvernement Harper, ce qui représente une économie de 28 600 $.
  • Selon une étude publiée en 2014 par la firme PricewaterhouseCoopers, qui analyse la facilité du paiement des impôts et des taxes dans 189 pays, une entreprise canadienne met 25 % moins de temps qu’une entreprise américaine à préparer et à produire sa déclaration de revenus et à payer ses impôts chaque année.

Citations

« Les petites entreprises jouent un rôle essentiel pour assurer la prospérité du Canada à long terme. Les familles canadiennes comptent sur les emplois créés par les petites entreprises et sur les services qu’elles fournissent. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement Harper continuera de favoriser un environnement qui permet aux petites entreprises de prendre de l’expansion et de prospérer. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés